We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great b & b for visit to the Lake District” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howe Farm Bed & Breakfast

Howe Farm Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawkshead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Howe Farm Bed & Breakfast
Hawkshead LA22 OQB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 22 Hawkshead B&B and Inns
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
“Great b & b for visit to the Lake District”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The setting is a beautiful, rural farm in the picturesque Lake Country. Wonderful location for visitors to Beatrix Potter sites-Hilltop and the Beatrix Potter Gallery,or hikers. Lisa is a talented cook and host. We had the English breakfast which could keep us fed for a few days! It was delicious and beautifully served on lovely dishes. We arrived cold and enjoyed the cozy downstairs lounge and fireplace, with games, and lots to read.
We had car trouble and she very kindly helped us out with finding a garage to repair the car.
It is a perfect spot for visiting Hawkshead, Lake Windermere and other Lake District spots

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Have been to Howe Farm several times, and thought it deserved praise on Tripadvisor.
It is very close to the village of Hawkshead which you can walk to easily.
Lisa and the family are very welcoming, they make you feel like a family friend by the end of your stay.
The rooms, breakfast, and location are second to none.
Ideally, if you go as a small group and book both of the bedrooms then you will have the lounge to yourself of an evening, so no worries about making polite chit chat to other guests.
Like others on here, I can not rate Howe Farm highly enough, and am looking forward to another visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Me and my partner along with our 3 year old enjoyed our first (but not last) visit to Howe farm. Enjoying the Esthwaite room, Mmmm breakfasts and beautiful views. Lisa the owner talks passionately about the farming life which is only right as she and her family run a working farm, and perhaps the welcome that guests receive stems from this rural heritage. She is the perfect host, showing the same passion for the B&B with lots of home made bread, jam and cake. We will hopefully see her and husband Mike again for lambing in April 2013 when Elliott can get up close to the action.
It's within easy reach of Hawkshead and Grizedale and the quieter side of the lakes. If only the weather would have cooperated more!
We have tried many B&B's in the lakes and Howe farm is perfect for our current requirement of a family room (with tolerance of an excited youngster and cows that walk past the window during breakfast).
Can't praise the place highly enough.

Room Tip: Only stayed in the Esthwaite room which overlooks valley and lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

If you're not driving it may be confusing to find the cottage as the roads are narrow and it's a little unnerving walking along as there are no sidewalks. But, once you find the path behind the road, it's simply beautiful.

The farm is so lovely, the rooms peaceful and clean. The 3 of us stayed in the Ethswaite room, which had a magnificent view of lambs on a field and Esthwaite lake. The room was very affordable for us. The farm is a close (5-10 minutes) walk to Hawkshead village whee you MUST eat at the Queen's head.

Lisa Woodhouse is a warm and friendly host, who made us feel welcome and at home. Each night we got into our jammies and sat in the family room, drank some wine and toasted our feet by the fire.

In the mornings we received a large helping of our choosing (full english breakfast, porridge or fresh croissants etc.) along with plenty of yogurt, cereal and juice.

We've recommended this to all our friends and hope that one day we'll be able to come back and stay again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We arranged a weekend away with some friends and we found this fantastic farm while seaching the internet and what a 'Fantastic Find'!!! We stayed B & B and had a evening meal on our first night and how we wished we had booked for the second night too as the food is absolutely out of this world and Lisa is a fantastic cook aswell as a fab host, along with her lovely husband Mike! Our bedrooms were spotless as were the bathrooms - you run across the landing in a dressing gown supplied to your own bathroom - lovely!!! We walked to Hawkshead across the fields and it only took us around 10 mins, We took our own booze and placed the beer in the cooler in the Dining Room. We had dinner served and then relaxed in our own lounge. We are looking forward to our next stay at Howe Farm - can't wait!!!!

Room Tip: Both rooms have fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

I booked a night last week for myself and my wife. It was so nice we stayed a second night! The rooms are spotlessly clean and so comfortable. Lisa is a fantastic host and made the best English breakfast I've ever had. I can't recommend this place enough!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We spent one night at Howe Farm B&B and highly recommend it. The owners were welcoming, warm and very helpful with useful information on the Lake District. Our room was very nicely decorated and we had our own bathroom also nicely decorated. There was a fire in the sitting-room so it was nice to sit there and relax. Breakfast was very good. This was our first time in the Lake District, and it was so pleasant to come to a warm and welcoming B&B at the end of the day. It helped make our trip very special.

Tim and Daniela (from Brighton)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howe Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howe Farm Bed & Breakfast

Address: Hawkshead LA22 OQB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Hawkshead
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkshead
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howe Farm offers B & B accommodation as well as a self catering cottage adjacent to the farmhouse. We've just had a magical 2 weeks there and would like to write a review! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Howe Farm Bed & Breakfast Hawkshead, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howe Farm Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Howe Farm Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list