We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is what it says on the tin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Miles Thompson

The Miles Thompson
Council Offices, Allhallows Lane, Kendal LA9 4JH, England
+44 1539 815710
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 110 Restaurants in Kendal
Cuisines: British, Pub, Grill, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Kendal, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“It is what it says on the tin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Very pleasant as Wetherspoons pubs go. The beer is excellent; well kept and served. Food is cheap but very good considering what you're paying. No complaints!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    41
    21
    3
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

A well-placed restaurant in the middle of Kendal. Good atmosphere. Wide range of choice on the menu. We visited on Tuesday which is Steak Club day which gives excellent value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“handy and reliable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

A bit different to the usual pub, although all Wetherspoons are unique. The service is good, the food good, haven't had a reason to complain and the place is usually clean and tidy

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a joke limited to two drinks only...only if purchasing a meal.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My wife, 9 year old daughter and I after a day trip out at lake Windermere on the bank holiday weekend decided to have a family meal in Kendal's Wetherspoons. Upon entering the near empty pub at 6.30pm I asked for a pint of lager and 2 cokes as my wife does not drink. The barmaid enquired if we would be eating with them. I replied that we would be eating but not just yet as we would like to be seated first. She then said "Oh I can serve you then as long as you eat with us" and informed me that she would only be able to serve us 2 alcoholic drinks each during our time with them as we had a minor with us. As tourist we usually spend 3/4 days at different times of the year visiting different tourist attractions up and down the country and never in-counted this situation before. Enough is enough we gladly rushed back to the The Wakefield Arms and ate at the table table restaurant/ Premier inn where they gladly welcomed family guests and the atmosphere was way better.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“worst in the country”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Always a q. 1 staff member on, everyone q s behind the line, what a terrible advert 4 j d weatherspoons.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Miles Thompson also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to The Miles Thompson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Miles Thompson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.