We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would go back for a larger room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hillside Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hillside Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Hillside Bed & Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   4 Beast Banks, Kendal LA9 4JW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Would go back for a larger room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Clean and tidy. Staff were very warm, friendly, welcoming and proactively helpful! Delicious breakfast.
Would have liked a larger single room :). Was a pain to walk uphill sometimes but not enough to deter me from returning. Thankyou, Richard and Wendy for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    27
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
69
29
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed at Hilside as we were going to the Hawkshead beer festival. The b & b is central to kendal with many restaurants and bars just a stroll away. We stayed in the superior double ensuite room, which had a lovely large shower room. Richard and Wendy were very welcoming, we would stay here again.

Room Tip: superior double ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

As a single lady traveller, I'm concerned when booking new accommodation. You allayed all those fears. A warm welcome, a warm room, I'll be booking with you next time. The other reviews 're location and amenities are accurate.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Thanks for making me very welcome and for your consideration throughout my stay. I thought the accommodation was excellent, a great breakfast and felt that nothing was to much trouble for Richard & Wendy. Thank you for arranging an extra night's accommodation for me so I could stay for an excellent day's walking.
The rooms were spotless and well decorated/furnished. Lovely comfortable beds, I slept well. The venue is great, literally a couple of minutes walk from Kendal centre, with lots of places to eat, drink or shop.
If you are stopping and want to exit Kendal to the north, do ask Richard or Wendy for the shortcut that cuts out the one way system!
A great location for access to the southern Lake District, I strongly recommend Hillside. I hope to ne back soon for another visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

In my time, I have stayed in many hotels, guesthouses and B&B's, all of which had good and bad points, but I simply cannot fault Hillside. The location is great for exploring the town, being a very short walk away from all the amenities. There was a warm welcome from owners Richard and Wendy, and even though there was a full house, you got the impression that nothing was too much trouble. Richard offered help and advice on restaurants and daytrips in the area. His local knowledge is extensive, and he even loaned us a road map of the Lake District.
I booked the twin room, which was warm (on a very cold night), and spacious. Both the room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. I have to say that the beds were very comfortable, and both of us slept really well. High quality tea, coffee and biscuits were provided, along with hot chocolate and Kendal mintcake.
We came down in the morning to another cheerful greeting from Richard, and a delicious breakfast, again using high quality and locally-sourced produce. It was also interesting to learn from talking to the other guests, that for several of them this was a return visit - always a good sign.
This business deserves to succeed - Richard and Wendy really care about their guests, and we will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Was on a flying visit on a Sunday evening. Property is on a steep hill with no parking, although hosts give you permit to park nearby. There are steps to the property - neither a problem to me - but worth bearing in mind if not mobile. I had a lovely room - double used just for me, with lovely bed and a seating area - really comfortable. Lovely to have nice biscuits and a wee piece of Kendal mint cake - nice touch. Slept well. Shower powerful. Nice breakfast with vege options. I had bacon and poached egg (no black pudding :( ) toast with locally made marmalade. Didn't get much of chance to speak to host at breakfast, however, on leaving got a good chat. Obvious he knows the area really well. I suspect he could give you suggestions for whatever kind of holiday you are looking for. I would go back

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed two nights during September 2013 while on a short walking break. The hosts were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was good. There is a walk down and then back up the hill so may not be perfect for the less mobile. The one negative for me was the en-suite shower room. It was crammed in and as such very little room to move; had to hurdle the toilet to get to the shower. The room was also a bit small for us. Nevertheless a nice place to stay and good value for money. A good selection of drinks and milk was provided in the room - some places I have stayed give you a lot less. Very clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hillside Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Bed & Breakfast

Address: 4 Beast Banks, Kendal LA9 4JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillside Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IF ITS SAYS WE ARE FULL OR THERE IS NOTHING AVAILABLE WE ARE NOT, WE HAVE MORE ROOMS THAN ARE SHOWN HERE, CHECK OUR OWN WEB SITE. Hillside is a family run Bed & Breakfast located just a few minutes' walk uphill from the historical market town centre of Kendal. This Visit Britain 4-star Victorian property, dating from 1880, offers rooms with scenic views, free Wi-Fi and free (on street) permit parking.(We lend you a permit) The charming en-suite rooms at Hillside offer views across Kendal from its elevated position to the fells beyond. Each has an LCD TV, a hairdryer and well-stocked refreshment tray, irons and drying facilities are all available. Breakfast features fresh fruit, juices, cereals and yoghurts followed by a full English breakfast or lighter option made with quality ingredients. A bustling market town, there is much to do and enjoy in Kendal including the town trail, riverside walk and great shopping in the town's historic "yards". Treasures include the Brewery Arts Centre (a 5 minute downhill walk away), Abbott Hall, Kendal Museum, the Quaker Tapestry exhibition, Sizergh Castle and Levens Hall. Kendal also hosts events and festivals throughout the year including the Westmorland County Show, Mintfest (Kendal's international street arts festival) and the Mountain Film and Comic Art festivals. Hillside is an ideal base for exploring the beautiful Lake District and Dales National Parks and has easy access to the A6 and the M6 Motorway. Kendal Train Station is half a mile away. NOW OFFERING FREE OVERNIGHT ELECTRIC CAR CHARGING. BY PRIOR ARRANGEMENT ONLY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hillside Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillside Bed & Breakfast Kendal, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillside Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.