We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not As Good As Other Days Inn Hotels” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake to your Saves list
Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake
M6 Moto services | Roadchef Motorway Scv Area, Kendal LA8 0NW , England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Kendal
West Midlands, UK
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Not As Good As Other Days Inn Hotels”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We've used other Days Inn hotels and found them to be ideal for a couple nights stay and/or a base for the surrounding areas but the Killington Lake hotel is a little dated and the location, based on the South bound side, makes things a little inconvenient especially if wishing to travel northwards.

Room Tip: If you do use this Days Inn ask for a lakeside view room and one that is situated as far as possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendalDIManager, General Manager at Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you were so disappointed with your stay. Although we are situated on the southbound carriageway of the M6, we do have an access road which will lead you directly back to Junction 37 so you can head northbound. If you decide to visit us again, please just ask at Reception and we will give you directions. I hope to welcome you back to Days Inn Kendal (Killington Lake) soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    93
    66
    16
    11
See reviews for
47
116
15
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sale, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

i have stayed at the days inn at killington lake 3 times, everytime the room has been clean and tidy we always get a view of the lake , this time took 2 friends who have never stayed at a days inn they like it very much , very good value , the staff are so helpful everytime we go, even finding us the post code of a resturant we wanted to go to in kendal , also one night when we were out we got lost as the sat nav took us to the wrong place it was late at night and we did not have a clue where we were . we rung the hotel and the staff on duty that nigth gave us another post code which got us back to the hotel in no time. i wish i had taken her name. we always stay at the days inn whenever we come to the lakes and will stay again later on in the year,

Room Tip: ask for a room with a veiw of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendalDIManager, General Manager at Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay, and also that your friends enjoyed their first Days Inn experience. I'm so glad you will be visiting again later this year, please do contact the hotel directly so we can ensure you are allocated lake view rooms. I'm thrilled the team were so helpful and were able to assist you during your stay. I will certainly pass on your positive feedback. I look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Disappointed with Days Inn - it was tired and needed decorating. The bathroom was not clean and the room barely adequate. The only good thing is the view of Killington Lake. Do not eat breakfast, or any meal in the service station - dreadful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendalDIManager, General Manager at Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm so sorry you had such a disappointing stay. We have undertaken some redecorating works over the quieter winter period. I'm disappointed if you didn't find the rooms up to standard. I do hope you will visit us again to give us a further chance to provide you with the warm and comfortable experience we try to offer all our guests. Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you're looking for a place to crash for 1 night while heading north or south then this is the place. The beds were surprisingly comfortable. I was looking forward to see the much mentioned view of the Killington Lake, but unfortunately it was raining so much you could not see anything. By the way, if you're looking for a good place to go for a meal in Kendal then you can't go too wrong in trying the Italian place Infusion.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendalDIManager, General Manager at Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. I'm thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm sorry you had such disappointing weather while you were with us. I do hope you will come and stay again and hopefully the weather will be kinder! Do please contact the hotel directly so we can make sure we allocate you a room with a lake view. I hope to welcome you back to Days Inn Kendal (Killington Lake) soon, and thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Some dog owners may not know that Days Inn allow dogs for a small charge. Thanks Days Inn! We find them a reliable and reasonably priced chain. Only problem is the abysmal inefficient Wyndham loyalty points system! Killington Lakes hotel location is beautiful!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendalDIManager, General Manager at Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and that you stay with Days Inn regularly. We are delighted to accept pets for a small charge. If you book with us again, please do contact the hotel directly to let us know you're bringing your pets so we can make sure we allocate you a suitable room. I'm sorry you had problems with the Wyndham Rewards scheme. They have a great help page on their website if you need further assistance. Thanks again for your review, and I hope to welcome you and your pets back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Days Inn locations always offer reasonable prices and availability of meals, although one gets very tired of Services food. This aside, Days Inn at Killington Lakes near Kendal is a cut above the rest. The accommodation is situated right on Killington Lake and offers truly superb views across the water to the surrounding hills. Whether it's from your room or from the eating locations, you can watch people sailing or canoeing and sometimes wind-surfers too. There are rabbits to see and the local sheep come up to the fence during the late afternoon.
The Days Inn staff are very professional and are always there with a smile whenever you go out or come back in. While no breakfast is provided by Days Inn, they do offer a breakfast voucher at discounted price for use at the eating places at the Services location.
All said and done, the Killington Lakes Days Inn continues the high quality of service they pride themselves on.
Susanne & Gerard

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake.....it's well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendalDIManager, General Manager at Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and are continuing to enjoy your extended tour! I'm delighted you found the team professional and smiley. I've already passed on your comments to them and they were thrilled. We are very lucky that guests can enjoy watching the activity on the Lake, or just watch the local wildlife in action, either from our rooms or from the patio area next to the Roadchef restaurant. Spring has finally sprung this week and everything is finally turning green and beautiful again. I'm so glad you found us on your travels, and hope you have a safe and enjoyable onward journey. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

As you open the curtains of the room you get a wonderful view of the lake. There is no noise despite the M6 being a few hundred yards away, which makes it all the easier to journey to the Lake District. Unfortunately, if you don't want to have to pay service station prices for food etc. you have a bit of a drive. We went to Kendal a couple of times which is only about 10 miles away - but means one person can't drink.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendalDIManager, General Manager at Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay. As you say, we are perfectly located to access both the North and South Lake District via the M6 Motorway, but luckily we're shielded from the motorway itself by a large wooded hill which protects us from a lot of the traffic noise you would expect to hear at a service area. I'm sorry you were disappointed with the restaurant facilities Roadchef offer. We run a voucher system in conjunction with them whereby you recieve £10 to spend on food and drink if you pay £7.50, and a lot of their main meals are on special offer deals, but I do hope you enjoyed your visit to Kendal. We can suggest a wide range of restaurants both in Kendal and other local villages if you prefer a change while you're with us. I do hope to be able to welcome you back to Days Inn Kendal (Killington Lake) in the future, and thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake

Address: M6 Moto services | Roadchef Motorway Scv Area, Kendal LA8 0NW , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Venere, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake Hotel Kendal
Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.