We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heidi's Grasmere Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Heidi's Grasmere Lodge to your Saves list
Heidi's Grasmere Lodge
Red Lion Square, Grasmere LA22 9SP, England (Formerly The Harwood Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 20 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bristol
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Luxurious comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I chose this because of the tripadvisor reviews and was not disappointed. A lovely warm welcome by Heidi herself. My room was 5 so cheaper due to the low beams, i did knock my head a few times when up in the dark. TV in the bath lived up to the reviews, the unexpected colourfuland big towels were great helped by an efficient big heated towel rail. Added touches was a bottle of water in the room, coffee and tea making, free sat tv.

Happy with the removal of shoes as they do get very muddy walking, and paying up front made check out non-existent. Breakfast was plentiful.

If I was being really picky I would say that the poor english of one of the staff felt like a sell out - however this seems to be the same in all of the lakes nowadays. Otherwise service was fantastic. I would definetly come back and recommend this to anyone, the parking shouldn't be overlooked as a fantastic benefit.

Room Tip: go for a lower floor if you can't do stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    58
    17
    3
    4
See reviews for
13
295
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had a long weekend stay at Heidis and will definatley be staying there again, could not fault a thing staff were great, the breakfast fantastic the room was large with well laid out bathroom Bath (TV set in wall) with separate shower underfloor heating all very clean, bedroom had very large comfortable bed all bedding was quality & a pod coffee maker which made a cracking cup of coffee the whole stay in stay in this fantastic Hotel made me & my wife want to go back it seems to have a personal touch with alot of care put into what is offered. The food served at breakfast & in the cafe is top quality the take away service is good too ideal for a packed lunch on the fells.

Room Tip: Each room at Heidis offers something different Room 1 large, with bath, shower, & terrace/balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Just had great weekend at heidi's , 3rd time in last 12 months we have stayed and each time is better than the last . Getting ready to re-book again . Breakfast is great and the people who work there are marvellous , always friendly and willing to help . Xx jo payne teesside

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Great location right in centre of village.Room 1 was superb,well fitted, big room with massive bed.Bath and seperate shower.First time I've ever watch tv in the bath,pity there was no football on :-)
The large balcony overlooks the street,not so useful during October,but would be great in the warmer weather with a glass of wine(complimentary in room on arrival)
Good idea to not allow shoes, as the place is spotless.Small hallway to change into slippers if required.
Great breakfast to set you up for the day.

Room Tip: Room 1. Large room with extra king size bed,large balcony overlooking village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in Room 1 in October 2012. The room was superb with a huge balcony looking out onto the village. Immaculately clean, lovely bedding and soft pillows and quilts. All the staff were very welcoming and friendly. The breakfasts are superb and we recommend the the sandwiches /rolls to take with you for lunch on the fells.
Very high standards. We will return. As for taking shows off - no probelm at all to us. Those fells and riverbanks can be very muddy, I would much rather shoes off and clean carpets than grubby carpets. Keith & Jennie

Room Tip: Room 1 - superb balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theharwoodgrasmere, Owner at Heidi's Grasmere Lodge, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thankyou for your valuable comments. The team here would love to welcome you back. Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Heidi's might be a lovely place, there are limits to the perfection specially when it doesn't work in the end!!!!
Ok I understand it's a rainy country and they want to keep the place clean, but asking people to take off their shoes while there is a white carpet all over the place is a bit too much!! and the first thing you get when you arrive is the remaining of your bill to pay straight away.
The cherry on the cake is the beakfast that you have to order the night before as you only have between 8.30 and 9.00 to take it and waiting half an hour when there is only 12 people.
Luckely the room are very nice.
Heidi should be less military to give place to a trully warmer welcome.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theharwoodgrasmere, Owner at Heidi's Grasmere Lodge, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Many thanks for your review. I feel your comments are rather unfair as these things were explained to you on the telephone prior to you going ahead with the booking, e.g. removal of shoes and balance payable on arrival. I think that may be Heidi's Grasmere Lodge was just not for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed in Heidi's last weekend and it was the most beautiful place to stay... We stayed in room no 2 which had beautiful furniture and the extra decor that made the room very romantic. Even though my husband found the room too girly, I found it more relaxing and beautiful. Enjoyed the delicious breakfast served and the wine and sweets left in the room. We were bit worried as we were the only Asian couples, but the service and the staff was very friendly and very helpful. People commend about the shoes to be taken off before going to rooms, which I think is a good idea as it might be just a B&B for us but its a beautiful little Home for Heidi. For what you get for the price .. that's a small request asked. I would highly recommend Heidi's Lodge and would love to stay in the other rooms in future..

Room Tip: Feature to the room 2 is the Window seat overlooking the town and the TV in the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Heidi's Grasmere Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidi's Grasmere Lodge

Address: Red Lion Square, Grasmere LA22 9SP, England (Formerly The Harwood Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious bed & breakfast accommodation in the heart of Grasmere. Fabulous en-suite rooms with stunning views. Beautiful furniture & furnishings. Guest lounge. Car parking. Traditional Cumbrian breakfast. A real romantic retreat where a warm welcome awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Heidi's Grasmere Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heidi`s Grasmere Hotel Grasmere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heidi's Grasmere Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.