We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor value for the money” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bramhall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very poor value for the money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Bedroom (double) was far too small with a shower room far too cramped. The room was dingy - this was to be a romantic break - some chance!! Food was very expensive with haddock at £16 with no veg ( £3 per portion)
I would definately not recommend this hotel

Room Tip: I don't know as I booked on line and the room looked great but the reality was very different
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizduncan1, Sales Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Many thanks for your comments. Please accept our apologies that you found the room small and dingy. We have a number of bedrooms throughout the hotel that are a little larger and offer a bath as well as a shower, You don't mention if you asked to move bedrooms but I'm sure we could have accommodated such a request, given you arrived early afternoon. Unfortunately booking online, by it's nature does not allow us to discuss individual requirements with guests enabling us to allocate a bedroom that best suits their needs.

I have passed on your comments to chef regarding the haddock dish that you chose. We have had a hake dish on recently that came with a Cumbrian lobster risotto which was about the same price? All our dishes come complete however we can easily do some extra vegetables or potatoes on request.

Thank you once again for your comments, and I hope to welcome you back to Castle Green sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    686
    319
    80
    24
    11
See reviews for
163
593
23
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

This is a good hotel. The staff are welcoming and seem to care about your stay. The expansive grounds with the very well looked-after gardens add a lot to the good atmosphere. The room had a balcony overlooking the gardens, the restaurant looked busy for dinner which may indicate good quality food. The breakfast was a bit dismal with tasteless bacon and egg etc and metallic tea. But the service made up for it. So if you are tired of dusty B&Bs which are overpriced - try this!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We were recommended this hotel, but it was a bit modern for our tastes. There was a wedding on at the time, who felt they owned the hotel. Just felt there was nothing outstanding about the place and won't be stopping again

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Stunning hotel in a stunning location and really good food, just a pity they didn't invest in the bed in room 215. It is like sleeping on springs - you can actually feel the springs sticking through the mattress and body left so sore after just a few hours of sleep. We were thinking of staying here an additional two nights but good night sleeps are way too important to me.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Wife selected this hotel. Location is excellent. We told them to put a baby cot in our room which they did. The morning brekkie was good. The beds were comfy and the bathrooms were good. Some reception staff seemed a bit hurried but overall the staff were considerate and polite. The rooms are well kitted out. Ours had an ironing board, trouser iron, kettle trolley, hair dryer, Sony LCD tv etc. The hotel is on a hilly slope and this makes you access stairs at places so carry a light weight stroller.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milnthorpe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for one night in August while waiting to move into our new home close by. We arrived in the late afternoon after touring around Kendal and asked about going for a swim. We were told that the "children's hours" in the pool were over; that caused quite a big disappointment with my two. The lady at the desk told me that the pool hours were advertised on their website, but I had booked through Expedia and didn't see this information. Now that being said, she obviously felt badly and gave us an upgrade to a stunningly pretty room in the executive wing, and also suggested that I negotiate a quick dip for the kids with the health club staff. I did this, and the children were allowed to go for a swim in the end. We ate dinner in the pub that night and the food was excellent and the wait staff very attentive.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We chose this hotel for a two night weekend break. As we were travelling with family, we booked two double rooms and requested that these were located in the newer part of the hotel. On arrival we were immediatly attended to by a helpful receptionist who after informing us of dining times etc, directed us to our rooms, she told us that there would be stairs to climb and enquired if we needed help with our luggage. Our room was a good size, was equiped with every thing that we needed (no hairdryer but we always carry our own) and both bedroom and bathroom was spotlessly clean. On our first evening, we chose to take our evening meal in the main hotel dining room (advisable to pre book as can get very busy). The food was superb and we thought very good value for money. Like wise, the full Westmorland buffet breakfast which was available each morning, was piping hot and very tasty. We took advantage of the free membership of the gym and pool facilities during our stay and like the rest of the hotel, the staff were very friendly and helpfull and the facilities were spotlessly clean. The hotel stands in lovely grounds which again are all well maintained and are well worth a walk around. If we had one minor complaint, it was the need each time that you enter and leave the hotel main entrance to have to walk through a smoke sceen. Yes, the dedicated smoking area is located right outside the main entrance. Could I suggest that this is relocated to the bottom car park. This last comment aside, we thought that the Castle Green was a great hotel offering a high standard of service and value for money. We would certainly book again.

Room Tip: Request a room in the "new block"
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal

Address: Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kendal
#1 Family Hotel in Kendal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Large Hotel of the Year 2014, Hotel Restaurant of the Year 2014 (England & Wales) Best Western Fans Favourite 2014, Cumbria Tourism Large Hotel of the Year 2014, Trip Advisor - Certificate of Excellence 2014 - No. 1 Hotel in Kendal. Other Awards include Hotel & Team of the Year 2013 & Best Western Best Conference Venue 2013. Independent, family-run Four Star Hotel situated in 14 acres of gardens & woodland, 5 miles from the M6 & 8 miles from Windermere. Extensive Conference & Banqueting facilities, recently refurbished 2AA Rosette Restaurant, Westmorland Pub in the grounds, health & fitness club and 99 bedrooms including four Executive, seven Balcony and three Family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kendal
Hotel Castle Green Kendal
Kendal Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.