We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe to your Saves list
YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe
4.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Easedale Road, Grasmere LA22 9QG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Manchester
Top Contributor
343 reviews 343 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
“An excellent hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

A great YHA, clean, well set out with lovely social spaces and set in attractive grounds. The building is lovely and the staff were all friendly, helpful and communicative.....what more could you ask for from a hostel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, Manager at YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you making the time to write us a review. Thank you for your kind words, it's great to here that you enjoyed your stay with us and made the most of the hostel grounds.

We look forward to welcoming you again during your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    43
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
40
27
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We took advantage of the YHA 'winter warmer' offer which included a family room and an evening meal each for a truly bargain price. Butharlyp Howe exceeded all expectations, it's a lovely country house with huge communal lounge/library and plenty of space for families or groups to find a corner of their own. The grounds are spacious and we saw a deer passing through. Well situated for walking or just getting away from it all, clean, warm and comfy. The staff were friendly and helpful with good local knowledge. We hope to visit again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, Manager at YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for writing us a review. Wow - exceeding customer expectations is what our team here at YHA Grasmere work for, thank you.

Great to hear that enjoyed the grounds and where lucky enough to see a deer.

We look forward to the opportunity of looking after you again during your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at YHA Grasmere during the recent heavy snow. We received a courtesy call the evening before to see if we stillplanned to come due to the snow. The chap we spoke to (Ian??) was helpful throughout & was on reception when we arrived. Was good that reception was open all day & we didn't have to wait until 5 pm like at many hostels.
The hostel itself was well cared for. Clean, bright and warm. Only issue is that the slelf-catering kitchen is in a seperate building so we had to brave the wind & rain every time we fancied a brew. We'd booked in as part of the Winter Warmer deal so dinner was included. This is no fault of this hostel as the winter warmer deal meals are corporate standard but the food was dreadful. Beef stew had 2 small pieces of beef & some carrots! Hardly sufficient after a days walking in the snow!! However the staff were great & very understanding when we sent it back. Would definitley go to the hostel again, the food others were having looked fine, but would avoid the WW deal!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, Manager at YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your review and kind words. Great to hear that you enjoyed most things about your stay, sorry to hear that we didn't get everything right for you. Next time you stay with us please do try our main menu or daily specials. Our catering team take pride in producing great food at excellent value.

Really pleased to hear that you liked the fact you could check-in before 5pm. We always do our best to help guests check-in as soon as they arrive it means you can make the most of your first day by getting a walk in or finding your way around the village.

Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this Youth Hostel in January with two children who are nearly four and two. It was our first ever stay in a Youth Hostel and I was incredibly impressed. The room was clean and the facilities great. Only slight disappointment was the cleanliness of the showers and the fact that you have to go outside to get to the kitchen (this wouldn't have been a problem if it hadn't snowed so much). We had a room with three bunks and a travel cot. It was large and ample for our requirements. The tv room was great as was the family room. We were made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much for the staff. They even provided my son with a carrot for our snowman! The food was fantastic and beer and wine were well priced in the bar. Highly recommend it for family breaks.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main block if you are there with children - then you can sit downstairs at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, Manager at YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your review, it's great to hear that your first ever family stay in a YHA left you feeling impressed. It was a busy weekend, with lots of snow which makes Grasmere even more of a magical place.

It's great to hear that you enjoyed using the family & tv rooms. Lots of other guests enjoyed your Snowman, and he stayed there for most of the week after you'd gone home. One of guests saw a deer enjoying the Snowman's nose early one morning!

We look forward to welcoming you back during your next stay, please do visit the YHA website to plan your next family adventure. Thanks again for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I challenge anyone anywhere to get better value for money than this place. Not been for some time and much has changed (for the better). Its well ran, the staff are vibrant, genuine, courteous, and the hostel is immaculately clean.

The manager and his wonderful team have embraced the beautiful settings, the sacred YHA ethos, whilst adding a modern day attitude to business. It works beautifully. If all youth hostels are to improve to this standard I applaud the YHA. Utterly wonderful stay.

One slight criticism though; Its good to make profit from the bar, but not at these prices. You are losing a small fortune, these prices are far too high. Lower your prices and keep people at your bar and not in Tweedies.

Room Tip: I always take suction hooks as there is never anywhere to hang clothing/towels/etc. Also a head torc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, Manager at YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for making the time to wirte us such a glowing review - with a picture of our wonderful coal fire in the main lounge too! Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and our team looked after you well.

We'll have to see what we can do about making our drinks prices competitive with local bars.

Thanks again for your review, we look forward to welcoming you during your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sutton in craven
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Following our second stay at Butharlyp Howe I feel I must comment regarding dining.The food is excellent,fresh,well presented and served with a high standard of customer service.I hope this review encourages clients to sample the hostels menu rather than walking down into Grasmere in all weathers to dine where food is much more expensive.Big thanks to Ian and the team for all they do

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, Manager at YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for your review and kind words for our team. We take pride in all we do to ensure our guests have an excellent stay, it's really encouraging to get high praise from you about your second stay with us.

I hope your review inspires others to try out our Silver Howe dining room for either breakfast or evening meals.

We look forward to welcoming you during your next stay. Best Wishes for 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had tried YHA nearly 10yrs ago as a family and it was quite difficult.
This time however, it was fantastic. the YHA provided the bed linen and pillow-cases, rooms were clean and plenty of cooking, fridge and utensils.
Large common and lounge areas meant everyone had space to sit and relax.
If you do this regularly, or even at least twice a year, it's worth becoming a member as accommodation prices are discounted for members.
Staff were friendly and plenty of shopping, restaurants and walks.
We're going back Easter !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, Manager at YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Wow... thank you for your Ab Fab review. So pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay with us - we look forward to your next stay at Easter.

We've got some excellent offers on throughout the year and hope you get to explore and have many more family adventures by trying some of the other amazing hostels in our YHA network.

Best wishes for 2013 to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe

Address: Easedale Road, Grasmere LA22 9QG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the beautiful Lakeland village of Grasmere, this Victorian mansion features fabulous views of the surrounding fells and valleys. Guests can enjoy the restaurant and relaxing TV lounge. Dove Cottage, the home of William Wordsworth, is just 15 minutes’ walk away from YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe. The shores of Grasmere Lake are just 15 minutes away on foot and the surrounding fells contain numerous scenic walking trails. Grasmere village is just a 10-minute walk away. Home-cooked meals are available in YHA Grasmere’s restaurant, while guests can also cook within the self-catering kitchen and make use of the dining room. There is also a cafe on-site and a small shop for guests. The majority of rooms at YHA Grasmere’s contain bunk beds. Guests are able to relax in spacious, lovely grounds, whilst there is also a games room and Wi-Fi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.