We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry to leave at end of visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterside House

Waterside House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawkshead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waterside House
Save
You added Waterside House to your Saves list
Hannakin, Hawkshead LA22 OPZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 23 Hawkshead B&B and Inns
Kilwinning, Scotland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Sorry to leave at end of visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

What a super and lucky find!!
Stayed at Waterside House for the 1st time (won't be the last) with my wife and almost 4 year old granddaughter, Sarah during October mid-term. It was everything we could hope for.

Vanessa is the perfect hostess. When I booked I told Vanessa, Sarah was going to have a birthday at the end of our visit and there was a birthday gift awaiting her and the breakfast room had birthday banners round the wall. Excellent touch and Sarah was really chuffed.

Our accommodation was "The Barn" - which has a well appointed lounge and upstairs bathroom/toilet and very large double bedroom. For Sarah, there was a zed-bed with a Tinkerbell duvet (again, lovely touch). The layout gave my wife and I freedom to watch TV after Sarah had gone to bed and we could make use of the wine glasses / tea making facilities provided. As the nights were getting colder we appreciated the excellent central heating system which gave us the warmth and ample hot water required.

Breakfast was well cooked and as much as you wanted - you won't go away hungry.

Short walk into Hawkshead saved on high cost of car parking and if you're guests of Waterside you can get 10% discount on meals at King's Arms in village (car park free after 6:00pm).

Vanessa is full of life and makes you more than welcome with details of how to get about the area and other useful tips.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yarm, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I have stayed at this B&B many times over the years. Once ran by Sharon but recently taken over by Vanessa and what a grand job she does. She can't do enough for you.

Rooms are spotless and location is beautiful next to Esthwaite water. 10min walk from the village of Hawkshead.

Will contine to return again and again. Check it out!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This B&B is brilliant. We had the "barn" which is a self contained "one bed house", spacious lounge downstairs with a comfy sofa bed and chairs, bathroom and large bedroom upstairs. A 2min walk from the garden brought us to the edge of the lake which was very tranquil.
Vanessa is a full of life, bubbly lady who is so helpful, friendly and welcoming.
We also booked another room for my Mum, that too was very spacious..
Would highly recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Get the "barn" if it is available, short of a kitchen, it is a one bed house, very novel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mytholmroyd, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Travelled with nursepenelope and other members of our family - booked all 3 rooms to attend a family wedding nearby. Vanessa has been the most helpful B&B owner I've ever met. In the run up to the wedding I rang her a few times (having to change the booking and ask her about how many people she could accomodate) and she was never phased. We eventually arrived on Friday and had the most wonderful stay. Lovely setting, peaceful, picturesque and stunning accomodation. Nothing was too much trouble. Toys for children (including outdoor play area) and visits from other family members on the day of the wedding. She provided excellent breakfast (the one I managed to eat)! and even ran to orange juice for a 'bucks fizz' before we left for the church. She even knew how to deal with hangovers and extended the use of 2 of the rooms to allow time to recover - for this I was extremely grateful! Thankyou for a lovely stay. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: All three were of equal quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We arrived at Waterside house on Friday and were very pleased to find it so easily. Clearly signposted, a private but well maintained drive down to the B&B and plenty of room to turn the car around and park. Vanessa (our host) was there to welcome us and all of our rooms were ready. Every room is immaculately presented. Lots of little finishing touches, good quality bedding and plenty of towels. Vanessa was so helpful during our stay, giving directions, phoning around to check out parking at a church for the wedding we were attending and being prepared to make a toasted sandwich for somebody who hadn't been able to make it to breakfast. Some other family members who had been staying at another B&B down the road (a less accommodating host) saw how lovely our rooms and host were and booked into Waterside for an extra night. Well worth a visit!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

stayed here with a last minute booking and we were lucky. great room, peaceful location just off the road and a interested, helpful lady owner.The land runs down to the lake, there are games for the kids and space to play, a BBQ you can borrow, as well as outdoor furniture. Our schedule didnt allow for an extended stay but we will return when we have more time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My extended family and I booked all three rooms in this fantastic B and B and had a really lovely stay. The rooms are absolutely spotless and the breakfasts were better than some five star hotels we have stayed at.
Vanessa our host was so warm and could not have done more.My little girl loved it as Vanessa's daughters shared their toys,inside and outside!
In short, it was a perfect stay and we will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterside House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside House

Address: Hannakin, Hawkshead LA22 OPZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Hawkshead
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkshead
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Waterside House Hawkshead, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterside House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.