We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the town centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Kendal Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Kendal Central to your Saves list
Premier Inn Kendal Central
Maude Street, Kendal LA9 4QD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great deals online.
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Kendal
Rye, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Right in the town centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This hotel is right in the town centre, with limited parking so get there early, very comfortable, staff pleasant and welcoming, rooms very nice, also quiet, eating area is good and breakfasts freshly cooked and more than ample, also used as a bar in the evening if you want a night cap, lots of eating places in very easy walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    199
    58
    21
    9
See reviews for
153
233
24
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Myself and two friends visit the premier inn restaraunt weekly for a catch up and and the odd ale! the service is always friendly and prompt. The food is slightly overpriced for what it is, but they serve up a cracking fish. One dissapointing thing is the onion rings, and im a boy who loves his onion rings. A good variety of ales to sip which pleases me and my pals something rotten. Would decribe the overall experience as lush.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We travelled by road to Scotland and wanted a hotel on the way to break the journey. We settled on Kendal and found the Premier Inn. The hotel is situated in the heart of the town which is ideal for exploring this region. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is very good and plenty of it and value for the money. The downside is the hotel doesn't have it's own car park as the one outside the hotel is owned by the council, however, the day we arrived the pay machine was out of order and we managed to find a spot but some were less fortunate and had to park away from the hotel.

Room Tip: The location doesn't lend itself for ideal rooms as the hotel is in the town and the views are o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel by default. The place we had booked on the way to Scotland (Morecambe) was a dive, so drove onto Kendall and found this place. It was a total gem. The staff were lovely, the restaurant was great and the rooms quite spacy and nice and warm. Only downfall was the car park. Very tiny and packed! We travelled in May 2011, but have finally got around to doing a review! Would love to visit again (currently in Australia but moving to UK) and spend some more time in the Lake Districts.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Good location on the edge of Kendal highstreet, downside is limited parking but staff very helpful in sorting out alternatives.
Usual usp with Premier Inn is family room is actually big enough for 4 real people and still a reasonable price.
Nice and quiet, restaurant in attached pub perfectly acceptable and reasonable value

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel on several previous occasions, but this time we found that the bathroom had not been properly cleaned. The handwash dispenser was empty. The shower gel dispenser was also empty. There was only one hand towel for two guests, and the girl at Reception explained that it was now company policy for guests to share hand towels. (Well, it is my policy not to stay in hotels which expect guests to share towels.) Worst of all, before we arrived the toilet had been used and not flushed. Premier Inn need to train their staff in basic hygene. Yuk.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Kendal Central, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a clean and comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Just came back from a weekend away (12/04/13) and stayed at the Premier Inn in Kendal. We were called twice before our arrival to inform us about the parking situation. You have to park in another area but to be honest its a two min walk and not a problem at all.

What we were not informed about was the extension that's going on just now. Our view from the window was like a bomb site. That, we could of lived with but we were woke on Saturday morning to the removal of scaffolding and vans and trucks coming and going. My partner made a complained and to their credit was very sorry. The staff were lovely so if you plan staying soon ask for a room away from where the extension is getting built.

Our room was clean and tidy. Usual good standard for a Premier Inn and the restaurant attached served food reasonably quick and to a good standard.

Overall I would recommend this hotel and if you are planning to go to Lake Winder-mere its a short straight forward drive.

Room Tip: At the moment ask for a room away from where the build is taking place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Kendal Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Kendal Central

Address: Maude Street, Kendal LA9 4QD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kendal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Kendal Central Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite Table Table restaurant for a fresh new twist on eating out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Kendal Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel Kendal
Premier Inn Kendal Central Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Kendal Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.