We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Quaker Tapestry Exhibition Centre

The Quaker Tapestry Exhibition Centre
Friends Meeting House | Stramongate, Kendal LA9 4BH, England
44 (0)1539 722975
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 8 Attractions in Kendal
Type: Historic Sites, Museums
Attraction details
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
565 reviews 565 reviews
344 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
324 helpful votes 324 helpful votes
“Impressive!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

This is fascinating display of the finest craftsmanship. The Quaker movement is very strong in this part of the country and visitors can learn about its history and practices. There is a nice tea room attached.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    19
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“What a wonderful experience, wow!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Thank you so much. For the wonderful friendly welcome. The tapestry's were really beautiful, informative and inspirational. I came with a friend and we spent a good 2 1/2 hours looking around.

There is something for everyone so for all the men out there, don't think it's just for 'us girls'. There's a lot of social history, including a good train related exhibit.

If you need a break half way round I would heartily recommend the cafe, again a lovely welcome and good food (veggie).

Given the opportunity I would happily make a return visit.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridget G, General Manager at The Quaker Tapestry Exhibition Centre, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. It is sometimes difficult to persuade the 'men' that the they too will find the Quaker Tapestry interesting so your response and comments are very welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Tapestry exhibition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I'm no expert at any form of needlework but I could not help but admire the quality of the needlework on the panels on display. They have my admiration!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridget G, General Manager at The Quaker Tapestry Exhibition Centre, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
This is good to hear - thank you for your response. It is true that you don't need to know anything about embroidery to appreciate the panels. I know that many visitors are not sure of what to expect when they visit the exhibition and many do find that this is certainly much more than just a Tapestry!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A magical evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We visited on a Sunday evening in June to watch a taster/scenes from an upcoming production about Lady Ann Clifford.The performance was excellent as were the costumes!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Top Contributor
611 reviews 611 reviews
375 attraction reviews
Reviews in 202 cities Reviews in 202 cities
510 helpful votes 510 helpful votes
“Tapestry not on site”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I planned a trip to the Lake District to see the Quaker tapestries but they were on exhibition elsewhere so I was not able to witness them. Their web site may not always warn of such possibilities in adequate time so it may be best to call and inquire about upcoming dates.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridget G, General Manager at The Quaker Tapestry Exhibition Centre, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
I was sorry to hear that you didn't see the Tapestry panels.... perhaps you visited on a Sunday when we are closed? The majority of the Quaker Tapestry is on display here at the Meeting House in Kendal even though several of the panels are travelling around the country. The travelling exhibitions allow many more thousands of people to view some of the Quaker Tapestry, which often ispires them to visit Kendal to see more of the beautiful and colourful panels of embroidery. I hope you do manage to see it one of these days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Quaker Tapestry Exhibition Centre also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to The Quaker Tapestry Exhibition Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Quaker Tapestry Exhibition Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.