We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly good pub food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Lion Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawkshead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Red Lion Inn
Save
You added The Red Lion Inn to your Saves list
Main Street | Hawkshead, Hawkshead, Ambleside LA22 0NS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 24 Hawkshead B&B and Inns
Newcastle upon Tyne
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Friendly good pub food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Lovely pub welcoming and good food for a pub. Quite a relaxed place . They are very dog friendly......with treats and a big fuss made of your dog, but still manage to run a good pub for everyone, despite muddy paws and shoes it was well kept. Would certainly come back when we are next in the lakes

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    72
    20
    15
    8
See reviews for
31
104
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We visited here as it was dog friendly. As we watched some food been brought out me and my partner thought we would try it out also as it did look good. I got lamb tagine and the partner got the burger. As soon as I seen the burger I looked at the chips and had to pinch one. As soon as I tasted the chip I had to go get another portion of them as they reminded me of the way grandad used to make them. Proper chips alright.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

After a couple of years since our last visit I am very pleased to say nothing has changed..... and that is a good thing.

Paul and Lyn make you feel like you are staying with family and the breakfast has not diminished! (The full Lakeland is something to be attempted by only the hungry)

The food in the Bar was up to its usual high standards and again in epic portions.

We love staying here, the location is perfect for walking and will be back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEWPORT WALES
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

what a lovely 3 day break, landlord and landlady so friendly and welcoming they make no secret that parts of the inn are awaiting updating, however awaiting updating is no problem as the rooms are cosy the inn is welcoming and the breakfasts are huge and well cooked negating the need for lunch !! the real ale is fabulous the staff are handpicked for friendliness (you even get a weather forecast thrown in!). for a lake district venue in an historic quaint village rates are very reasonable. Thank you Lyn, Paul, Matt and mum and daughter barmaid team you made our stay fab!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This was our 3rd stay at the red lion,13 of us stayed for 3 nights and once again we had a brilliant time.We were well looked after by Paul and Lynne and the rst of the staff.Food was excellent and huge in portions.We even had some great entertainment on the Saturday night with a good old singalong.Cant wait to go back next year

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We went in as they allowed dogs. (We have 1 and a half.) I had their pie of the day which was chicken, ham and mushroom in shortcrust pastry. It was a massive portion and very good pub food. We had a cafetiere of coffee which was nice if a bit strong. They were lovely people and even brought the dogs some biscuits! I would go back.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We entered the red lion as they allowed dogs.

We had the starter of fish cake £4.95 for one fish cake, soup 3.95, lamb tagine 10.95 and fish and chips 1.95

The Fish cake was literally that one fish cake on a salad bedding slightly excessive for the price 2 would have been nice at that price

The vegetable soup was horrid really needed lots of seasoning

The lamb tagine wasn't served in a traditional dish and was just in a small pot. The dish was far to rich in tomatoes and left an aftertaste.

The Fish and chips had copious amounts of bones something you really don't expect. The Fish was dry and the chips were more like jacket potatoes really disappointed.

With 2 beers the bill was 37 quid, as reception in the area was poor I asked for the wifi only to be told it's for residents only? And that it wasn't actually wife which was nonsense as the wife was clearly in the building and after spending 47 quid I'd expect they get with the times and let paying customers use it too.

Massively disappointed

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Inn

Address: Main Street | Hawkshead, Hawkshead, Ambleside LA22 0NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Hawkshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Inn is a Traditional 15th century Lakeland Inn (the oldest pub in Hawkshead), situated in the centre of the beautiful village of Hawkshead in the heart of the English Lake District.Paul, Lynn and Jake Larkin will endevour to provide you with a warm & friendly welcome to The Red Lion, where you will find comfortable & clean accommodation, traditional home cooked food, a wide range of wines & spirits and superbly kept cask ales from around the area.Each of our eight en~suite guest rooms have their own distinct character & charm. All retain many of the original features with sloping ceilings, uneven floors & oak beams. Why not while away the hours in a cheerful, relaxed & informal atmosphere with friends old & new. Be warned, a sense of humour is a must! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Lion Ambleside
Hawkshead Red Lion
The Red Lion Inn Hawkshead, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Lion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.