We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Pub Grub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sun Inn to your Saves list
Sun Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Main Street | Hawkshead, Hawkshead LA220NT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 23 Hawkshead B&B and Inns
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Very Good Pub Grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Our hiking group ate dinner in the bar. Between us we chose the beefburger with chorizo & melted cheese, Westmoreland pie and fish & chips, each priced around £10. All the meals were tasty and of excellent quality, served up promptly by attentive staff. The pub also has a decent selection of real ales. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    83
    28
    18
    21
See reviews for
44
141
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We loved this hotel. We stayed in the Family Room which was spacious enough for our family of four. The breakfast was great and staff couldn't have been more helpful. We also had dinner at the hotel both nights we were there because it was very good and great value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this 8 bedroomed 17 Century Inn for 2 nights over Easter.
Located in the quaint village of Hawkshead, this is an excellent base for exploring the Lake District.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Our room was small but tastefully decorated and comfortable with the original stonework exposed in places.
The menu has lots of choices with some local dishes and the food is excellent.
Food is served either in the dining room or if you prefer, the bar area.
The bar has local ales, a log fire and a separate games room.
Parking is free on the car park opposite by a pass provided by the Inn.
A lovely experience and good value for money.

Room Tip: There is no lift and if you do not like stairs ask for a room on the first level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Great little pub, great beer. Busy at weekends with campers/walkers. Usually always a friendly welcome, plus they allow dogs! Great!
The Sun is the best pub in Pooley Bridge - never go to the Crown, down the road, its absolute rubbish!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Me and my partner have just come back from a two day break at hawkshead in the lakedistrict.
We booked this place on the off chance and so glad we did.the rooms are brillant and the food and the people who work there are so helpfull and go that extra mile to help you.
If you ever think about going anywhere in lakedistrict it maybe a bit out of the beaten track but trust me book this place you will not be dissapointed i promise,Thankyou for a great 2 days sun inn and hope to be back soon (if the weather gets better)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed for a couple of days with friends in February, the staff were very helpful and friendly even gave us an extra heater because it was still cold in our room. The food was excellent and we were made to feel very welcome. So much so that we have booked again to stay in May - looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food great atmosphere friendly staff highly recommend the ho sandwiches at lunch time and fish and chips at dinner great choice of ales did nt stay here but wish I had done will deffinatley stay here next time

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Inn

Address: Main Street | Hawkshead, Hawkshead LA220NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Hawkshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the charming un-spoilt village of Hawkshead, our lovely 17th Century Inn has everything to offer those looking for an ideal break or holiday away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. The Sun Inn will instantly charm you. It has a wealth of original features including open fires, historical wood paneling, exposed stone walls, and oak beams, and we pride ourselves on making all our guests feel at home. You will be warmly welcomed and our aim is to make your stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Sun Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Hotel Hawkshead
Sun Inn Hawkshead, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.