We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gateway Inn

The Gateway Inn
Crook Road, Kendal LA8 8LX, England
01539 724187
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 111 Restaurants in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I stayed here for the Kendal Mountain Festival 2013 and had a great time. Excellent friendly service, good food, good beer and a roaring fire.

Plenty to choose from the pub menu and a hearty breakfast in the morning.

Rooms are good & clean with plenty of facilities.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayKendal, Manager at The Gateway Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for your kind review of The Gateway. We hope to see you in 2014.
Kind Regards - The Gateway Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    48
    27
    21
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windermere, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great meal and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Passed it thousands of times and never went in. Today we did, warm welcome and a log fire. The owner was welcoming and helpful. The was good basic pub food, what we choice was fresh and well cooked. No adverse comments. We will return and more often.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayKendal, Manager at The Gateway Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thanks for the positive review, we are so glad you stopped at The Gateway. Our location on the busy A591 brings us lots of custom but it also makes it easy for potential customers to zoom past! Great to hear that you make a return stop.
Thanks again - The Gateway Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Decent grub at a decent price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

My wife and I ate at this small hotel (5 bedrooms) which is situated conveniently for the A590 and the A591, being just outside Kendal in a slightly elevated position in its own gardens. This is an unpretentious place with workmen, tourists and locals enjoying a drink or two accompanied by good food and excellent service. A roaring log fire adds to the warm atmosphere but this is a friendly welcoming place even without the fire!
We have eaten here before about 8 years ago and since then it has become a Thwaites Inn but the quaint rural charm is still there.... and that's just the bar staff !!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayKendal, Manager at The Gateway Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for your honest review, we would not disagree with what you have said, especially about the bar staff!
Hope to see you again.
KInd Regards - The Gateway Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“A clunky dining experience but good natured staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is a decent pub / inn which is clean and where the staff are good natured but perhaps not the most professional seasoned folk in the hospitality industry. If you like pub grub then the menu is pretty good but it is not operating at restaurant level.

The issue for us was that the waitress naively told us that the reason why my wife's main course had been delayed was because it needed warming up! It certainly was red hot when it arrived but that nugget of extra information from the waitress was enough to spoil my wife's appetite and most of the main course was left uneaten as a result. Too much information, me thinks. The idea that this dish had been prepared too soon while the other four main courses were still being cooked isn't great - it creates a mental image of your dinner being left to go cold on the side before being given a hot blast to breathe life back into it!

Anyway, these things happen. What the staff did to their credit is respond to my wife's complaint and do their best to demonstrate their regret. They did say that they hadn't reheated the dish but, that aside, they offered a significant reduction in the final bill, more than just the value of the reheated main course, without any further fuss. Now, in my experience this is rare. Sometimes one gets an apology but often it's just words. These guys put their money where their mouth was and I salute them for that. Furthermore, they were pleasant to us as they unraveled the problem and they seemed genuine.

So then. A hiccup for us but a real effort by the team to demonstrate their regret that our dining experience, which is always about more than just the food, had been ruined. If you're in the south lakes for a meal in a clean pub then this one is ok. I can't rave about it but it is what it is - not really my scene but maybe yours.

Adrianne.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayKendal, Manager at The Gateway Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for your review and recent visit to The Gateway. We are sorry that service started off a bit "clunky" but we are very pleased that your issue was delt with to your satisfaction. We are an Inn which prides itself on honest and genuine hospitality.
Thanks again - The Gateway Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“great food, great service much better than last time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I recently ate at the Gateway and it was really good, they acommodated my 3 year old very well, colouring crayons etc, food was good, service was excellent. Shame it was a bit quiet but then you get really good service, lovely roaring fire, will def be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayKendal, Manager at The Gateway Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are always looking to improve our standards and we are glad to hear that the service was much improved on your last visit. And its great to know you will definately be back, see you soon - The Gateway Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gateway Inn also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
 
Crook, Lake District
 

Been to The Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gateway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.