We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful house and gardens” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Levens Hall

Levens Hall
Levens Hall, Kendal LA8 0PD, England
+44 (0)1539 560321
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 32 things to do in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Kendal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Beautiful house and gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Levens Hall is owned and lived in by the Bagot family. The house is Elizabethan with fine panelling and ornate plasterwork. The gardens are stunning with interesting topiary, beautiful flower beds and bushes. There is a ha ha also. The deer park across the road is lovely for a walk to see the Bagot goats. They also have a small collection of steam vehicles which are given an outing at Bank Holidays and some Sundays. There is a tea shop, gift shop and plants for sale.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    56
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A step back in time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We began our visit by walking through the amazing gardens, the access was good mainly on flat level ground. The topiary garden was well worth the visit with all its weird and wonderful shapes. The Hall was full of interesting objects and fascinating historical information and the staff were friendly and informative, they spoke with passion about the history of the hall and the families past and present that have resided there. We finished our afternoon visit with a visit to the Bellingham Buttery, the food was well presented but the choice was limited.
With the stunning gardens, quirky gift shop, historical hall and resident ghost there was something for everyone,

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not as good as we had heard”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Having been told by family that these are world famous gardens we were a little dissapointed and found the gardens of private properties oposite were superior. The house itself is interesting but again a little dissapointing that you only see a small portion of the Hall. I would always check on line as it appears to open at strange times we were surpirsed to see that it was not open on the first weekend of the summer holidays

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rbagot12, Owner at Levens Hall, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Karen

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to Levens Hall. I was certainly a little saddened with what you had to say and therefore thought that I would clear a few things up, from my perspective as the owner.

You mentioned that you were disappointed that you only get to see a "small portion of the hall". I am afraid that this isn't the case. The parts of the hall that aren't shown to the public are primarily made up of the rooms that my family live in. We receive tens of thousands of visitors each year and so we value our privacy, therefore we have to reserve a small proportion of the house to live in ourselves, which I'm sure you would agree is quite understandable. The other parts of the house is taken up by the offices that are needed to run the business as well as our catering facilities.

You also mention the gardens and say that the "private properties opposite were superior". Levens Hall is a private property so could you possibly clarify with me what you mean by that.

Lastly you mention we are open at "strange times". Levens has maintained the same opening times since the 1970's when my parents first opened the house (Sunday to Thursday). You may have tried to visit on Sunday the 9th June which is unfortunate as that was the day after my wedding and the house and garden needed at least a day to be returned to normal. This is the first time we have done that in over forty years and was put on our website two months in advance as well as on other advertising material.

I hope that clears up our position and please get in touch with me on richard@levenshall.co.uk if you have any further questions.

Kind regards

Richard Bagot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Some of the best topery in the UK”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Levens Hall situated next to the A6 at Levens is owned by the Bagot family and has without a doubt one of the best topiaries in this country, The walled garden is maintained to a very high standard and the shapes and sizes bushes and trees are amazing. Lovely café and gift shop with plenty of parking.
Well worth a visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fascinating Historic House wuith great garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Well worth visiting for the story it can tell and an insight into the family who live here. lovely gardens and a good café as well!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Levens Hall also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Levens Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Levens Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.