We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Weekend Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Had an excellent weekend break here. The hotel is set in beautiful gardens overlooking Kendal. The staff are very friendly, great breakfast and the room was standard for this type of hotel. We were lucky enough to catch the local beer festival at the hotel which provided a sample of the local real ales and free entertainment. We had our evening meals in the Alexenders Pub attached to the hotel which provided a casual environment which we prefer. A 30 min stroll and you are in Kendal town centre.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon.

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    319
    80
    24
    11
See reviews for
164
595
23
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stopped here for 2 nights on 11th and 12th April. The whole experience was very pleasant. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We ate at Alexanders as we prefer the ralaxed pub atmosphere but there is also the restaurant option if you prefer formal. We sat outside to have a drink with fantastic views over Kendal. The spa facilities were enjoyable; especially the steam room which had coloured lights in the ceiling and soothing music was being played too. The rooms were comfy and clean. We did not know that there would be a beer festival on when we booked so it was the icing on the cake for my husband and I was happy with the free entertainment. The Mustard Cutters were very entertaining. We will return. Thank you for a wonderful break.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
It is always great to read a review which covers all aspects of the hotel and facilities we offer.

Our annual beer festival was a massive success and I am pleased to read that you were able to join in during the weekend. The Mustard Cutters are performing again at our Summer Party on the 12th July and will also be back at the hotel during December at our famous Christmas Parties. If you like a really good party then get yourself to the Castle Green!!

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Extremely clean and very welcominghotel. The full english breakfast with alternative choices was plentiful and fresh not greasy at all. Very friendly staff hotel in lovely grounds with lovely views across kendal. Swimming pool and steam room/gym is free to guests

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Many thanks for reviewing your stay with us in February.

Our rates do fluctuate based upon many factors but we do aim to offer value for money in all areas and as such we have different offers running throughout the year. Our summer promotion of ‘the longer you stay the less you pay’ is now available to book online via the hotel website. So if you are yet to book your summer holiday why not use us as a base to explore the Lake District!

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We had two rooms , twin and double, twin had no view but was larger than double. Both excellent, although bathroom tight in the double.
All staff excellent. Food available in the attached Pub, in the main restaurant, and the bar. All very good.
Spa and Gym open to outside members as well as those resident at the hotel.

The hotel is found on the outside of Kendal and about 5 miles from the M6.
Would certainly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

We always recommend booking directly with us at the hotel by calling 01539 734000 or by visiting our website. This way the Reception team can establish your preferences and ensure we allocate the most suitable room for your needs.

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights on 5th & 6th this month, having stayed here some 3 years ago. We were pleased to note that the hotel is as good as we remembered. We booked a standard room which was more than adequate for the 2 night stay. Both room & bathroom were spotless & the shower was nice & powerful. We dined in Alexander's pub next door on both nights & the meals were excellent. Also excellent was the breakfast served in the hotel with a selection to suit anyone's taste. A special mention must go to the staff. As stated in previous reviews, they are a real asset to the hotel, going that extra yard to make sure your stay is a pleasurable one.
Unfortunately the weather wasn't very kind to us, however, we plan to return sometime when it's warmer & this is where we would definitely stay.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms are probably worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Many thanks for your 5* review. We are indeed very lucky to have such a friendly team here at the hotel who genuinely enjoy looking after our guests. Make sure you don’t leave it another three years before returning!!

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

This should have better view than it does, situated looking over Kendal. The rooms are fine, I have stayed in large rooms with nice views and small rooms overlooking the back of the property, both at the same price. Staff friendly enough.

Room Tip: With a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you for your review.

It is highly unusual to receive a review which rate us as ‘Average’ with 63 out of 65 reviews received so far this year rating us ‘Excellent or Very Good’ It is always a stark reminder to not become complacent and as such please accept my sincere apologies for your disappointment on this occasion. Please do mention any room preferences when making your reservation. The Reception team will always do their best to accommodate these for you. With 99 bedrooms to choose from we have something to suit everybody!

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Stayed here over a weekend in March as we fancied the lakes but thought Windermere may be rather too touristy - we stopped off in Kendal on the way, which is a lovely spot with loads of cafes & independent shops.
After a really genuine welcome we were soon in our room which was just fab; they had already prepared the bed for our daughter & remembered to leave three of everything rather than the two we normally end up with.
We ate dinner in the adjoining pub which was pretty good & had a moderately good menu selection.
Breakfast was a real highlight as the service was top notch & the choice was immense; we followed this with a wander through the grounds, which were just amazing.
We all enjoyed a massage in the spa, which was spot on, & a swim in the lovely pool.
Undoubtedly the best feature of this hotel are the staff - they are all amazing & nothing was too much trouble.
We can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
We are ideally placed on the outskirts of the Lake District just a few miles from junction 36 or 37 of the M6.

Best accommodation rates are guaranteed when booking directly with us at the hotel via our mobile and tablet adaptive website or by calling 01539 734000.

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal

Address: Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kendal
#1 Business Hotel in Kendal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Large Hotel of the Year 2014, Hotel Restaurant of the Year 2014 (England & Wales) Best Western Fans Favourite 2014, Cumbria Tourism Large Hotel of the Year 2014, Trip Advisor - Certificate of Excellence 2014 - No. 1 Hotel in Kendal. Other Awards include Hotel & Team of the Year 2013 & Best Western Best Conference Venue 2013. Independent, family-run Four Star Hotel situated in 14 acres of gardens & woodland, 5 miles from the M6 & 8 miles from Windermere. Extensive Conference & Banqueting facilities, recently refurbished 2AA Rosette Restaurant, Westmorland Pub in the grounds, health & fitness club and 99 bedrooms including four Executive, seven Balcony and three Family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kendal
Hotel Castle Green Kendal
Kendal Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.