We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and generous with the heating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Queen's Head Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Queen's Head Hotel to your Saves list
Queen's Head Hotel
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Main St., Hawkshead, Ambleside LA22 0NS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 24 Hawkshead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Comfortable and generous with the heating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed two nights and we so pleased that we chose the Queens Head for our stay. I was optimistic as I had written to the Queens Head and a very fancy hotel in Windermere to ask about public transport. Kelly from the Queens Head replied promptly and informatively; from the other hotel there was a generic response claiming that they would get back to me - they didn't. The reception certainly came up to my expectations, with assistance with bus time tables, clear information about the room and heating and arrangements for breakfast. The room was comfortable, clean and fairly large. In addition, there was an open area inside the door in which the wardrobe (a good size with plenty of hangers) and table with tea, coffee and cups were located. There was plenty of space for our suitcases to be stored in this area also. We ate at the Queens Head each night, and of course, enjoyed the breakfast. The cooked breakfast was well presented and cooked to order: very good indeed. A small disappointment was that some items from the cold menu were missing - no muesli, nuts or dried fruit. However, when I asked about the fresh fruit it was brought promptly and possibly if I'd wanted the other items they would also have been available. Possibly there could be more attention to detail with this and also with 'topping up' the tea and biscuits in the rooms. On the other hand, to have such abundant heating in the bathroom, entry and bedroom is such a bonus that any small issues are worth only mentioning. I'd certainly recommend this hotel to anyone for a great stay. In conclusion, we enjoyed the evening meals and noticed that the place was packed on the Saturday night with people constantly coming in.

Room Tip: We were at the back of the hotel and heard no noise from the bar. However I think that with the heav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    81
    20
    14
    5
See reviews for
38
158
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weston super Mare
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

As a party of 4 we have been coming to the Queens Head on the first night of our October holiday for over 15 years so have seen some changes to the menu and service over the years.
We weren't able to come to the Lakes last year and were looking forward to resuming our much enjoyed first night.
Sadly this year the two plates of slow cooked shoulder of Lakeland lamb, ordered as a main course, was so unpalatable they were sent back. This was not a recognisable "slow cooked local lamb shoulder" with delicious meat falling off the bone. Instead a square of reformed meat with a crusted, dried top was presented. The consistency in the mouth tasted as though it had been previously chewed and then re-formed and re-assembled.
Of the other two main courses ordered, the single fillet of back Bream was a modest portion and very over-cooked. The tasting of Cumbrian pork three ways was fine.
The starters were a mix of the very ordinary ie. chicken liver pate and the delightful ie.. Scotch egg with black pudding.
The desserts at £6.50 were similarly a mix of OK and pretty good but nothing really blew us away.
With two diners only having had a starter and a dessert after 6 hours travelling this was a disappointing start to our annual Lakes holiday when normally it is a highlight of our trip.

We were not staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We spent two nights at the Queen's Head as part of an extended holiday in Scotland and the lakes. Our room was excellent, clearly just refurbished with good quality contemporary furniture and superb bathroom. We ate in the restaurant on both nights. Excellent food with some really great service. We looked around all the other local pubs which all had appeal but this is without doubt the best.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Barbados
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The Queen's Head Hotel was just fabulous!!!! So much value plus plus plus!!! Were stayed 3 nights and we had a large room with a lovely queen size 4 poster bed. Everything was fresh and clean. From the room to the great pub/restaurant downstairs we were more than satisfied. Within the Lake District there are many places that we could have eaten at but chose to eat all three dinners in their restaurant, the food was amazing and my husband had the lamb shank 2 of those nights and he said it was the best he'd ever had. Breakfast was included (which was fabulous by the way) and it included hot and cold food with a bottle of prosecco if we were so inclined. A big thumbs up from this lodger!!!!
One thing I am positive on is that we will be back next year when we visit the UK.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Recently stayed in Hawkhead and loved popping in to the Queen's Head pub for a couple of drinks on an evening, which was just down the lane from our cottage. The real ales were great and the wine selection second to none. It wasn't the cheapest pub in the village but definitely worth frequenting! We ate here twice and the food was fabulous! We had fish and chips the first time whilst sat in the bar area and the portions were huge and really nicely cooked. We then booked in the restaurant for our last night where it was equally as nice, maybe a bit more special as the restaurant is very relaxing and well laid out. We had the black pudding scotch egg and mussels to start and pheasant and a pizza for the mains, all of which we couldn't fault! Also a very dog friendly pub when going in for a drink. We will definitely return when back in the area and would recommend! Best to book the restaurant, as it gets booked in advance.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Beautiful "little" pub and Inn....in a wonderful village. Very nicely decorated and comfortable room. Wonderful meal in the restaurant and the perfect english breakfast. Very nice staff. Warm welcome. We will definitely be back! And we'll bring our friends along!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Experienced the flavour of the Hawkshead brewery here. I can heartily recommend all the products from this brewery :)Great place to stop for refreshment (for you and your dog) while exploring the fantastic small village of Hawkshead.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Queen's Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Head Hotel

Address: Main St., Hawkshead, Ambleside LA22 0NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Hawkshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Queen's Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the early 17th Century The Queen's Head Inn has been welcoming weary travellers and visitors to the village of Hawkshead. Some things don't change, whether you want to drink, dine or unwind, you will find The Queen's Head the perfect base to explore the beautiful South Lakes of Cumbria and beyond. We have thirteen newly refurbished comfortable guest rooms all with private bathrooms and all individually styled and furnished. Free Wi-Fi is available for all our guests. Our celebrated restaurant, awarded an AA Four Star for culinary excellence, has a menu to suit all tastes. Each dish is devised and perfected by our head chef and is designed to utilise local ingredients from local suppliers. Whether it's a light lunch or an evening meal, The Queen's Head offers a warm welcome and good food to those in search of a relaxed and traditionally English environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Queen's Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Head Windermere
Hotel Queens Head
Queen's Head Hotel Hawkshead, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queen's Head Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.