We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good evening meal and Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Miles Thompson

The Miles Thompson
Council Offices, Allhallows Lane, Kendal LA9 4JH, England
+44 1539 815710
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 110 Restaurants in Kendal
Cuisines: British, Pub, Grill, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good evening meal and Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Standard Spoons we have an evening meal on a Friday. It was busy and possibly under staffed but we had a good meal. Breakfast on the Saturday was also good and served quickly extra free coffee as well.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    42
    21
    3
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Myself and family had a good meal here yesterday (Sunday). We had never used this Wetherspoons before but will certainly visit again next time we are in Kendal. It was bright and very clean. The dining area away from the public bar up a few steps. I did notice a lift in if you could not manage the few steps. It was very clean as were the toilet area.
The food was hot and tasty,and staff very neat, polite and cheerful.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A bit hit and miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I visit Kendal regularly and often have a couple of pints and meal here. From me it's a bit hit and miss. I think it has a much better atmosphere in winter with the log fire burning. I can understand the mixed reviews on here. There were times when the food has been rather good, and other times it has been really poor. One chap who seems to be a manager is rather arrogant and dismissive if things go wrong. Last time we ate there we ordered one of those "Freedom salads" that are being advertised. Having placed the order the chap comes over to our table to let us know there are none left and we must order something else. The "superfood salad" we had instead was really poor and was nothing like we have had in other JDWs. I often order Gammon as this is usually a good option. Perhaps it depends which chef is on that particular night. You have to be realistic: if you are after something a bit special then try places like Castle Diary or the New Moon. Basically, most of the time I have been to this place it has been middle of the road, average (sometimes poor) but most of the time it is value for money. Most of the staff are friendly enough (or have been with me).

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadway, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Walked in, and walked out !!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Visiting area, and we popped in for a meal and drink. Place was fairly busy, but oh soooo dirty and grubby everywhere, with such an awful smell in the place. Stood and waited and queued for a long time to be served, but walked out after a while. Been to numerous other Weatherspoons throughout country, and always found them to be great value and smashing decor, and good service.
Went after to Pumpkins across the road for meal and drinks, which was superb !

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

There is plenty of seating available for large or smaller groups however the place needs some tlc in terms of its decoration. Standard wetherspoons menu available. Service is relatively quick and staff are polite. The queue wasn't too bad today but sometimes you can find yourself queuing a long time when there is only 1 or 2 people serving on the bar. Reasonable sized car park and high can claim some of your money back when you order.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Miles Thompson also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to The Miles Thompson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Miles Thompson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.