We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent pub B+B” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Union Tavern

Union Tavern
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kendal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Union Tavern
159 Stricklandgate, Kendal LA9 4RF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 17 hotels in Kendal
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Decent pub B+B”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

If you are epecting luxury spacious rooms in the latest decor, then this isn't the place for you. If you want a cheap and friendly B+B then it is! Staff were friendly, pub opens until very late!! The bathroom is a little squashed, but apart from that it was a good stay.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
5
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2008

Tom and Maureen are brilliant as is the whole of the staff , they made us so wecome. The rooms and Maureens and Sue`s homemade food are both excellent. The ladies dart night must be seen and Toms unique songs were brilliant.
The whole time we spent there was without doubt the best around the area of Kendal. We`ll be back!!!
Thanks to you all for a great stay, see you soon.
The Bridgeway dive team.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2008

I had the pleasure of staying at this pub earlier this month while visiting kendal on buisness. Tom and Maureen the landlord and landlady could not of made my 3 days more welcome and plesant. The food was out of this world, the beer well kept, the rooms both clean and bright. the staff could not do enough for me and it was obviouse the whole place had just been re-decorated. Overall the best of the best and great value for money. I woiud recoment it for both buinsess and pleasure stays and for children even. Well done to all and keep up the good work!!!

  • Liked — The staff and food
  • Disliked — leaving it behind
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2008

After trying a nearby pub and finding that very poor, I viewed three other b&bs and a pub in the town for my next nights stay, before arriving at the Union Tavern
the tavern staff were very friendly and the room, in a separate building, was certainly the best i'd seen, spacious and with large double bed and a bath in the en suite. It was pleasantly decorated and had all mod cons. overall it was much better than expected.
I would certainly recommend it.

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — no a lot
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2007

The double room was clean and comfortable and the en suite with a bath most welcome for footsore , weary walkers . The rooms are separate from the pub and there was no late night noise .
The manager , Emalene , could not have been more kind and caring and sorted out our enforced last minute travel arrangements quickly , efficently and with no fuss .
This is a good value for money stopover with very friendly staff .

  • Liked — very friendly staff
  • Disliked — limited car parking
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpol
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2007

I was really disappointed with our room, it was very outdated and in need of upgrading., the shower was hanging off the wall and dripped constantly and the toilet would not flush properly, every 5 mins the water pipes groweled. The walls needed a good paint and the wooden areas were scratched.

The staff were friendly and the breakfast was good, the entertainment in the pub/below was good although I thought the price of drinks was very expensive.

It was a locals pub with accomodation above, there was limited car parking. unfortunatley the accommodation for me was not the best

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2006

DSS Hostel, people live here. Foul, freezing, hideous.

  • Stayed December 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Union Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Tavern

Address: 159 Stricklandgate, Kendal LA9 4RF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 hotels in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Union Tavern Kendal, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Union Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Union Tavern to your Saves list