We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, Lovely food, Lovely beer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Watermill Inn & Brewing Co.

Watermill Inn & Brewing Co.
Ings | Near Windermere, Kendal LA8 9PY, England
01539-821309
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 111 Restaurants in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place, Lovely food, Lovely beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stopped here on the way up to the lodge we were renting in Troutbeck because it had been recommended to us. This place is very dog friendly but we liked that because we have a dog. The selection of beer is ace - they brew their own as is the food and the pub itself has a nice atmosphere. Its next to a busy road but set well back from it. The welcome was very friendly and it wasn't too dear for the food we had. I'd defo stop here again if I was passing by.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    90
    18
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kendal
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good Food, Slightly Pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

the food is good and they do offer a much better selection of mains than some eatery’s, but it is slightly overpriced for the amount of food you get. They’ve gone to town on the meaty options.
As a veggie, I wouldn’t look to the Watermill if I was after a cheap light snack, largely down to the lack of variety in their baguettes/Baked Potatoes and prices of their starters.
Having been pleasantly surprised by the Bread and Butter Pudding I ordered, I feel I’ll have to pop back again to try the other veggie options, though sadly due to its prices we’ll be paying more revisits to other pubs that have proved better value before we make our way back to this one, so it could be a while.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Traditional style food in a traditional style venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Nice food in cosy surroundings - also the Inn has it's own brewery with some very nice local ales to be tried (and tried again!).

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Ok for a stop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Fairly basic pub grub. Ok for a stop. Nice beers. A lot of people love it. It's no more inhabited with dogs than any other pub in the lakes

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The place to visit for great beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Definately the place to go for good beer. It was obvious that food came second. However what I tried was very good - potted shrimps to start, then lamb stew - both tasted excellent. It is a very popular place. Go after 8pm for more chance of a table

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Watermill Inn & Brewing Co. also viewed

 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Watermill Inn & Brewing Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Watermill Inn & Brewing Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.