We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coach House Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beechmount Country House

Save Saved
You added Beechmount Country House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beechmount Country House
Sawrey, Hawkshead LA22 0JZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 22 Hawkshead B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Coach House Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed for a week in the Coach House for our honeymoon, its has been tastefully designed to a high standard and has all the creature comforts that you could ask for.
Gary and Denise gave us a very warm welcome on our arrival and were very helpful during our stay.
Excellent peaceful location yet within short walking distance of 2 pubs and good restaurant ,so not too isolated, we couldn't have asked for anything more.
Well located for walks and bike rides in the hills. Gary let us store our bikes safely.
We would recommend this place to our friends and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The Coach House is detached from the main guest house
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
39
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
newtownabbey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We had the lovleiest s!tay in this beautiful house . The owners were so friendly and gave us the full run of the house. Disappointed the beds were not made when we returned and we had to ask for fresh towels . But would still like to stay here again.Beautiful part of the lakes

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schofieldhawkshead, Owner at Beechmount Country House, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Really sorry about the issues illustrated. We always ask guest if they wish us to enter their rooms and to freshen up the facilities as we do for fresh towels. If we did not do this on your stay I can only apologise for any misunderstanding. We also supply decorative signs that we ask guest to place on their room door , these indicate that you wish the rooms to be refreshed. This is the first time in all our reviews that this has happened. I hope you understand this would not be normal for us to miss out on and I am sorry it happened for your stay. Many thanks for saying you would stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I can't recommend this place enough. The owners were very helpful and the location is perfect for seeing the area. It is close to an excellent pub and restaurants and wonderful walks. The other guests were surprisingly cosmopolitan. As well as Brits, they had Japanese and American visitors too.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We have just had a fantastic week in the Coach house cottage. It was the best cottage that we have ever stayed in with everything you could want and was extremely comfortable. We were made to feel very welcome by Gary and Denise, who were also very helpful.It's a very special place and one that we will return to in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This was our first visit to the lakes and I have to say I wasn't disappointed at all. Firstly, I would clarify that we stayed in one of the self catering cottages attached to the B&B property. The hosts Gary and Denise are genuine, friendly and extremely helpful, they couldn't have done more to make us feel comfortable. The setting is stunning - only 5 minutes walk from "Hill Top" and nestled amidst the beauty and tranquility that is the lakes. The property and all furnishings within were also amazing. In short I cannot fault this accommodation at all - it was perfect. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

A truly excellent B&B in the heart of the Lake District. The owners were very friendly and helpful, and nothing seemed too much trouble for them. We were made to feel very welcome, with tea and biscuits produced on our arrival, in the guest sitting room, complete with its own log fire. The bedroom was excellent, with its own small sitting room attached, and an en-suite with excellent shower. The bed was one of the comfiest that we have slept on, with really good quality bedding, making for a great nights sleep. The views from the bedroom windows were lovely, with a slight mist shrouding the distant hills really setting the scene. The B&B is situated a short walk from the village pub, The Tower Bank Arms, which was the perfect place to be for a delicious home cooked evening meal and some very good local ales. Our order for breakfast was taken the night before, and everything was ready for us at the requested time, all perfectly cooked and very nicely presented. All in all I can not fault this place and will definitely stay again on our next trip to the Lakes, and will certainly be recommending to friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Very easy to miss as you drive by (actually we missed it 2-3 times), but once we got our bearings, and parked across the street, we could tell this would be good! After a very warm welcome, and a chat with the owners, we walked up to the "local" for dinner. The Beechmount room was very nicely furnished, with a very comfortable bed, and a larger than expected bathroom. Tea+coffee making facilities, and some unexpected amenities, were a nice touch. We awoke to a sunny morning, and picture book views from the bedroom window. As we were the only guests at the time, we felt almost guilty at the breakfast spread that had been arranged for us (delicious as it was). We wouldn't hesitate to go back, and cannot recommend highly enough!

Room Tip: A view looking out on the back garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beechmount Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechmount Country House

Address: Sawrey, Hawkshead LA22 0JZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Hawkshead
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Beechmount Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechmount Country House Hawkshead, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beechmount Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.