We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Spotless Rooms and vey good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Kendal Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Kendal Central to your Saves list
Premier Inn Kendal Central
Maude Street, Kendal LA9 4QD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great deals online.
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Kendal
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location, Spotless Rooms and vey good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Another very good Premier Inn. staff very friendly and helpfull. We went hill walking and this is a great base to stay at. We had an evening meal and breakfast, the choice and quality of the food was really good with somthing for everyone.
Only downside was the price, I know you can get rooms for £29 but you have to book monthd in advance. The last three Premier Inns I have styaed in have been an average of £85 per night not including breakfast. There are other hotels for that price that are a better standard and Premier Inn would do well to acknowledge this. The concept of a clean, cheap hotel in Town centres is good but they must take a hard look at what they charge.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    199
    58
    21
    9
See reviews for
153
233
24
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

Kendal is a good base for those visiting the lake district by car. It isn't the prettiest town but it is only a few miles from the likes of Windermere etc. Premier Inn, Kendal delivers pretty much what you would expect from the chain of hotels. Staff, accommodation and food all score well. Parking does not. You can be lucky and 'score' one of the designated 10 or so paid-for spaces or you can take your chances on-street. The alternative is an arrangement which the Inn have to use office parking space nearby out of office hours. Just be sure to move your car before 9am!

Room Tip: We stayed for 3 nights using Kendal as base to travel around Lakes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

It was a perfect location for the centre of Kendal and this was great as we wanted to be close the shops in the High Street.
We only had 3 small criticisms to make, mainly because we were traveling with my elderly mother and we found that her room was at the far end of the corridor from ours and that she had 3 steps to go down to get to her room. I had failed to mention on booking that my mother has a walking aid nor did i think that our rooms would not be next to each other. I was also surprised that there were no phones in the room and we could not contact each other or if she had fallen she could not have contacted anyone.
However we managed and we enjoyed our stay. We used the restaurant and the food was excellent.The car park was quite expensive as the hotel does not own it and there are very few spaces which they do warn you about before you go.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel will hear some noise from the restaurant below as there are seat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

This Premier Inn is centrally located in Kendal, adjacent to the town centre, with a nice park just along the street. Reception staff exceptionally helpful and friendly. We paid £101 per night, and I've stayed in plenty of 4 star hotels for less, so this is no longer a budget hotel chain, but although the standards have risen, it's hard to justify the price. The room was typical Premier, with comfortable double bed, small flat screen TV (but we couldn't get text) and a clean bathroom with a powerful shower. Bit of a smell from the shower curtain, but if you supply shower curtains, that's what you get in warm weather. A glass screen would be an improvement.
The rooms are supposed to be air-conditioned, but this was completely ineffective, with a weak flow of lukewarm air doing nothing to cool the room down. It was a nice weekend, but only 21°C at its peak, but the room was constantly stuffy. It took hours to clear the steamy result of taking a shower, and if the bathroom had extraction, it didn't seem to be very effective. Opening the restricted window helped a little, but our room overlooked the busy street, so noise was an issue, plus the window opened so little it didn't have that much effect.
Parking is an issue mentioned in previous reviews, but as we were travelling by motorcycle, we parked up on the pavement, which may or may not be an issue (we didn't get a ticket for parking there).
We paid for a meal deal at the Table-Table restaurant which is integral with the hotel, and that gives you your evening meal from a restricted menu, a choice of Continental breakfast, which included self-made toast, croissants, yoghurt, fresh fruit salad, cereals, etc. plus a cooked breakfast, but only if you have all day to wait for it. I noticed 3 staff on, and they were apparently run off their feet. As a result, we waited 10 minutes to get a table, another 15 minutes before someone took our order, and a further 20 minutes before it turned up. It wasn't because it was overcooked either, because eggs, sausage and mushrooms looked like they had been shown the pan for a few seconds before being tipped on to the plate. In the meantime, the tiny pump flask of coffee was empty; the orange juice ran out, there were no side plates, and no teaspoons. As a result of all this, we were still finishing our breakfast when 10:30 arrived, and like magic, everything breakfast-like was whisked away. No warning: just gone.
We missed an event we were supposed to be going to, simply because breakfast took so long, so my advice to you is to stick to the Continental, and my advice to PI, is to get your act together, put more and larger coffee flasks and orange juice dispensers out, and enough crockery and cutlery and butter and everything else to do the whole session, so that staff aren't firefighting trying to do 10 jobs at the same time. More staff might be a good idea too, and try cooking the cooked breakfast.
This is our second stay here, and it was the same last time, so it's clearly not a one-off.
The evening meal from the meal deal was adequate, but when you choose a pear and walnut salad, and it turns up with no pears, that's not good at all. They put apples in instead, but apples aren't pears. Sorry. Surely they should have said, and asked if we'd prefer apples or something else from the menu....
Staff helpful and friendly though and our waitress did her best to resolve any issues, but we were in a rush to be elsewhere, and didn’t have time to mess around waiting for something to be sorted out.
It was definitely the staff who propped up this stay, and had it not been for them, we'd have left a lot more disappointed than we were.
Simple fact is, if PI are going to charge this level of price, then they need to raise their game to suit, and that includes making sure their aircon is capable of dealing with a not very warm summer's day, and that the standard of service in their restaurant is far, far better than it is now. Breakfast is the most influential meal of the day. People don't want to hang around in the Lake District; they want prompt and efficient service, so they can get on with their day.

Room Tip: Overlooking thecar park is quieter than the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

Me and my partner stayed here for two nights from the 19th June and had a really lovely time. A special mention should definetly go to Wendy on reception, who was truly fantastic! I would recomend this hotel for it's good location in Kendal and for the friendly staff who made our stay extra special!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

nice central location to Kendal within easy reach by car to Windermere. Parkwas a little difficult but staff do there best to help. would recommend to stay

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

i stayed here(in fact,still am in the room!) on the nights of 22nd and 23rd may 2011.there is not alot wrong with this premier inn,just the whole atmosphere feels a bit....well,flat.the location is in the middle of town but beware of the car park,its tiny so get there early.our room is fine except that its 6am and i cant sleep due to the fluctuation in temperature.boiling hot one minute then freezing cold the next.we are in room 217 where the thermostat gives a constant click every 3 or 4 seconds.its like counting sheep,but to keep you awake ! personnally,i hold premier inns in good stead,but unfortunately not this one.i cant quite put my finger on it,but its just not quite right,see iff you agree on your stay? i will be leaving this premier inn more tired than when i arrived.we are off to liverpool albert dock hotel for the next leg of our break,so lets see how that premier inn compares!

Room Tip: stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Kendal Central, responded to this review, May 25, 2011
Many thanks for your review. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay, and for this reason your feedback is very much appreciated as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs. Please be assured that your comments will be duly followed up by the Management Team at the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Kendal Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Kendal Central

Address: Maude Street, Kendal LA9 4QD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kendal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Kendal Central Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite Table Table restaurant for a fresh new twist on eating out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Kendal Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel Kendal
Premier Inn Kendal Central Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Kendal Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.