We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The friendliest pub in the village!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Lion Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawkshead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Red Lion Inn
Save
You added The Red Lion Inn to your Saves list
Main Street | Hawkshead, Hawkshead LA22 0NS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 23 Hawkshead B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“The friendliest pub in the village!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Hawkshead for a week over new year. This was the first pub we went too and by the end of the week we wouldn't go anywhere else. It was warm friendly and very personable and accommodating. Showed premiership games too and the food was generally good. We did not experience any of the wait times mentioned on other reviews nor did we venture into the dining room. If your looking for an easy going friendly pub in Hawkshead then this is the one! Thanks for a great week!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    57
    18
    15
    10
See reviews for
27
86
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

I have never written a review before but felt the urge to comment on what a welcoming and friendly inn The Red Lion is. If you are looking for modern and contemporary accommodation this inn is not for you. What it does offer though is character, a lovely family run atmosphere, lovely home cooked food, good beer, cosy atmosphere with an open log fire in the winter, clean and cosy but basic accommodation which is dog friendly and a fantastic location. Hawkshead is a wonderful little place with other pubs in stumbling distance and various shops and great walks. Highly recommended and we have stayed there twice now and will definitely be going back. Thanks to the Larkin family that run The Red Lion for a lovely stay over the 2012/13 New Year break.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Ugh, this was a catastrophe.

If there's one thing I hate, it's pre-booking a table then being ushered into a 'dining room' that's about as far from the feel of the main pub as possible.

So, we were taken through from the bar, down some steps into an area full of all the other 'unfortunates' who obviously didn't get here in time to have the nice tables in the proper pub. We were shown to the sort of table you would have put on the skip years ago but couldn't be bothered and thought it would probably do in the shed or somewhere as a kind of worktop area. In amongst all the other disillusioned diners were old menu blackboards, a large fridge, various bits-and-bobs that get stored down here out of the way of the authentic pub area upstairs.

Anyway, the waitress seemed pleasant (on the surface) so we ordered our food and carried on with our drinks trying to imagine what it must be like to be in a proper pub etc. Nearly an hour later, the food arrived. Yes it was busy but it's not a massive pub, nor one that has complicated menus to deal with. Most people we observed had a similar wait and that kind of service, without prior warning is totally unacceptable. It was only basic fish and chips type stuff - how can that take an hour? My food was ok but the chips were bland and the fish my son had arrived late and was burnt (believe it or not)! For us, good food is not about how much you get on your plate or necessarily, how much you're paying for it.

Needless to say, we settled-up and left pretty sharpish. Whilst I was waiting at the bar to pay, I overheard the waitress complaining about something and looking generally miserable - says it all really.

Now, read my review of The Queens Head which is approx 50 yards away and is in direct competion with this shambles.

Room Tip: If you really must eat here, insist on having a table in the actual pub - not their backroom storage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We may have only needed a drink, comfort stop, and a chat with others, but we are so very pleased that we entered the Red Lion. A warming fire, pleasant and friendly bar staff, and parking spaces make it a place to which we will return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We dined here on a recent trip to Hawkshead. The food really was good, large portions and the cheapest we've found in the village. Although we've been here many times for a drink it was the first time we'd eaten here but it certainly won't be the last. Great food and great value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We only popped in for dinner as we were staying nearby and wanted a real pub atmosphere for our last night in Cumbria.The lamb stew and homemade lasagne were delicious, the staff friendly and courteous and we left thinking that we wanted to come back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

The Red Lion is the oldest pub in Hawkshead, its quite small but so are the other pubs in the village.
We never tried the food apart from the breakfast which was ok.
Has two small outside seating areas for when it doesn't rain, its actually located at the northern end of Hawkshead hidden from the main square by a pedestrian walkway.
The staff were really welcoming and friendly.
But the room although was ok the bed was terrible, the mattress was like sleeping on concrete which I woke several times in the night with back ache, if we had stopped for any longer than just one night we would have asked for another room, but apart from that our brief stay was good.
We stopped in room 2.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Inn

Address: Main Street | Hawkshead, Hawkshead LA22 0NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Hawkshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Inn is a Traditional 15th century Lakeland Inn (the oldest pub in Hawkshead), situated in the centre of the beautiful village of Hawkshead in the heart of the English Lake District.Paul, Lynn and Jake Larkin will endevour to provide you with a warm & friendly welcome to The Red Lion, where you will find comfortable & clean accommodation, traditional home cooked food, a wide range of wines & spirits and superbly kept cask ales from around the area.Each of our eight en~suite guest rooms have their own distinct character & charm. All retain many of the original features with sloping ceilings, uneven floors & oak beams. Why not while away the hours in a cheerful, relaxed & informal atmosphere with friends old & new. Be warned, a sense of humour is a must! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Lion Ambleside
Hawkshead Red Lion
The Red Lion Inn Hawkshead, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Lion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.