We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Alternative” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moss Grove Organic

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Moss Grove Organic to your Saves list
Moss Grove Organic
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   off A591, Ambleside, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 21 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent Alternative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Thoroughly recommended. Breakfast pleasant alternative to fry-ups every day. Room spacious and clean. Was delayed a night arriving they contacted the booking agent for me and arranged refund. Will certainly consider a repeat stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    64
    34
    18
    13
See reviews for
14
198
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This guest house is not advertised properly on many a site but don't let that put you off. It is an interesting place to stay if not just quirky. It does not have a restaurant or bar. But what my partner and I particularly take issue with is no toilet door. In the room next door they had a half length glass one. Once again though don't let that put you off, we liked the large jacuzzi bath and we had a sink each too in a large bathroom, that also had a shower. The large rustic looking wooden beds are quite good. The car park outside the front door a bit small. Well, if you like Grasmere and you can afford it try it. However we did think that £129 was a bit steep and possibly double what we should have paid.

Room Tip: Ask for a proper toilet door
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Our room was small, with pink flamingo wall covering - it may be hand printed and ecologically sound, but we really didn't "get" Amy sort of tie into the local surroundings??? Our bathroom was almost the same size as the bedroom, but the space was not well utilized. The shower was tiny, and it would've been nice to use to jacuzzi tub, but we were firmly told this was not to be turned on after 9pm! The room as almost unbearably hot, with the fan perched on the window ledge merely circulating the hot air. The front desk and kitchen area were shuttered after 9pm, so no chance to pick up a DVD or ask for any assistance, and woe be to anyone parking "outside of the logs" in the parking area! At best, clean and convenient.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed one night in Room 8 on the top floor. Beautiful big bedroom and a bathroom literally the size of Kansas, lavishly appointed with underfloor heating, spa bath and power shower.

Great idea to have an organic, fair-trade hotel.

As a photographer I was out of the room at strange times, but that was no problem for the B&B who appointed a for the room and the front door, allowing me to leave before sunrise and not disturb anyone!

Overall, although a little pricey, generally the stay was well worth it!

5*

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We loved it here. We had Room 8 which was on the top floor and lovely and quiet. It had been a hot day and the room was stuffy. We asked for extra fans and it was no problem. The bathroom was enormous, with lovely toiletries and towelling.

We were looking forward to breakfast however we had to leave unexpectedly before breakfast was served. The staff could not have been more helpful with our early departure.

Will definately return there soon.

Room Tip: Room 8 is lovely and quiet with a bath and separate drench shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We only stayed one night but it was really nice, people were very helpful. The room was nice and clean, its was great to use the spa bath. A nice change to have fair trade coffee in the room. The Moss Grove is central for all the shops. Although The Moss Grove only serve breakfast the restaurants were within walking distance. The breakfast was really nice with organic and locally sourced food. A really pleasant stay and will be staying again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were looking for a relaxing place to stay for 5 nights in Grasmere and this was a great choice. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms (because we booked too late to get a larger one) but it was very nice and the bathroom was enormous. We had researched the options carefully and knew this would be a good fit for us. We slept well and enjoyed the breakfasts with the freshly baked bread and variety of jams, yummy sausage, boiled eggs, fresh fruit, etc. And it was great to have a good wifi signal. I agree with an earlier comment that it would be nice if they started serving breakfast a little earlier, perhaps opening the buffet at 8am and adding the sausage and croissants when they are ready? I also agree that it would be nice if they left two packages of biscuits in the room (with the fixings for tea and coffee) rather than one package with two biscuits. But we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again! The staff was very helpful. And Grasmere was well-located for walking and driving throughout the Lake District.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moss Grove Organic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moss Grove Organic

Address: off A591, Ambleside, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Moss Grove Organic 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Moss Grove Organic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moss Grove Organic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.