We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place to eat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paulo Gianni's (Kendal) Ltd

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Paulo Gianni's (Kendal) Ltd
21a Stramongate, Kendal LA9 4BH, England
01539 725858
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 110 Restaurants in Kendal
Price range: $9 - $34
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Really nice place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This is a really great place to eat. We eat here twice, happy hour is well worth going too. Thought maybe with the price we wouldn't get alot but we did, you get alot for your money, well worth going. Only down side is the staff don't seem to smile too much but maybe they were having a bad. If your looking for good food go here... inore the silly reviews saying its not ''fine dining'' if you want al a cart eat where you pay over the odds for that and get a small amount of food lol hope this review helps you.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    109
    35
    36
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“ok for a cheep meal”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

prices very good but don't expect fine food . Its good for a quick bite. Go early to get then best price . Nice environment

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Younger staff pleasant...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Turned up for the happy hour. Quickly seated by the younger gent. Very pleasant and quickly served without been intimadating... couldnt help but notice change of decor. Very pleasant. Anyway, ordered our food and came quickly. Standard level of food with a lovely sound of the microwave door slamming from the kitchen... need to do more with an oven... plus scottish older waiter, seems to be the supervisor. Saw him very rarely making an appearance on the floor and stood in the kitchen eating pizza, talking and occasionally pretending to do work. Younger staff all good and pleasant whilst older guy needs to do some work. Walks round and round in circles inbetween bites of pizza... could wash your hands too afterwards mate!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good authentic Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Had a meal here with friends whilst staying in Kendal overnight. We had not booked but the staff were very welcoming and friendly and sorted out a table for 4 of us without any delay. The restaurant was suprisingly busy for a Monday night and there was a good buzz and atmosphere. Excellent food. Served quickly. Great choice and we all enjoyed our different selections, which is unsual as we all have varied tastes for our food. Very reasonable food prices and good house wine which was not overpriced. Would certainly be going there regularly if we lived locally.
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Enjoyed a great meal here on 1st November. We have always noted that the restaurant is full until 8pm so we booked a table for 8pm at lunchtime. On arrival our table was not quite ready so we were invited to one of the two upstairs bars for a drink.

When our table was ready downstairs, it was a table for four despite there only being two of us and it was right at the front in the window. An excellent view and excellent for people watching up and down Stramongate.

On reading the menu it is clear to see why the restaurant is full until 8pm as Happy Hour prices are incredibly cheap with some meals costing as little as £2.99. Well as we were not there for a bargain we enjoyed a two course meal and a bottle of wine. I was slightly disappointed to find on paying that the Sambuca shot was not provided complimentary, considering our bill did come to over £50.

We enjoyed ourselves and our food was without fault.

Would go back again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paulo Gianni's (Kendal) Ltd also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
Lancaster, Lancashire
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Paulo Gianni's (Kendal) Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paulo Gianni's (Kendal) Ltd, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.