We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three weeks at the tavern” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Union Tavern

Union Tavern
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Union Tavern to your Saves list
Union Tavern
159 Stricklandgate, Kendal LA9 4RF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Kendal
Nottingham
1 review
“Three weeks at the tavern”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2008

Tom and Maureen are brilliant as is the whole of the staff , they made us so wecome. The rooms and Maureens and Sue`s homemade food are both excellent. The ladies dart night must be seen and Toms unique songs were brilliant.
The whole time we spent there was without doubt the best around the area of Kendal. We`ll be back!!!
Thanks to you all for a great stay, see you soon.
The Bridgeway dive team.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
5
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
manchester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2008

I had the pleasure of staying at this pub earlier this month while visiting kendal on buisness. Tom and Maureen the landlord and landlady could not of made my 3 days more welcome and plesant. The food was out of this world, the beer well kept, the rooms both clean and bright. the staff could not do enough for me and it was obviouse the whole place had just been re-decorated. Overall the best of the best and great value for money. I woiud recoment it for both buinsess and pleasure stays and for children even. Well done to all and keep up the good work!!!

  • Liked — The staff and food
  • Disliked — leaving it behind
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2008

After trying a nearby pub and finding that very poor, I viewed three other b&bs and a pub in the town for my next nights stay, before arriving at the Union Tavern
the tavern staff were very friendly and the room, in a separate building, was certainly the best i'd seen, spacious and with large double bed and a bath in the en suite. It was pleasantly decorated and had all mod cons. overall it was much better than expected.
I would certainly recommend it.

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — no a lot
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2007

The double room was clean and comfortable and the en suite with a bath most welcome for footsore , weary walkers . The rooms are separate from the pub and there was no late night noise .
The manager , Emalene , could not have been more kind and caring and sorted out our enforced last minute travel arrangements quickly , efficently and with no fuss .
This is a good value for money stopover with very friendly staff .

  • Liked — very friendly staff
  • Disliked — limited car parking
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpol
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2007

I was really disappointed with our room, it was very outdated and in need of upgrading., the shower was hanging off the wall and dripped constantly and the toilet would not flush properly, every 5 mins the water pipes groweled. The walls needed a good paint and the wooden areas were scratched.

The staff were friendly and the breakfast was good, the entertainment in the pub/below was good although I thought the price of drinks was very expensive.

It was a locals pub with accomodation above, there was limited car parking. unfortunatley the accommodation for me was not the best

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2006

DSS Hostel, people live here. Foul, freezing, hideous.

  • Stayed December 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2005

My friends and I stayed at the Union Tavern in 2002 and we all had a great time. The staff were all exceptionally friendly and helpful and the bedrooms more than comfortable and clean.

The locals were all very friendly and the singing of lots of Irish songs really good fun!

Food also great, I would highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Union Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Tavern

Address: 159 Stricklandgate, Kendal LA9 4RF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Union Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Tavern Kendal, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Union Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.