We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kendal Artisan Restaurant & Cafe Bar

Kendal Artisan Restaurant & Cafe Bar
Wainwright's Yard | Stricklandgate, Kendal LA9 4DP, England
01539 728135
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 110 Restaurants in Kendal
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Lovely restaurant with great quality, locally sourced food. The menu is delightful with a wide range of choice and things which are a bit 'different'. Recommend the trio of praws and black pudding salad.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    41
    26
    25
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Teplice, Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice, clean restaurant,very good and well presented food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Aways nice and tasty food,short time waiting.Just shame no wifi connection there.Otherwise highly recomanded place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food but surly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I've been here a few times now and always been very impressed with the food. The cakes are yummy, the coffee is strong and the mushrooms on toast are simply delicious.

The service always surprises me though. Each time I have been I have had to seek out staff to ask for a menu, wave to get attention to place my order and hang around at the till for ages waiting to pay. I wonder if this is because I always sit in the coffee bit at the front - is the restaurant bit better?

Anyway, great food.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentham, null, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Have visited Artisan on several occasions and have never been disappointed by the quality of the food. The staff are also very attentive and helpful. Always very popular, even on a weekday, so recommend getting there at 12 noon or before to get a table or you may have to wait .Also good to see the mums and toddlers/babies in the seating area at the entrance.
We are glad to have an excuse to go to Kendal so that we can have lunch at Artisan!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Always good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Lovely food, great service and friendly staff. They are serving the best fish and chips in the town and fantastic Trio of salmon - my favourite meal. The food is EXCELLENT and very good value!!! One of the best restaurant in Kendal, might be very busy on Saturdays but worth waiting.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kendal Artisan Restaurant & Cafe Bar also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Kendal Artisan Restaurant & Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kendal Artisan Restaurant & Cafe Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.