We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please don't go!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Inn

Save Saved
You added Sun Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sun Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Main Street, Hawkshead LA22 0NT , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 22 Hawkshead B&B and Inns
Chester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Please don't go!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2007

We have just returned from a very short stay at The Sun Inn. When I say short, we were meant to stay for 2 nights but left after just 1 night!
The Sun Inn is obviously a very old coaching inn with low ceilings, wooden beams and sloping floorboards.
The door to the accommodation was blocked by 2 large holdalls of dirty laundry...not a great sight when you first enter somewhere!
We were shown to our room and our initial impression was that it was small but quaint with a tiny window and limited lighting.
However, it did not take long to discover that the limited lighting is probably to hide the lack of basic cleanliness.
The carpet was covered in what looked like dog hairs; the bedside drawers were coated in a layer of dust; the shower cubicle had grime and mould around the base; hairs were everywhere and we were given a toilet roll with about 3 sheets left on it!
I have to say that I would not normally have even stayed for 1 night in such a place but we were so tired after travelling that we shut out the obviious to get some much needed rest.
The next morning, we were looking forward to breakfast...after all, the Sun Inn does claim to have 4 Diamonds for it's food!
We both asked for the full English breakfast and were a bit puzzled why the other couples at breakfast did not seem to be eating. All became clear when our plates arrived....heart attack heaven on a plate! Everything other than the beans had been thrown in a deep-fat fryer and shrivelled to un-recognisable lumps of fat! The beans were not even mildly warm and the toast was cut so thick and not even half-toasted that it broke off when trying ot pull it from the toast rack!
We did not touch a morsel of food on our plates and astonishingly, the Hungarian Waiter (cum-bartender-cum cleaner-cum-general whatever), did not even ask what was wrong when he took away the plates.
After explaining how we felt about everything, he just smiled and nodded (clearley understanding only half of what we had said) and after speaking to his manager on the phone, refunded all of our money.
Overall, there are really too many other places to check-out in the Lake District to bother with the Sun Inn.

  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    76
    23
    18
    22
See reviews for
42
134
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paisley
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2007

Just back from a night at the Sun Inn,Hawkshead with my partner and we loved it! Arrived to a lovely clean room filled with lots of nice clean towels and complimentary toiletries,2bottles of cold still water & tea making facilities. We were in the attic room which does have the slopping roof to one side but it just added to the whole feel of the place,the toilet was lovely & clean with a fantastic shower! It was a great base as my partner and i travelled by bus to Ambleside to spend the day there and we got a taxi back to the hotel to play a few rounds of pool on the hotel pool table.Breakfast was lovely the following day and the service was efficient,nothing too much trouble.Would recommend this hotel to friends and will be going back in the future.Fantastic value for the Lake District.(Tuesday 5th June)

  • Liked — The traditional building
  • Disliked — View from dining room
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2007

on returning home after staying at the sunn inn hawkshead for the new year are totally shocked to say the least by the reality of this hotel it was in real need or refurbishment and the 4 poster room we booked was dingy and dirty noughing like the pictures shown on there new web site, (please beware) what you see on the web site is noughing like what you get when you get there there food is ok very average noughing like the pictures shown, these are very misleading,so much so that the one of the same pictures is shown on there sister web site the red lion also in the same village we found the pictures and web site to be very misleading.
However Hawkshead was a fabulous location and we will be going back there, we will call back in at the sun inn to say hello as the staff were very friendly inbetween appologising for our flooded toilet and leaking shower room, we would be interested to read any other opinions to see what every one else thought, and any recommendations for a hotel in this lovelly village!

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2006

"Had a lovely stay at this friendly pub/hotel. The staff are helpful, and the special offer whilst the kitchen is being refurbished made it the best value stay I've had in the Lakes for ages. Will definitely return"

Stayed October 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockton on tees
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2006

stayed here on 7th sept 2006, booked four poster so thought would be nice? wrong! had'nt been dusted in months! carpet filthy, shower holder broken, no soap! plus no hot food! had to go to red lion which was very nice! then we where kept awakw till 3am in morn by loud music played from the bar! do NOT stay here!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Tips/Secrets — don't go
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Inn

Address: Main Street, Hawkshead LA22 0NT , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Hawkshead
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Inn 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Sun Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Hotel Hawkshead
Sun Inn Hawkshead, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.