We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmospheric Pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Queen's Head Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Queen's Head Hotel to your Saves list
Queen's Head Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main St., Hawkshead LA22 0NS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hawkshead
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Atmospheric Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Had two night here in Feb 2014 the rooms are small but comfortable, bathroom is clean and has a great shower! The food is good and you can pay £8-£24 for a main meal. A great wine list and some good real ales on hand pull. Breakfast was fine, The staff are mostly friendly and helpful. Parking is free and 100m walk from the hotel/pub. Enjoy your stay

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    72
    20
    13
    5
See reviews for
36
141
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We didn't stay but a group of 8 of us went for a meal. Fish and chips for 3 of us at £12.50 each was tired, tasteless and fat-soggy fish, Hand cut chips brown and soggy. Caesar salad sides were a few lettuce leaves with a little anchovy in the bottom. Burgers were strangely and unpleasantly spiced. At the high prices we'd expected better. I'm surprised since the food reputation is supposed to be good. On the plus side the mutton and pizza were enjoyed. Maybe it was the regular chef's day off. We agreed we wouldn't go again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We only booked for one night, but ended up staying for two.

Hawkshead is probably my favourite place in the lakes - unspoilt by commercialism, it's a lovely village. Previously we'd always stayed in self catering, but wishing to meet up with friends at relatively short notice we booked into the Queens for a night. So good was the service, the food and of course the drink that we ended up staying for 2 nights.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Have just returned from an overnight stay at the queens head in Hawkeshead.Booked classic lake escape stayed in trout cotttage with our dog amazing value for money food amazing accomodation perfect staff work hard and give brilliant service. Thank you can't wait to return.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

One of the best pub meals I've ever had, fish and chips just sublime. Lovely atmosphere, extremely welcoming even with a young child dining in the evening. Beer excellent. What more could you want. Could'nt rate it highly enough.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights for a friend's birthday surprise. The first rate service began with the initial 'phone call we made to book the rooms and never faltered. On arrival, the receptionist gave us a warm, friendly welcome and showed us the rooms which were spotless, pretty and very comfortable. We had 2 delicious meals in the restaurant. The menu had a varied choice and the service was excellent. The staff and the food matched any of the 5 star hotels we have stayed in. We had a wonderful stay and wanted to come for New Year but they were full.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

On a rainy day in Hawkshead we were pleased to find this welcoming pub. There is a separate dining room though we chose to eat in the bar.

Nice home made burgers with excellent trimmings, and decent choices for the kids.

Excellent local ales.

Being Hawkshead it wasn't the cheapest meal of our week but it was very good and enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Queen's Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Head Hotel

Address: Main St., Hawkshead LA22 0NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Hawkshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hawkshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Queen's Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the early 17th Century The Queen's Head Inn has been welcoming weary travellers and visitors to the village of Hawkshead. Some things don't change, whether you want to drink, dine or unwind, you will find The Queen's Head the perfect base to explore the beautiful South Lakes of Cumbria and beyond. We have thirteen newly refurbished comfortable guest rooms all with private bathrooms and all individually styled and furnished. Free Wi-Fi is available for all our guests. Our celebrated restaurant, awarded an AA Four Star for culinary excellence, has a menu to suit all tastes. Each dish is devised and perfected by our head chef and is designed to utilise local ingredients from local suppliers. Whether it's a light lunch or an evening meal, The Queen's Head offers a warm welcome and good food to those in search of a relaxed and traditionally English environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Queen's Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Head Windermere
Hotel Queens Head
Queen's Head Hotel Hawkshead, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queen's Head Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.