We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
uk
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“mg101”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

executive room has lived up to our expectations, very spacious, beautiful views, underfloor heating in the bathroom, huge comfortable bed, friendly staff, good pub grub in Alexanders, have not tried main restaurant, but looked busy. Breakfast was help yourself buffet, everything was freshly made when we went and as we finished we saw scrambled eggs being replaced before they were finished which is always a good sign.

Spa facilities are comprehensive with knowledgeable staff. We both had spa treatments which were of a very high standard

Only down side is parking next the entrance is limited but as it is restricted by topography not much could be done. Plenty parking in other parts of the grounds. Disabled parking next reception is monitored and when we were there was not abused, another plus.

Overall very good hotel, good location for Kendal and the lakes

Room Tip: pay extra for Executive rooms, they are huge, ours overlooked the garden through large bay windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Many thanks for your comments

We also have seven recently refurbished balcony rooms which share the outlook over the hotel grounds and the town below. Why not upgrade from a standard room for only £30 per night!!

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    319
    80
    24
    11
See reviews for
163
593
23
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The Castle Green Hotel was a Birthday treat for my wife's 60th Birthday from our son and daughter in law, It was the nicest Hotel we had ever stayed in with a beautiful setting.
On our arrival the staff greeted us both and wished my wife a happy birthday, we arrived in our room and there was a box of chocolates and a card from all the hotel staff which I think was a really nice touch.
The food was wonderful, and the grounds breathtaking. We can't recommend this hotel enough, well done to all the staff including the cleaners who made sure that our room was spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
What a lovely review. The team enjoy contributing to special occasions and we hope that you will return again in the future!

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We often stay here, taking adantage of their special offers. It is not cheap ut you do ger great value for money. The rooms are comfortable, with great facilities and wonderful views. Food in both the restaurant and the pub is good. I recomend the pub and warm summer evenings and the restaurant on cooler nights. Last week was our ruby wedding and the staff went out of their way to make is a special evening.
The buffet breakfast sets you up for the day. All food is locally produced.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Its always great to read a review from a regular guest.

We have just released our half price winter promotion which runs from December to February. Our Sunday Spice offer also continues through the winter months giving Dinner, Bed & Breakfast from £120 per room per night. Further details of our promotional rates can be found on the hotel website.

If you have not stayed with us before, now is the time to give us a try!

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I was staying at the hotel on a training course for five days that took place in the business centre there. The course itself could be quite intensive but the staff made it seem so relaxing. The staff in both the hotel and business centre worked well with the course in providing in room drinks and nibbles during the day and a drink from the bar at night. A list of the menus was left with us so that we could go straight to our meals between courses. The course days were long at 15 hour days and the hotel accommodated this brilliantly even when we were running late and not in the main meal room at the time we should have been.
I now live in the south and was really looking forward to a proper Cumberland curly sausage, when I mentioned this the chef made one specially for me for our evening meal even though it wasn't on the menu.
The rooms were spacious and clean and for once it's a hotel with some water pressure so the shower was good too. There's a spa and a gym here too which other people in the group used and said were good, especially the massage.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Most of all I found every member of staff that I met to be kind, courteous friendly, relaxing and a good laugh, we left feeling they were friends but I must say David in the business centre topped them all.
Than you Castle Green for making a difficult week easy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
What a fantastic review! Having stayed with us for five nights you managed to get a real flavour of how we operate as a hotel.

I hope that you will decide to return for a more leisurely break in the future!!

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Hotel has a restaurant and bar, and a separate pub style restaurant attached. We had a drink in the 'pub' but ate in the main restaurant. Meal was excellent - three menus to choose from - a la carte, set menu and a tasting menu of local produce, but you can chop and change between them.
Food was well prepared and well presented. Staff were very attentive but did not intrude or make you feel rushed. Breakfast was a buffet style, with all the usual selections of hot and cold items. These were continually restocked and fresh. The hotel was busy during our visit, it was a holiday weekend and there were also weddings taking place. This did not disturb our stay, although there was a slight wait for breakfast, however the reception area is comfortable so not a problem.
The pool and spa looked good - not a particularly big pool, but fine for a relaxing dip. Didn't try the spa, but there was a list of free slots at reception so if we'd been there longer maybe I would have treated myself.
I don't know that this would be somewhere I'd take young children, but for a nice break, good food, etc it's well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Many thanks for your review.

We do have three large family rooms and plenty of other rooms which can accommodate extra beds. Most families who stay with us use the hotel as a base for exploring the Lake District without the cost of staying in and around Windermere and Bowness.

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

In a good position on outskirts of Kendal. Beautiful gardens. Large dining room. Friendly welcoming staff. Spotlessly presented bedroom and bathroom. Wide choice of food well cooked and presented both at Alexander's Pub and main restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for spreading the word regarding your experience!

We have a very loyal and hard working team of 120 who do everything they can to provide the best possible service and its great when they get to read that their efforts are recognised.

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW England
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

First visit here after a very long and torturous day, arriving very late at 23:00 but even so the manager couldn't do enough to help, he even kept food back from dinner so i was fed.
The room was great and very well equipped. The bed was marvellous. The whole room was spotless and a credit to the staff.
It will be my pleasure to return one day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear ‘Stigmeister’

Many thanks for sharing your experience.

Maybe next time you will arrive a little earlier and get the chance to make use of all our facilities! We have our 2 rosette Greenhouse Restaurant, Alexanders Pub in the grounds, Pulse Leisure Club and 12 acres of gardens and woodland to explore!

Look forward to seeing you again in the future

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal

Address: Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kendal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#1 Business Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Large Hotel of the Year 2014, Hotel Restaurant of the Year 2014 (England & Wales) Best Western Fans Favourite 2014, Cumbria Tourism Large Hotel of the Year 2014, Trip Advisor - Certificate of Excellence 2014 - No. 1 Hotel in Kendal. Other Awards include Hotel & Team of the Year 2013 & Best Western Best Conference Venue 2013. Independent, family-run Four Star Hotel situated in 14 acres of gardens & woodland, 5 miles from the M6 & 8 miles from Windermere. Extensive Conference & Banqueting facilities, recently refurbished 2AA Rosette Restaurant, Westmorland Pub in the grounds, health & fitness club and 99 bedrooms including four Executive, seven Balcony and three Family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kendal
Hotel Castle Green Kendal
Kendal Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.