We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, high quality food and helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book direct for Best Rate
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Kendal
Solihull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Excellent location, high quality food and helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I stayed here as part of a business meeting. The location is ideal as a base for exploring the Lake District and is only in walking distance of the centre of Kendal. The view from the hotel across the fells is beautiful. The rooms were not particularly attractive or distinctive but are clean well maintained and of a reasonable size. I did not eat at the restaurant but the menu looks good and the set menu that we had as part of the meeting package was of good quality. The staff were helpful at all times.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    294
    73
    22
    11
See reviews for
145
532
22
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alicante, Spain
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Though this hotel is a fifteen minute walk into town it is well worth it. The grounds are stunning and the hotel itself has all of the facilities you would ask for. The staff were very efficient yet friendly. Cant wait to return there

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night for business. Quiet and convenient location for visiting Kendal. Polite staff and good value, only a few £'s more than the Premier Inn. Highly recommend the Greenhouse restaurant, excellent food and value for the taster menu. Will use this hotel again for business and pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

For a group of 20 walkers coming by car, we chose this hotel because of its location and facilities and value. The hotel, which overlooks Kendal and limestone escarpments to the west, is 5 miles from the M6 and within 20 miles of the different places we planned to walk in. Moreover, it offered plenty of free parking, a rarity in parts of Cumbria, and leisure facilities, which can be most welcome after a day's excertions. Rambling groups, who want more than basic facilities, will get much better value here than in similar hotels the Windermere / Grasmere area.

I could not fault the staff, who were friendly and helpful, and the meals were well presented and tasty to match. Arrangements made beforehand for our group were all in place and our event ran smoothly; perhaps not surprising for a hotel that hosts business events, and for a hotel that has been uprated recently to 4* category.

Car parking is on three levels of the hillside. While you can unload outside reception, handicapped drivers need to check what happens if all parking places near reception are full. I noted that rooms varied in size, but did not observe the views from the rooms.

I would be delighted to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We used this as a mid point stopover between the Highlands and our destination in the south, it's a fantastic location and I'm pleased we arrived in good time to appreciate the magnificent surroundings in daylight. Parking on a weekend evening near the hotel reception was scarce but we unloaded the car and moved it to the part filled car park further down the driveway, no problem.

The staff on reception were very welcoming and affable, a late checkout was requested to allow us a few hours cycling the following day before continuing our onward journey south, we rode a pleasant loop before lunch up to Windermere, over Kirkstone Pass, alongside Ullswater to Lowther Castle then over Shap and back to Kendal, a beautiful if challenging route given the rain, hail and winds we experienced over the tops!

The rooms (151) are comfortable and roomy with recently refitted modern bathrooms, the settings on the shower controls aren't immediately obvious but I soon found them, it's almost as if they were designed to be approached front on yet are fitted side on which means you can't see them from outside the cubicle, maybe a small graphic adjacent to the taps would help?

Breakfast was served in the Green room which overlooks Kendal and the hotel grounds, there is a self service buffet, additional cook to order choices plus the usual cereal/toast/fruit options, a nice touch was the pre-prepared glasses of fresh and dried fruits served with yoghurt and a selection of compotes, a good idea.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and after staying at 5 hotels in the previous week would rate this as the best, after the week away working it was much appreciated.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed here on a Saturday night as part of a Stag do of 12. I found reception to be friendly and helpful and the lady behind the hotel bar was a lovely person. Location of the hotel is great and its a very nice place to stay. I agree with a previous review regarding charging for a newspaper - I don't recall ever having to pay for a newspaper previously at a top hotel? Its not the expense its just a nice gesture to provide a complimentary newspaper. Also I felt parking is tight at the hotel - I do drive a larger than average vehicle but still shouldn't be worried as a guest that my vehicle may get damaged in the car park (it wasnt damaged). I enjoyed watching the FA cup final in the hotel pub. Didn't use any of the hotel spa facilities as I didn't have time but friends said they were very good. My room was nice, shower was great, and bed comfy. In the morning there was a table available straight away for breakfast, I enjoyed the big selection of food items. I'd like to come back to this hotel with my Wife as I know she would enjoy it. I would be happy to recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley in Arden, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I have to say that we had a terrific stay at this hotel from entering and leaving it. The receptionist was so helpful and friendly and although our room 166 was a long walk it was worth it as the room was lovely with all the amenities you could wish for. We also dined in the greenhouse restaurant which again was a wonderful dining experience coupled with very friendly staff. The breakfast choice was immense and yet again the staff serving we're so helpful and courteous. We will definitely be back and I would recommend it to anyone as a perfect stop and we wish we had more time to stay longer. One thing I would say which is only a small thing but the ramp in the car park at the very top is a bit too high as it marked the car underneath when leaving so be aware.

Room Tip: See review
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal

Address: Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kendal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#1 Family Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cumbria Tourism Large Hotel of the Year, 2014. Other Awards include Hotel & Team of the Year 2013 at local Business & Tourism Awards , Best Western Best Conference Venue 2013, Trip Advisor - Certificate of Excellence 2014 - No. 1 Hotel in Kendal. Independent, family-run Four Star Hotel situated in 14 acres of gardens & woodland, 5 miles from the M6 & 8 miles from Windermere. Extensive Conference & Banqueting facilities, 2AA Rosette Restaurant, Westmorland Pub in the grounds, health & fitness club and 99 bedrooms including four Executive, seven Balcony and three Family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kendal
Hotel Castle Green Kendal
Kendal Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.