We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location. Location. Location. What more can I say?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Location. Location. Location. What more can I say?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for one night and was impressed. I was in the Kendal area for work and turned to the normally trusty best western group to book. And once again was not disappointed. The location of this hotel is excellent and the views even better. Both my room and the reastrant had excellent views out over Kendal and beyond. The service was good both at reception and in the adjoining pub where I ate.

Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    319
    80
    24
    11
See reviews for
164
595
23
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

This was our first visit to the hotel. It has many facilities, a leisure centre with a large pool steam room and gym, all areas were very clan and tidy bit it lacked a jaccuzi . There is a banqueting and conference suite which during our stay was hosting a large event, the organisation of the hotel is such that this event in no way impinged on the hotel guests.
Food is served in the main restaurant, the staff and levels of service were excellent. Unlike a lot of hotels, breakfast was a well organised self service buffet. As well as the hotel bar there is a separate pub which also serves meals.
Notwithstanding all these activities taking place there was ample car parking albeit split over three levels.
Make the hotel aware If you have mobility problems, as some of the rooms are up many stairs and a long way from reception and restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

We stayed here when attending a friend's wedding a few miles away. It wasn't cheap - over £130 for the room for one night - and the room was miles from reception, small, and with VERY dated decor (the furnishings must've dated from the early 1990s).

Arriving back at the hotel late at night, we asked if any food was available. When the night barmaid stopped sighing, she told us we could have a pizza. In my opinion they'd be better off not raising anyone's hopes, and should just say "no". The pizza was a tomato flavoured biscuit - disgusting.

Being of Cumbrian stock I find it depressing that this is supposed to be one of the best hotels in the South Lakes. Very disappointing and I wouldn't return. I've had better experiences at the Premier Inn in Kendal town centre.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizduncan1, Sales Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, responded to this review, April 19, 2011
Many thanks for your email. Apologies that you did not feel your stay represented value for money. As an independent hotel we have invested over £1.5 Million pounds over the last 2 years in updated our bedrooms, bathrooms and public areas and consider our pricing reflects the excellent facilities we provide.

I was particular concerned regarding your comment of an evening snack. We have a comprehensive room service and lounge menu which is managed by the bar staff and then the nights team. Given the length of time since your visit and your posting unfortunately I am limited as to isolating the night barmaid you speak of but I will pass these comments on to the operations manager to take up with the respective teams.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

This is a lovely hotel just on a hill outside kendal centre so it has great views but need a taxi to get back at night. our room was nice and clean the staff helpful and informative and they recommended us some great places to eat during our stay (well, all except 1!). kendal is a lovely town just outside the busy lakes and we would definately use this hotel again when we return here. Oh, and the swimming pool is only small but lovely

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

We stayed here for a brief birthday treat. It's a lovely hotel, beautifully placed on a hillside. The view from the restaurant window is of Kendal town below, with mountains in the background. We didn't use the pool or spa, but it is obviously very popular and looked attractive. Our room was warm and comfortable, the double bed a little smaller than was ideal but we slept well nonetheless. There were two armchairs in the room, which was nice as often one gets only one plus a hard desk chair. The breakfast was very good - nice quality cooked food and plenty of variety for the continental option. At the Greenhouse restaurant we tried the Cumbrian tasting menu- a wonderful gourmet experience, beautifully presented and , by London standards at any rate, not overpriced. But perhaps the best thing about the hotel is the friendly smiling service. Everyone was cheerful and eager to help. Altogether a very good hotel for a really relaxing break.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisaleeds
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

We have just returned from this hotel where my partner, baby and I stayed for 3 nights. Upon arrival we were given room 215 overlooking the gardens and beautiful surrounding hillsides of Kendal.

I have stayed in many hotels around the world and I thought the customer service was absolutely outstanding. From check in to departure we were made to feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble.

The breakfasts were delicious with plenty of choice and a delicious fresh fruit salad made up every day with a variety of fruits. All the waiting staff were extremely friendly and I can fully recommend this hotel.

The food in the pub next door was delicious (book in advance as does get very busy) and we did visit the highly recommended New Moon restaurant and the food was delicious. However, I thought the portions were very small so order a few side dishes if you have a normal to good appetite!....

We also visited the Eastern Balti indian which is close to the hotel and that was very nice. If I had to say my only gripe with this hotel was not having a bath (as we planned to do lots of walking). We did call down to reception and they offered to move us to a room facing the back which would have a bath and we decided the beautiful hillside views were worth the sacrifice....

If you book a stay here you will not be disapointed and I will definitely stay here again soon. P.S the one way loop system in Kendal takes some getting used to so leave plenty of time if going for a meal etc!.... ;-)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

My husband and I stayed for two nights while visiting family in Kendal. The Castle Green was a fine example of a chain hotel - although when checking in, let them know if you have problems with stairs as a lot of rooms can't be accessed by the lift.

The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was nicely fitted, but the shower was disappointing with wildly variating temperature!

Breakfast was a completely fine hot and cold buffet, except that on the Sunday (our second day) there was a huge queue for the breakfast. We were told 'just five minutes', but ended up waiting over half an hour. I wouldn't mind too much (queues can be inevitable at a weekend) but so many tables were empty while we waited! Staff weren't clearing them fast enough.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal

Address: Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kendal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#1 Business Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Large Hotel of the Year 2014, Hotel Restaurant of the Year 2014 (England & Wales) Best Western Fans Favourite 2014, Cumbria Tourism Large Hotel of the Year 2014, Trip Advisor - Certificate of Excellence 2014 - No. 1 Hotel in Kendal. Other Awards include Hotel & Team of the Year 2013 & Best Western Best Conference Venue 2013. Independent, family-run Four Star Hotel situated in 14 acres of gardens & woodland, 5 miles from the M6 & 8 miles from Windermere. Extensive Conference & Banqueting facilities, recently refurbished 2AA Rosette Restaurant, Westmorland Pub in the grounds, health & fitness club and 99 bedrooms including four Executive, seven Balcony and three Family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kendal
Hotel Castle Green Kendal
Kendal Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.