We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beechmount Country House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Beechmount Country House to your Saves list
Beechmount Country House
Sawrey, Hawkshead LA22 0JZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 23 Hawkshead B&B and Inns
Warrington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Luxury accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We have just returned from an overnight stay at Beechmount Country House. We stayed in the Esthwaite Suite, it was luxury. The suite itself has the most fantastic views from both the bedroom and sitting room. The room was extremely clean and very comfortable with all the necessary features including TV and DVD players. We were greeted on our arrival by Gary the owner and provided with coffee and cake in the garden. We had total run of the house and the opportunity to light the open fire in the lounge. Breakfast is not for the faint hearted excellent breakfast cooked to our individual liking. The hosts are very helpful and attend to your every need without being intrusive. We will certainly be visiting again the location is great and pubs are within walking distance.

Room Tip: All rooms are of the same high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
39
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I have just returned from a short stay in the Coach House (seperate self catering) which was one of the loveliest places I have stayed in. Beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and the bed was wonderful! So much so, I am considering buying a new mattress for mine!
Perfectly situated for a quiet getaway, I didn't want to leave and can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Our second visit and definitely not our last. Once again a very special place to stay. Denise and Garry the owners manage to be attentive and helpful without being intrusive. The room was clean and comfortable and the whole place feels cosy and homely.
Breakfasts were very good with a wide range of options offered. Beechmount is a place that I would recommend to anyone from couples to families - our two boys love it here especially as Garry always has a large box of Star Wars figures available to them. Mum and Dad also really liked Denise and Garry's babysitting offer on the Saturday night which gave us the chance to pop up to the village pub for some quality time together.
I cannot rate this place highly enough!

Room Tip: Esthwaite suite has a separate lounge which is useful if you are staying with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The most pleasantest stay of our holiday was when we visited Beechmount Country House. The owners were the perfect hosts. Gave us tips on the area and we even got to get a drink with Gary our host, in the Tower Bank arms one evening, it was fun talking to him and listhening to some of his stories around the bar with a pint, a tip though, book dinner in advance it is very popular the food is out of this world, Lamb dinner just falls off the bone, the stews are huge and the cheese board excellent great beers and wines, scrumptious puddings, delicious. Just like the full English breakfast lovely Denise cooked for us every morning back at Beechmount House, also served was cereal if you wanted it or yogart, served with tea of choice and toast if you wanted it, and as many eggs done to our liking as we wanted, bacon was lovely and tastey, yummy I can taste it now, which was also lovely great food and drinks. Our hosts at Beechmount offered us a lovely lounge area to relax in downstairs tea and wine offfered also, tastefully arranged and decorated, with a cosy log fire for the cold evenings, central heating was in our room also , we also had a private lounge in our own room, the Perter rabbit and Beatrix potter theam ran throughout the house which made our stay a magical experience, it was so lovely one night I stood at the window and just gazed at the stars one evening with my husband. We had a wonderful view of Elswaith lake, and Gary and Denise kept a beutiful Garden, it was a wonderful experince with lovely memories, the beds were so comfortable it was like sleeping on a bed of feathers, beutifull clean linen, and our hosts were very attentive to keeping our rooms nice for us each day on our return from our trips out, there was also wine offered if you wanted to purchase a bottle or two, and milk and water was allways offered everyday fresh, Beechmount is just a few yards down from Hill Top the home of Beatrix Potter, Hawkshead a mile or two down from there a great place for Beatrix Potter fans and lovely shops and a great shop for groceries ect. Wray Castle not too far away in need of renovation by the National trust but great for exploring its history. Grassmere, lovely tea rooms Bradleys,and great Art Studio and shops just around the corner, aso home of Wordsworth the poet, Keswick, which is good for shopping and a lovely stroll down to the lake, also a nice Indian Restarant on the High street, and Ambleside is all close by within driving distance. I would recomend the climb up Langdale Peaks a national trust walk, we had with us a book by the fell walker wainwright, lovely views take pleanty of water to drink, and a packed picnic,don t leave without visiting the Hard Knot Pass and Rinos nose, a little tricky so you need a good car to get through theese passes very steep. We took back with us many happy memories back to the USA many thanks to you Denise and Gary for making our stay very pleasant and cosy. There was lots to do and the weather held out for us, we only had one really,rainy day and that was when we left, the rest of our stay a week was great. Gary and Denise, hope you won a prize for the produce competition held in Nr. Sawrey the day we left. We would love to visit you and your place again, Richard and Ruth Whitehead USA x

Room Tip: All the rooms are very beautifull and tastefully decorated, you can not go wrong choosing any of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed for a week in the Coach House for our honeymoon, its has been tastefully designed to a high standard and has all the creature comforts that you could ask for.
Gary and Denise gave us a very warm welcome on our arrival and were very helpful during our stay.
Excellent peaceful location yet within short walking distance of 2 pubs and good restaurant ,so not too isolated, we couldn't have asked for anything more.
Well located for walks and bike rides in the hills. Gary let us store our bikes safely.
We would recommend this place to our friends and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The Coach House is detached from the main guest house
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newtownabbey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We had the lovleiest s!tay in this beautiful house . The owners were so friendly and gave us the full run of the house. Disappointed the beds were not made when we returned and we had to ask for fresh towels . But would still like to stay here again.Beautiful part of the lakes

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schofieldhawkshead, Owner at Beechmount Country House, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Really sorry about the issues illustrated. We always ask guest if they wish us to enter their rooms and to freshen up the facilities as we do for fresh towels. If we did not do this on your stay I can only apologise for any misunderstanding. We also supply decorative signs that we ask guest to place on their room door , these indicate that you wish the rooms to be refreshed. This is the first time in all our reviews that this has happened. I hope you understand this would not be normal for us to miss out on and I am sorry it happened for your stay. Many thanks for saying you would stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I can't recommend this place enough. The owners were very helpful and the location is perfect for seeing the area. It is close to an excellent pub and restaurants and wonderful walks. The other guests were surprisingly cosmopolitan. As well as Brits, they had Japanese and American visitors too.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beechmount Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechmount Country House

Address: Sawrey, Hawkshead LA22 0JZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Hawkshead
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Beechmount Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechmount Country House Hawkshead, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beechmount Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.