We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great - highly recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Strickland Arms

Strickland Arms
Sizergh, Kendal LA8 8DZ, England
015395 61010
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 111 Restaurants in Kendal
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Bolton
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great - highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Enjoyed a lovely meal at the Strickland Arms last night. Not overly extensive menu but more than enough to choose from and no bad thing for someone as indecisive as I am! Excellent, local, well cooked food with a welcoming and smiley service. We will be back next time we are in the area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    109
    41
    31
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake District, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food and good local ales”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have eaten here several times and it never fails to impress. Great food and good selection of local ales. Our regular 'place to take visitors'.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuart1974, Manager at Strickland Arms, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Its great to read comments like these thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We've visited this pub on various trips to Kendal and have always enjoyed it. The menu is not extensive but what they do is excellent, quality local produce and well cooked. The service is also very good with the staff very friendly and helpful. They serve a nice selection of real ale too.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuart1974, Manager at Strickland Arms, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your comments they are very much appreciated we look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Lovely food & good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We've just enjoyed a lovely evening at the Strickland Arms. The food was delicious, with plenty of choice. The staff were friendly and helpful. Great atmosphere too.
We've eaten here several times over the years and never been disappointed. Will definitely visit again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuart1974, Manager at Strickland Arms, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write this review its great to hear see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Food Reasonable Prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We have eaten at the Strickland Arms several times over the years since it reopened. The food is good , only criticism is the vegetables are a little dry and unimaginative. They have been the same selection every time we have visited. Otherwise the atmosphere is good , the location great , the selection of beers is good and the service good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuart1974, Manager at Strickland Arms, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for your comments its great to hear reviews like this as a lot of time and effort is put in to the Strickland Arms reading reviews like this makes my day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strickland Arms also viewed

Witherslack, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Levens, Lake District
 

Been to Strickland Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strickland Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.