We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart, simple and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake to your Saves list
Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake
M6 Moto services | Roadchef Motorway Scv Area, Kendal LA8 0NW , England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Kendal
Telford
1 review
“Smart, simple and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We booked this hotel through a paper promotion and so it only cost us £10 a night! BARGAIN.
We read previous very discouraging reviews and were actually dreading what we were walking into. However what a difference we found compared to these reviews. I can only say that some people must have bad backs carrying around the chips on their shoulders. OK, the room was basic but it was clean, presentable and comfortable. We used it as a base to tour the local areas. PERFECT. The kids even wrote thank you messages to the staff and were delighted to get little messages back.
We had a room with a double and 2 singles and it was huge with the kids beds in their own little room accessed via an archway leading from the main room!
Staff were extremely helpful and courteous and for £7.50 you can get £10 toward a breakfast deal in the next door Roadchef with the children eating for free. EXCELLENT VALUE. However, be aware that hot drinks are expensive and there is nothing at all to do except look at the lakes.
Overall, an excellent stay we thoroughly recommend if you are staying for similar reasons above.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the same level as reception to negate using stairs. A bonus is a room overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendalDIManager, General Manager at Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Thank you so much for your review. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We do only have two of the larger family rooms, so if you would like to ensure we allocate you one of these on your next visit, please do contact the hotel directly and we will do our utmost to assist you. The team loved receiving the notes from your children - if I remember correctly they had left the room beautifully tidy for our housekeepers! Unfortunately the £10 promotion has now finished, however please do keep an eye on our website for some of the other special offers we regularly run. I do hope to be able to welcome you and your family back to Days Inn Kendal (Killington Lake) soon. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    93
    66
    16
    11
See reviews for
47
116
15
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Hotel v near lakes. Rooms fine & some which overlook lake. Some of beds have that awful waterproof under sheet which is so hot. Found staff so helpful plus v helpful @ unprepossessing service station

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendalDIManager, General Manager at Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Thank you so much for your comments. It is always lovely to hear such positive feedback about the team - they all work so hard to make sure all our guests have a fantastic holiday. I'm so sorry you were disappointed by our mattress protectors. We are in the process of changing all the waterproof ones that you describe, I can only apologise we hadn't yet changed your room. When you visit next time we will make sure it has been completed! I'm so pleased you found our location so convenient. I think being situated on the motorway service area makes life very easy if you want to use Days Inn Kendal (Killington Lake) as a base for exploring either the Lake District or, in the other direction, The Yorkshire Dales. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

Good quality room, friendly and helpful staff, free wifi (wasnt working though and free parking, overall quite good! Would recommended due to promixity to motorway and beautiful lake just behind... no fridge or microwave though

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendalDIManager, General Manager at Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
Thank you so much for your review of Days Inn Kendal (Killington Lake). I'm so pleased you were happy with your stay. Unfortunately our Wi-Fi is not working, and we have updated our website to ensure all our guests are aware of this before booking. Please do keep an eye on the site so that we can let you know when it is working again. We are very lucky to have such a beautiful view over Killington Lake. If you book with us in the future, please make sure you request a lake view room as, although most do overlook the lake, we do have some that do not. We do not provide microwaves or fridges in the rooms as we feel this would add too much to the cost of the rooms. I do hope this did not cause you too much inconvenience. I hope to be able to welcome you back to Days Inn Kendal (Killington Lake) soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

Recently stayed at the Days Inn Killington Lake near Kendal.
The hotel was great value for money using the Daily Mirror vouchers.
The Room was a family room, with a separate archway to the two twin beds, as well as a double bed in the main part of the room. Colour flat screen television, hairdryer and tea making facilities also available. There was also a bed settee in the room. The bathroom also had a shower, everything you could possible need, with plenty of hot water.
The Room was very very clean the sheets crisp and white and the beds were very comfortable as were the pillows. Even the net curtains and the curtains were crisp and clean which is not always the case when visiting hotels.
Had a great nights sleep with no noise disturbing us from the motorway.
The staff were quiety efficient and friendly.
The voucher scheme was good value purchasing at £7.50 but spend value £10 in the service area next door.
Finding the hotel on the motorway was a bit of a problem, but eventually found it by coming off at junction 37 and taking an immediate right turn back on the motorway south bound and just up the motorway we found the Days Inn.
The room looked out onto Killington Lake and the view was great, most of the rooms have a lake view, so all in all had a good time in a very comfortable hotel.
Used an AA route map to help us find the hotel, but even they got the directions wrong when coming off the motorway, they advised three quarters of a mile before right turn back onto the south bound motorway, but in actual fact its an immediate right turn, so will be contacting them to inform them of the error.
Thank you.
L.Nasby

Room Tip: Most rooms have a great view of the Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendalDIManager, General Manager at Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
Thank you so much for your review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. You had one of our large family rooms and unfortunately we only have two of these so, if you would like to book one of these in the future please do contact the hotel directly so we can make sure you are allocated one of these if they are available. Luckily we are very well hidden from the motorway by a large hill so we don't have problems with traffic noise - especially if you are in one of our lake view rooms. I am sorry you had trouble finding us. It can be a little tricky the first time if you are coming up from the South, but the good news is once you've found us the first time it's much easier the next time! I think the AA was probably trying to direct you down the private access road we have for our guests' to use if they need to get northbound again. I will certainly get in touch with them to see if we can resolve that problem. I do hope you'll return to Days Inn Kendal (Killington Lake) soon - keep checking the website for special offers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

Very helpful, friendly staff. Rooms very basic but very clean. Limited TV channels. Beds extremely comfortable. We got this as a special offer of £25 per night so excellent value for money. Hotel sell vouchers for £7.50 which are worth £10 at the Roadchef next door where the food is very good. One word of warning ! Don't rely on your Satnav as the postcode for the hotel takes you to the wrong side of the lake - the staff were very familiar with this problem. If you're travelling from the South leave the M6 at junction 37, turn right on to the A684, then get back on the M6 southbound. You can only access the services from the southbound side of the motorway. Try and get a lakeside view.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendalDIManager, Manager at Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake, responded to this review, March 12, 2011
Thank you so much for your review. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay. I'm sorry you had problems with Sat Nav, as you say, it is a problem we are aware of, and we are currently working on resolving the issue as soon as we can - the postcode is correct, it just unfortunately covers quite a large area as we are so rural!
I do hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel soon, the £25 offer you mention is running until April 2011. If you would like to request a lake view room, please do contact the hotel directly as they are very popular! Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

we booked this hotel through the daily mirror promotion and so it only cost us £10 a night! fab bargain!!

we had a room with a double and 2 singles and wow it was huge, the singles were in their own little room accessed via an archway leading from the main room!

staff were extremely helpful and our room was neat and tidy upon our arrival!

just a small grumble, down the back of the sofa we found a puzzle book and pencils, so the sofa had obviouls just been hoovered around!! and the side of one of the single beds was thick with dust, i saw this as i pushed 2 singles together to make one bed.

apart from the smal grumble i was thoroughly impressed with the hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendalDIManager, Manager at Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake, responded to this review, March 12, 2011
Thank you so much for your review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The room you stayed in is one of only two of this type in the hotel. If you would like to book that room in future please do contact the hotel directly so we can allocate the correct room type for you. Please accept my sincere apologies for the housekeeping issues you found. Please be assured I have spoken to the housekeeping team about it to ensure it does not happen again. Although the £10 Daily Mirror offer has now finished, please do check our website for the most up to date special offers. I do hope to welcome you back to Days Inn Kendal (Killington Lake) soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

Basic, Travelodge style hotel at a motorway service station. Clean bedroom and bathroom, the bed was comfortable, the one member of staff we met was pleasant and efficient.
Very quiet given the roadside location.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KendalDIManager, Manager at Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake, responded to this review, December 21, 2010
Thank you for your positive feedback. I am delighted you were happy with your stay. We are very lucky that although we are on a motorway service area, we are hidden from the road by a hill which means we have very little traffic noise. I will pass on your kind comments to the revelant team member. I hope to welcome you back to Kendal (Killington Lake) Days Inn soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake

Address: M6 Moto services | Roadchef Motorway Scv Area, Kendal LA8 0NW , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Venere, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake Hotel Kendal
Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.