We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food, great service with nice atmosphere.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jintana Thai Restaurant, Kendal

Jintana Thai Restaurant, Kendal
101 Highgate, Kendal LA9 4EN, England
+44 1539 723123
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 111 Restaurants in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $20
Cuisines: Thai, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Entertaining clients, Families with children, Doing business, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Jintana Thai Restaurant is located on Highgate in the centre of the Historic Town of Kendal, Just 70 yards from the Brewery Arts Centre. Open since 2010, the restaurant offers diners a relaxed, friendly environment in which to enjoy our freshly prepared authentic Thai Cuisine. Decorated with imported Thai furniture, artwork and statues, our dining area provides the perfect setting to enjoy our wide selection of meat, seafood and vegetarian dishes, each of which is freshly prepared to order by our team of experienced Thai chefs. Our fully licensed bar offers an extensive range of World and Asian Beers and Wines, as well as some specially mixed Asian Cocktails. Jintana Thai Restaurant is perfect for couples, and also for families and large parties, with its cosy and intimate surroundings everyone is welcome. As soon as you step inside, you are greeted with a warm welcome by our staff dressed in traditional Thai costumes. The restaurant and bar are available for hire to host private functions and receptions which can be tailored to your needs. Please contact us with your requirements.
Kendal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great food, great service with nice atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I went for a meal there on saturday 1st december with my partner, as i love spicy food i had a thai chicken jungle curry and it certainly had a kick. My partner had chicken with veg in garlic sauce, plenty of garlic just how he likes it and we shared a rice. The wine by the glass is lovely especially the thai red, i had the house medium white which was nice as i usually find restaurant wine can be awful. We had a banana spring roll dessert with coconut ice cream and fresh fruits mmm, i think that says it all, then we finished the meal with a calypso coffee, all in all it was a lovely meal with great service at a decent price.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    78
    25
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Appleby, Cumbria
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Disappointingly bland”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

I went with high hopes in view of other reviews,but found myself disappointed.

On the positive side, service was friendly and efficient, the ingredients were fresh and the food was freshly cooked.

The problem is that the food just wasn't anywhere near as exciting or flavourful as I was expecting.

I ordered the Tung Tong minced chicken balls for starters. these were served in crispy wonton batter, we're well presented and had evidently just that minute left the fryer. But they had very little flavour.They just seemed to be minced chicken. I didn't taste much seasoning,herbs or spices at all. The generic supermarket sweet chilli dipping sauce did it no favours.

The gang mussaman gae main course was interesting, and not in a good way. I've had this at other Thai restaurants and it usually comes as melt-in the mouth tender meat in a very thick, rich and aromatic sauce. However, the meal I was served was slightly tough lamb with par-fried rough chopped veg in an insipid gravy. If I'd have been served it as a cheap Chinese Take-away curry, I'd have been disappointed.

Judging by the majority of reviews, it seems my experience was not typical,and maybe I need my expectations resetting. However, the bottom line is that I paid £25 for two courses and a couple of drinks, and really didn't enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We really enjoyed our meal here whilst visiting the mountain festival, it was a good price for what we ate and the food was good

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, Cumbria, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Absolutely excellent! !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Ate hear and it simply could not have been better. beautiful food, warm and friendly staff and lovely environment. First class!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place, food and people.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

They were able to fit us in at short notice, we received excellent service and the food was lovely. We would definitely eat there again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jintana Thai Restaurant, Kendal also viewed

 
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Jintana Thai Restaurant, Kendal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jintana Thai Restaurant, Kendal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.