We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hill Top House, Beatrix Potter's Farmhouse

Hill Top House, Beatrix Potter's Farmhouse
Sawrey, Hawkshead, Ambleside LA22 0LF, England
015394 36269
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Hill Top House, Beatrix Potter's Farmhouse like an insider
Top Rated
$65*
and up
Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour
Ranked #2 of 9 things to do in Hawkshead
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in England's historic Lake District, this working farm owned by Beatrix Potter was the setting for her delightful and popular series of animal tales.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Gorgeous little cottage that belonged to Beatrix Potter. It was nice that they limited people inside so it wasn't too crowded. We had to get a timed ticket, go away for an hour or so and then come back, it was that busy. It was quite hard to park but worth it. The guides were very well informed and the house restored to just as it would have been in Beatrix's time. A real gem worth the visit if you are in the Lakes (especially if its a rainy day).

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    200
    77
    21
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Hill Top!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Absolutely amazing. What a great piece of English heritage here. A must for everyone. Slightly disappointed that I was asked not to use my camera, but respected the adviser. There was opportunity to buy postcards in the shop of scenes in the house.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“NT could do so much more with Hill Top”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

As you would expect with an NT property Hill Top is presented in a quality way. Beautiful setting, gardens & house. However, it attracts loads of visitors and could be so much more. Feels like the place is 'resting on its laurels'. As you have to wait quite a while on occasion to get in via the timed entry system I feel there could be something else for visitors rather than just to shop & tea room. I knew the story of BP quite well, having a daughter fascinated with it and having visited the BP experience in Windermere before (and watched the film) so I understood the context of the house, but if I didn't I think what's on offer might be a bit boring. How about making use of an outbuilding to build a display to explain her story getting to Hill Top and maybe a film about her?

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Love the garden and it was fantastic to see the books come to life.
Avoid the expensive hotel next door as the tea and cake was poor, best walk to the cafe down the lane opposite.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
173 attraction reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“Rat Holes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Went to Hilltop Tuesday 27th August.We took the girls with us and as it was very busy we had to wait 30mins before we could enter the house,no problem their was a trail for them to do in the Beatrix Potter garden.On entering the house we were met by Luke,this fantastic enthusiastic young man who gave them each a book on The Tale of Samuel Whiskers to borrow.He showed them how to find the real rat holes within the house and also explained quite alot of things all to do with the tale of Samuel Whiskers.Every National trust property should have a guy like Luke.He made the whole experience come alive.It doesnt take long to go around this fantastic house.I,Myself love anything to do with Beatrix Potter and have been here many times,but never get tired of it.A perfect gem.We had taken the girls here and were later meeting Mummy and Daddy at Grange,as a surprise later in the day.However the girls had been told they could sit in the windows.The youngest did so and I asked her what she could see?"oh Granny",she said" I can see Mummy".And she could they had followed us up to the Lakes,the surprise was now on us.What a lovely day.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hill Top House, Beatrix Potter's Farmhouse also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Hill Top House, Beatrix Potter's Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hill Top House, Beatrix Potter's Farmhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.