We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hidden gem, perhaps?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of County Hotel

Save Saved
You added County Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
County Hotel
Station Rd, Kendal LA9 6BT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 17 hotels in Kendal
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“hidden gem, perhaps?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

The hotel is a truly oldy worldy hotel run by a small team who work accross all areas of the hotel. The hotel is clean and basic, though a lot better then any Premier Inn or Travelodge and a lot cheaper depending on when you book. It is an ideal hotel for those wanting cheap overnight accomodation with good food and those backpacking or hiking. It is used a lot by coach parties and although the entertainment is provided for the coach parties, you are more then welcome to sit in the bar if it is your kind of thing.

The rooms are clean and basic with plenty of tea and coffee facilities, a telephone, and immaculate shower and bath facilities, depending of the type of room you stay in. The hotel is over four floors, and the lift is a bit hap hazard, although the stair well is wide and easy enough to climb.

Unlike small hotels, this hotel allows you to charge items to your room and pay on check out. There is no wifi and the breakfast is served 8.30 - 9.30 so if you are on business it is no good. The only car parking available is on the street or via a locked gate up the road, which you pay for at reception - though this can get full easily.

The hotel is across the road from the train station and a few minuted walk in to town. There is a local newsagent just accross the road. THE FOOD IS OUT OF THIS WORLD. Overall thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    43
    28
    18
    12
See reviews for
9
36
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, UK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

Despite attentive staff, the worst hotel I have had the displeasure of staying in for many years. The town was booked out so I was unable to move elsewhere and had to remain for the four nights I was there on business. The rooms were damp and smelly. Furniture was old and cramming in. The TV did not work. My first room had running water - down the wall when it rained. The hotel catered mainly for coach parties and the lounge was full of their entertainment in the evenings. No wi-fi and breakfast at set times. My request for a refund resulted in the senior management of the company accusing me of fabricating my complaints. In a word - AVOID this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnet, Herts
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

This quaint Coaching Inn is fine for an overnight stop to Scotland, which is what we were doing. In a nutshell, the staff were superb, very friendly and welcoming and couldn't have done more for you. Absolutely brilliant and outstanding, especially Carl the Manager who gave our children sweets when we arrived and free postcards to us when we left. The room was what you'd expect. Not massively big but OK for our stay. It was clean. The bathroom was basic and clinical but clean (the toilet in ours was difficult to flush and took ages to fill the tank) but served our needs but would benefit from modernising. Carl recommended we eat out for dinner. Strange you may think for a Hotel Manager to suggest you don't eat in his Hotel, but we arrived just before Evening Meal service, which we were told only had an hour window and was quite heavily booked. Breakfast however was great. Again only an hour window. Cooked breakfast was luke warm but had all the trimmings including Black Pudding. Best of all though was the self-service porridge from the soup churn - sticky, gooey, eat as much as you want (although you won't want that much unless you want to go back to sleep afterwards). - Yum Yum. The Hotel seemed to cater mainly for pensioners on their annual weeks coach holiday from where ever at the time we went. You can tell by the evening entertainment on offer (a fairly dire comedian the night we were there) and the fact you eat in the bar areas at mealtimes as there didn't seem to be a seperate dining room. A great Olde Worlde place with charm, character and a style all of its own. The only problem was the Car Park, the Hotel doesn't have one . You can use the Railway Station Car Park across the road (a very busy junction with a mini roundabout) for free. Very pothole ridden. Make sure you ask the Hotel about parking if you book. It was the ONLY downside as it is virtually impossible to stop outside the Hotel in your car. Don't let this put you off though. Otherwise, Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St helens
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

We stayed in a family room at this Hotel, very pleasent/helpful staff and generally a nice hotel. My only complaint was the rather saggy chairs in the Bar/lounge and Restaurant they where very uncomfortable and you could feel the springs sticking through. Also the beds could do with replacing as they too where rather saggy.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

This was a poor experience overall - we should have known having been allocated room 101. The TV did not work in the room, and we were advised by the duty manager on the day of check out that it was just one of those things - there was no apology. Plus, the room smelt stale and a little cheesy which was off putting.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayrshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

we were made very welcome from the onset, our cases were taken to our rooms, and the hotel manager took the time to greet us all on arrival with information about the hotel and surrounding areas. we found the hotel very clean and our room was comfortable. the food was satisfactory, but above all the staff were so friendly and made our stay so enjoyable. its location was central , shops , pubs and eating places were all within walking distance, we will be recommending this hotel to our friends and will definately be returning .

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County Hotel

Address: Station Rd, Kendal LA9 6BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 hotels in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage County Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.