We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable relaxing break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Kendal
Peterhead
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Enjoyable relaxing break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had a really enjoyable two night weekend break using the Castle Green as a base for a Lakeland Driving day. Great location, brilliant food, comfy room, immaculately clean and tidy. First class helpful staff!! Thoroughly recommended.
The breakfast is superb with nothing but the best available, we also ate in the attached pub and thoroughly enjoyed the honest, simple fare in here, pure quality and also great guest real ale to wash it all down with!
The only very minor gripes would be the hike up and down the hill to car park and no bath, only a shower in the en-suite! Minor inconveniences

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for your very positive review.

We do have many rooms which have baths so please do mention to the reception team your preference when making your reservation.

Ben Mayou

Ps. Rest assured you will always get the best deals by booking directly with us at the hotel by telephone or via the hotel website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    618
    296
    73
    22
    11
See reviews for
147
534
22
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a short stay at Castle Green for our anniversary and were not disappointed at all. The grounds were lovely, staff at reception were quick and friendly and our room was clean, well appointed, with a flat screen tv and a very comfy bed. We decided to have our evening meal at Alexanders pub and again were not disapponted as it was quickly served by friendly smiling staff and was tasty and well cooked. Would have no hesitation in both recommending and staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
A fantastic review, thank you for sharing your experience!

We hope to see you again soon

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowness-on-Windermere, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Lovely large room but at the back of the hotel which meant our outlook was over what appeared to be service units. Could not open the windows on a hot night due to the noise from these units. However this did not spoil our stay. Breakfast was wonderful. Best wedding I have ever been to.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Many thanks for your review.

We pride ourselves on offering a memorable wedding celebration for all. Here at Castle Green the team have years of experience in hosting weddings and we have a fantastic setting with 12 acres of grounds for the perfect back drop!

Ben Mayou

Ps. Make sure you request a garden view room for your next stay!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I expected a lot more based on other peoples feedback, our double room turned out to be two small singles pushed together sited on the third floor it was a good ten mins walk from reception be aware this is a very large hotel long corridors and many stairs, the view of trees was not at all inspiring. (room 259)
There was a function going on while we were there from the Blood Transfusion Service a good time was had by all apart from anyone trying to get some sleep, doors opening and closing all night and loud conversations.
Pay this kind of money and you expect a decent night sleep.
We had friends join us for a meal in the Pub on site whatever you do do not order the fish and chips the chef has not got a clue how to cook it properly turns out like plastic with burnt offerings (chips) served in a metal basket at £10 this is disgraceful two of our party did complain did not even get an apology.
Will not be returning to this overrated overpriced establishment

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience.
It is common practice in hotels around the world to use ‘zip and link’ beds. The benefit to the hotel is that the room can be sold as a twin or double. Guests booking a double room then get a six foot super king size bed (when the two single beds are linked together) We are a large hotel with 99 bedrooms on different levels with various views but to suggest it takes 10 minutes to get from reception to room 259 can only be described as an exaggeration. It is unclear from your review whether you expressed your disappointment regarding the room on arrival as I am sure we would have been able to find you a room in a more convenient location.
We provide a meeting room for the National Blood Service every two weeks between the hours of 12noon and 8pm. This is available for the Kendal community to come and give blood so I can confidently state that any disturbance in the vicinity your bedroom late at night will not have been caused by their use of a function room at the opposite end of the hotel. However, please accept our apologies for the disturbance which must have been caused by other residents staying in the hotel and your disappointment regarding the bedroom allocated.

It is very unusual to receive such feedback regarding the food served in Alexanders Pub. The fish and chips are actually our most popular dish on the menu. It seems from your feedback that they were not executed correctly on Monday night and I would like to apologise that this problem was not dealt with in the correct manner on the night. I have discussed this matter with Les our Pun Manager so he can address this with his team as a priority.
Should you be willing to give us another chance in the future then please contact me directly at the hotel and I will personally ensure we provide you with a more postive experience.
Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We have just spent the weekend at the Castle Green as part of a large party and have been extremely impressed.
We were very pleased with our executive bedroom - it was spacious, clean and the view was spectacular , even when it rained! The bed was huge and very comfortable.Some of our party had smaller bedrooms but everyone commented on the cleanliness of the bathrooms - spotless.
The Event Co-ordinator Nicola worked hard along with the Banqueting manager Christine to ensure that everything went smoothly, even when things became frantic due to changes close to the event.
The evening meal in the Greenhouse Restaurant on Sunday was amazing. It was also interesting to watch the chefs at work through the Theatre Window. We were so intrigued by some parts of the dishes that we asked the waiter about them. He went to the kitchen to get more information and one of the chefs Nicky came to explain them to us. This was fascinating and gave an incite into the amount of effort and care taken to produce the high standard menus on offer.
However, it is the level of Customer care shown by all the staff at Castle Green that sets it aside from many other establishments. All were friendly, welcoming, courteous and seemed happy to help.
We look forward to returning in the future. Thank you.

Room Tip: For a little luxury choose an executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to share your very positive experience.
I was delighted to understand that your weekend event was a success. Christine and Nicola have combined to facilitate countless functions at Castle Green over the years but it is always great for them to get a mention for all their efforts!
It is great to also read that you were able to eat in the Greenhouse Restaurant and that Nicky came from the kitchen to discuss the ingredients and the different cooking methods. Many hotels keep the chefs hidden away but we feel strongly here at Castle Green that they should be encouraged to come and take some of the credit for the excellent food they produce and to show how passionate they are about it.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future
Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Having recently stayed for two nights here, I cannot praise the hotel and its staff highly enough. Everyone was friendly, helpful and efficient and seemed genuinely to care that we should have a very pleasant stay at the hotel. The room was excellent value for the money paid with the bonus of a more than adequate choice of breakfast options. On each evening we dined in the restaurant where the food was of high quality and the service excellent. Will definitely return next time we holiday in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Many thanks for posting our 350th ‘Excellent’ review (not that we are counting!!)
Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Had a lovely stay here at the end of August. It helped that the weather was good and so you looked out onto gorgeous views of the Lake District. Not all hotels can hope to match that, but few are so well appointed and have such friendly, welcoming and efficient staff. Castle Green provides all you would expect from a modern hotel, except possibly a fridge in the room. Breakfasts were superb with all you could wish for. We also ate in Alexander's the 'pub' attached to the hotel where the food was excellent, as was the beer (for those interested in such things it had four hand pumps with excellent local ales). However, what really set the Castle Green apart was the staff. All were genuinely friendly, welcoming and willing to help and seemed happy in their jobs. Other guests also seemed happy and enjoying their experience which as regular travellers know is not always the case. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a comfortable base for a visit to the Lakes.

Room Tip: If you want a good view of the Lakes throughout be prepared to pay the extra for an Executive Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
What a fantastic review!
There is little that I can add to such positive comments other than to say a massive thank you to our team here at the hotel. They all deserve a huge pat on the back for continuing to deliver such a fantastic level of service during what has been a record August for us.
Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal

Address: Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#1 Family Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cumbria Tourism Large Hotel of the Year, 2014. Other Awards include Hotel & Team of the Year 2013 at local Business & Tourism Awards , Best Western Best Conference Venue 2013, Trip Advisor - Certificate of Excellence 2014 - No. 1 Hotel in Kendal. Independent, family-run Four Star Hotel situated in 14 acres of gardens & woodland, 5 miles from the M6 & 8 miles from Windermere. Extensive Conference & Banqueting facilities, 2AA Rosette Restaurant, Westmorland Pub in the grounds, health & fitness club and 99 bedrooms including four Executive, seven Balcony and three Family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kendal
Hotel Castle Green Kendal
Kendal Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.