We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An organic, boutique experience in beautiful Grasmere, Lake District” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moss Grove Organic

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Moss Grove Organic to your Saves list
Moss Grove Organic
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   off A591, Ambleside, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 21 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An organic, boutique experience in beautiful Grasmere, Lake District”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I saw this hotel a few years ago when passing through beautiful Grasmere, where I worked as a student ages ago! The "Organic" in the hotel name caught my eye, as my wife and I prefer green guest houses / small hotels. We were not disappointed. Maybe not the most spectacular building, but right in the centre of town and renovated inside with a focus on the use of local, eco-friendly materials and energy efficiency. This included the use of natural clay paints and sheep fleece for insulation. The rooms have been done in a modernist style, with heavy use of wooden products including bed frames - a pleasure for those of us fascinated by the beauty and feel of natural wood. The organic food supplied for the breakfast buffet was excellent - locals fruits, jams, quiche, sausages etc... it made for a healthy and wonderful start to every day. Management was very helpful and gave us very good advice on local hikes, places to visit and restaurants (such as fantastic organic food at The Jumble Room two minutes walk away). With zero temperatures outside during the early December evenings, the comfortable beds, bathroom facilities and good insulation made us relax like kings. The interiors are modern-eco, minimalist, not over the top, and worth the price especially if you get a well positioned room.

Room Tip: As with all old hotel venues in the Lake District, those of us from the New World need to brace ours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    64
    34
    18
    13
See reviews for
14
198
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This was our 3rd visit to Moss Grove, and this time we stayed in a lovely room at the front with a balcony and nice view of the village.
Moss Grove does not advertise itself as a hotel, it is however, a beautiful guest accommodation with 5 deserving stars.
We love Grasmere, and over the years have stayed in other hotels in the village, however, none of them have been as comfortable, or have had the same standards as Moss Grove. We always find the staff to be very friendly and helpful with walking information, etc.
We love the organic breakfast also, which has amazing choices. We're looking forward to staying at Moss Grove again in the summer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the Moss Grove Organic Hotel after a friend recommended it. Upon arriving we were surprised to find our room door wide open and immediately on the entrance hall. The adjoining wall was next to reception and the kitchen. This was the luxury suite costing £209 per night upwards! Upon entering our room we immediately felt as though we were both in the main atrium and could hear EVERYTHING. By the same token this meant that everyone could also hear us and so our "romantic" stay was put on hold. The kitchen cupboards were full of DVDs and I was instantly reminded of a hotel I used to stay at as a kid in Scarborough-costing £20 a night today.
Breakfast was in the kitchen which was filled with other guests-one look at everyone and we left.
We were due to stay an extra night but we instead told the man on reception we were leaving. He simply said "ok" he did not ask us why, apologise nor offer us a more private room-of which there were non anyway. He asked us to speak to late rooms there and then-again acting highly irritated and unprofessional.
The best things about the stay was the hot tub-do NOT lock yourselves out if you have more money than sense and choose to stay here.
There are better hotels in the area, costing the same. This is not a hotel and therefore should not have a star rating and should not charge what it charges-be warned! Go elsewhere...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed for a three night break and wished we could have stayed longer. All of the staff were genuinely welcoming and friendly with no forced attitudes. Breakfast was a help yourself spread of wholesome organic items, mostly cold but with freshly cooked sausage, eggs and porridge. Bedroom, lounge and kitchen were kept spotless. All in all a very pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: If you can have room 4, it is brilliant with a comfortable bed, plenty of space and a balcony overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I have been to this Hotel on several occasions and was in fact looking to book a couple of days in early december when I penned this review.
Rooms are lovely , very comfortable , very relaxed. I lost my husband recently and all my family went for a long weekend to scatter my husbands ashes at Ullswater.
Everyone loved it. The staff are really helpful ,friendly and professional.
Nothing is to much trouble. The buffet breakfast is great, they will cook porridge, eggs sausages whatever........
I'm certainly going again and Grasmere is Brilliant.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Loved everything about this hotel, the room, the service, breakfast... Everything! Breakfast was so different to anything I'd had before and was beautiful! Would definitely stay here again and would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Don't be misled this is not a hotel, on the positives a good guest house but on the negatives too expensive, and as with anything that over promises and under delivers if you book it thinking it is a hotel you will feel cheated, if not ripped off at £199 for a superior room. Furthermore, there are no 5 star accompaniments available in the room not even a bottle of water. Finally don't expect service, breakfast is self-service to be eaten in your room or the guest lounge.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mossgrove5, Front Office Manager at Moss Grove Organic, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Terribly sorry and suprised to read your comments. It seems our accommodation was not what you were expecting on this occasion.

As a small guest accommodation provider we provide an informal and relaxed atmosphere, a 'make yourself at home' place in a desirable 5 star situation.

Whilst our buffet breakfast is a 'help your yourself' style we do offer help and assistance with anything at all during your stay and I hope you should have felt this had you had any queries during your stay.

We try to be as competitive as possible with our rates in the area and it is terrible to think that as a guest you should feel 'ripped off', we hope we are able to resolve this directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moss Grove Organic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moss Grove Organic

Address: off A591, Ambleside, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Moss Grove Organic 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Moss Grove Organic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moss Grove Organic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.