We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for the all-you-can-eat fans” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Moon Restaurant

New Moon Restaurant
129 Highgate, Kendal LA9 4EN, England
+44 (0)1539 729254
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 111 Restaurants in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $61
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Germany
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Not for the all-you-can-eat fans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

If you are the sort of person who frequents the all-you-can-eat-for-five euros/pounds/dollars sort of establishment, this restaurant is not for you. A thoughtful and interesting menu, deliciously cooked food, portions just right if you want to sample one of their delicious puddings afterwards. We took the early supper option with starter and main course, for a very reasonable price. (We recommend the upstairs room for its pleasant atmosphere.) Friendly and efficient service, free wi-fi and if you go in the coming weeks you can catch a fine exhibition of portraits by Helen Perkins upstairs.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    71
    17
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Without doubt some of the very best customer service we've had in a restaurant. Everyone was very welcoming and attentive. The menu was bold and varied and the food itself certainly didn't disappoint. It was very busy there when we ate but there was no disruption to our dining experience. Very pleased to recommend this fabulous restaurant

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Return Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Another restaurant that does early bird offers, with diners able to select a good choice of dishes. The chef has a real flair and some excellent combinations. The special pudding of the fig tart was excellent, as was the venison meatballs. Sole goujons equally tasty! A thoroughly enjoyable meal! Will return.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Top steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Had a good reasonably priced meal, calamari followed by steak finished off with cheesecake all perfect. £80 for two including wine and coffee.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“our favorite local restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

this is our favorite local restaurant the food is constantly good with something to tempt all tastes the welcome is warm and friendly and service always excellent .
our biggest problem is deciiding what to choose from the menu .
when we go with friends we usually try to book as it can get busy but sometimes two of us will just arrive (as soon as they open is best) and with a lovely warm greeting are found a table
we would recommend the New Moon for couples wanting a romantic meal , groups of friends or family get togethers because it's a resaurant that can please all !

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Moon Restaurant also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to New Moon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Moon Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.