We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best eating place in Kendal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pumpkins Bistro

Pumpkins Bistro
7 Allhallows Lane, Kendal LA9 4JH, England
+44 1539 728722
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 111 Restaurants in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Mediterranean, British, Vegetarian, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The restaurant is licensed and has an unfussy pleasant ambience enhanced by attractive artwork, some by a local artist, which gives it a Mediterranean feel. The menus are varied and very reasonably priced, all the food is sourced locally and our meat is predominately produced in Cumbria. Opening times:Mon-Wed: 9.30am-5.00pmThurs, Fri, Saturday: 9.30am-8.30pm.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best eating place in Kendal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We have eaten at Pumpkins on a number of occasions usually before a concert, film or theatre. The food is all home cooked with fresh ingredients. The vegetarian nut cutlets are superb. The fish and chips I had the other night was scrumptious. The prices of food alcohol and beverages are extremely reasonble. It is always very good and the service excellent. I wish there were more places like this.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    43
    8
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Ok but here are better places”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Fish and chips are good but not cheap, my friend asked just for fish and mushy peas and they tried to charge her the full price!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice and homely.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Called here at Easter, they were closing but was only 8.30 but were more than happy to seat us. Had a basic starter of humus and my partner had pate, both good without been fantastic. Mains were good, I had the chicken with pate, my partner had cassoulet. Chicken was good, although could of done with French fries and not chip shop chips. The cassoulet was nice and tasty and very comforting. Quite a limited choice but was all good that came out. Nice staff and nice place, nice and light which some places aren't.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A gem in the lakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Within Kendal centre, the small bistro sits quietly in a side street. The comfortable seating and bare tables makes for a relaxed atmosphere. Ther walls are decorated with watercolours from a local artist and this makes for an informal ambiance.The menu is innovative with home-made fish 'n' chips, casoulet, chicken pasta dishes, the chef makes his own pate and some vegetarian options.
We both had the Casoulet made with ham hocks, chorizo and slow-roast pork belly-delicious. Ther service was exceptional and they even added a salad and chips or baked potato and vegetables, as we were partuculary hungry and didnt charge us any more. The mains were £6.75 and we had a fruit crumble. this was the only slightly low point, I prefer my crumble with 50/50 ratio of friut to crumble, but that was the only minor thing, as even this was full of taste.

This is the place for lunch in the centre of the lakes, don't miss it , as this is the real gem in the sea of so-called worthy eateries. Fantastic!!!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“cannot understand how they make it pay when the quality is so good!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We turned up just prior to closing time a week or two ago whilst we were visiting Kendal (most other venues had given us a cold shoulder at closing time so we decided to take our custom elsewhere) and were given a refreshingly warm welcome from the front of house staff. The service gets better - within minutes we were served with drinks and the food wasn't far behind either! the quality of the food is exceptional (I have been in 5* restaurants which v bbb have been more dissappointing than this) and in this day and age where the quality of everything is dictated by the price, it serves as a suprising exception to this general rule. for 2 adults and 3 children - it came to just over £50 for a two course meal and plenty of drinks. well worth a visit

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pumpkins Bistro also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Pumpkins Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pumpkins Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.