We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean,comfortable & really good service with a very good knowledge of local transport & places to go.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hillside Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hillside Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Hillside Bed & Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   4 Beast Banks, Kendal LA9 4JW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Wallington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Clean,comfortable & really good service with a very good knowledge of local transport & places to go.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Excellent B &B can't fault it. It's very close to town centre but up quite a steep hill.
We had a 3 night stay and got to Windermere, Bowness, Ambleside, Grasmere & Keswick, all on public transport from Kendal bus station or boat on Lake Windermere.
Can definitely recommend this B & B even though we normally stay in either 4 or 5 * hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    27
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
69
29
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our visit centred around a chance to see a dear friend ,who has had some health problems ,our choice of Hillside guest house, proved ideal on all counts.The room we chose was excellent,with the added bonus of good breakfast to start the day.Our hosts were charming with a very good knowledge of the Lakes,backed by the fact they were local people. We would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The accommodations were lovely, thoroughly comfortable, roomy & private. The location is so very convenient to the centre of the town.
Richard & Wendy Fawthrop provided us with a wonderful full English breakfast, unhurried and with lots of variety.
Richard is an enthusiastic local with extensive knowledge of trails & roads throughout the Lake District. He was generous with his time for each of his guests and the questions, providing advice, directions and choices.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Hillside B&B is spotlessly clean, the hosts were welcoming, and the location was ideal for anyone wanting a base for exploring the Lake District or for walking into Kendal.

Unfortunately, the en-suite bathroom for our room (room 6) was very small and dated. We had to hurdle the toilet to get into, and out of, the shower where we found the water pressure to be too low. Going to the toilet required sitting sideways as there was no knee room. Neither of us are tall or overweight so if you are tall, overweight, or less than flexible, avoid this room.

Although the bedroom was an ok size the mattress was past its best and could do with replacing. Overall we found Hillside B&B frustrating with great hosts and cleanliness but just too much compromise to allow us to score it highly.

Visiting Kendal itself on an August bank holiday weekend was a disappointing experience, with the Monday night being particularly poor as many restaurants and pubs decided to close.

Room Tip: Avoid room 6. Visit the Riflemans pub, just a short walk up the hill from the B&B. In the Good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Ensuite facilities were the best of our 3-week stay in the UK--the hostess thought of everything! Our hosts were very willing to offer suggestions & advice, which we appreciated. Perfect for touring the Lake District; excellent breakfast & we were able to walk to restaurants, church & lovely hilltop castle from this B&B. There is a pretty river walk as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Have just returned from 4 nights staying at the Hillside B&B and can not fault it at all.

A comfortable and spacious double room (room 3) with en-suite which included an amazing 'rain' effect shower. On road parking available with a pass from Richard and Wendy, and we never had any problems finding a space. Breakfast had a great choice of cereal/yoghurt/fruit and juices followed by full English (or your choice of items if you don't fancy it all) and tea/coffee.

The room we were in had ample space and storage and was cleaned daily, and stocked up with tea/coffee and hot chocolate (which I was grateful for not being a tea/coffee drinker) and also a selection of biscuits for dunking :-)

If you don't know much about the Lakes or places to visit then Richard is a great fountain of knowledge and extremely helpful in the best routes to take (with the help of his visitors map), which public transport to use (we were in the car but had a day on the buses) and where is good to visit. We had an idea of places we wanted to see but saw so much more thanks to his advice.

If we plan another holiday to the Lakes we wouldn't even think about booking anywhere else, and recommend anyone considering a trip to the lakes whether business or pleasure they book here.

Room Tip: The B&B is on a hill as the name suggests but it is only a short way up the hill and is only a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devizes
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Just returned from 3 nights at the Hillside having attended a ski technician course in the town. I would thoroughly recommend staying in this lovely B&B. Everything was just perfect and Richard & Wendy do everything they can to help you enjoy your stay; I can thoroughly echo all the other good comments I have read here. I am studying German prior to spending the winter in Austria and hey presto, on my first morning at breakfast there were 2 very nice German couples ready for me to practise on, only to be trumped by 2 lovely Austrian girls the next day! How did he do that? I would love to come back to Kendal with my girlfriend to see more of the area, in which case I won't even look anywhere else!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hillside Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Bed & Breakfast

Address: 4 Beast Banks, Kendal LA9 4JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillside Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IF ITS SAYS WE ARE FULL OR THERE IS NOTHING AVAILABLE WE ARE NOT, WE HAVE MORE ROOMS THAN ARE SHOWN HERE, CHECK OUR OWN WEB SITE. Hillside is a family run Bed & Breakfast located just a few minutes' walk uphill from the historical market town centre of Kendal. This Visit Britain 4-star Victorian property, dating from 1880, offers rooms with scenic views, free Wi-Fi and free (on street) permit parking.(We lend you a permit) The charming en-suite rooms at Hillside offer views across Kendal from its elevated position to the fells beyond. Each has an LCD TV, a hairdryer and well-stocked refreshment tray, irons and drying facilities are all available. Breakfast features fresh fruit, juices, cereals and yoghurts followed by a full English breakfast or lighter option made with quality ingredients. A bustling market town, there is much to do and enjoy in Kendal including the town trail, riverside walk and great shopping in the town's historic "yards". Treasures include the Brewery Arts Centre (a 5 minute downhill walk away), Abbott Hall, Kendal Museum, the Quaker Tapestry exhibition, Sizergh Castle and Levens Hall. Kendal also hosts events and festivals throughout the year including the Westmorland County Show, Mintfest (Kendal's international street arts festival) and the Mountain Film and Comic Art festivals. Hillside is an ideal base for exploring the beautiful Lake District and Dales National Parks and has easy access to the A6 and the M6 Motorway. Kendal Train Station is half a mile away. NOW OFFERING FREE OVERNIGHT ELECTRIC CAR CHARGING. BY PRIOR ARRANGEMENT ONLY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hillside Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillside Bed & Breakfast Kendal, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillside Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.