We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe to your Saves list
YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe
4.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Easedale Road, Grasmere LA22 9QG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Having stayed here recently I have to thank the staff for their hospitality! Anything we needed we were helped with and without any hesitation.

The setting as you can imagine is beautiful and the building itself is really nice. The food on offer is as good as in most of the hotels I usually stay in with work which are either 4/5 star.

Whether you are a first to hostels or seasoned I would definitely recommend YHA Grasmere to anybody.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, Manager at YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for making the time to write us a review. It's always a busy time of the year during the Christmas holiday season, and great to know that you enjoyed your first ever stay at a YHA.

We're really looking forward to welcoming you and your family during the summer, if you get a chance to get away at Easter then give us a try then. There's plenty of things going on in the Lakes at this time, and the past couple of years the weather has been fantastic.

Thanks again, best wishes for 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    43
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
40
27
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This was my first experience of staying at a Youth Hostel and I must admit I was very impressed.
The staff here were very helpful and the food was excellent. I am certainly returning with my family in the summer as the views from this location was breath taking.
Thank you to all the staff

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, Manager at YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your review, it's great to hear that you thought the food was excellent and you enjoyed your first ever stay with YHA.

Don't forget to make the most of your new family membership card in booking your future stays - we look forward to welcoming you and your family in the summer.

Best wishes for 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

I organised a work development day with the YHA Grasmere for my team the setting of the YHA was beautiful and was great weather which made it even better. It was perfect and the staff went out of there way and made us feel at home nothing was to much.

It was great value and will be having our development days here again. Thank you very much from our all our team

Thanks and merry christmas

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, Manager at YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for making time to write a review. It's great to hear that you and your team had a great stay with us at YHA Grasmere. We do all that we can to make our guests feel at home and we're really pleased to hear that's how you felt during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you for the next training development day.

Best wishes to you and your team for 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Recently stayed here in December 2012 for my Team meeting with 20 colleagues and found it excellent value for money and we will definitely stay again. The staff were awesome, the food was brilliant from a first class breakfast to a super 3 course home cooked dinner. Nothing was a problem and the staff bent over backwards to help us.

We normally stay in 3 and 4 star hotels when we work in major cities, if there were more youth hostels like this I'd stay!

I was expecting it to be really cold, it wasn't, in fact too hot on occasions, I slept like a log in my bunk, who needs a kingside bed

Brilliant and well done!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, Manager at YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Wow... what kind words you write in your review. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We all think the breakfast here is first class and excellent value, it's even better when our customers tell us this too!

We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit with us.

Best wishes to you and your team for 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at hostel in two bed room ( bunks) the hostel is well located near village common areas are comfortable and one room has coal fire. Shared showers etc are clean and plentiful. Evening meals are okay but very limited choice and lack imagination only three non verge mains. Overall very good value

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, Manager at YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for making the time to write us a review, glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Grasmere and enjoyed your evening meal in Potted Out which we recommemded to you both. We strive to provide excellent food at value and when we don't meet everyone's taste, we are only too happy to recommend places to eat that we know have high standards in both quality, value and service as our own.

We look forward to welcoming you again to another stay at YHA Grasmere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Food is excellent .. fresh and cooked for you...

Rooms and bed are very clean

Location is excellent for walking in Grasmere

We had a Bed Breakfast, 3 Course Meal, bottle wine and few beers for two peple for under 75 pound ... its real value for money in my opinon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, Manager at YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for your kind words and making the time to review our YHA. Great to hear that you thought you got value for money, we have some fantastic offers available all through the winter months. Remember the best place to book is via YHA website - yha.org.uk

Even better to hear that you and your partner will be back soon, there's something magical about Grasmere during the winter months. Nothing beats a blue sky day, bright sunlight and heading to the top of one fells around Grasmere. We look forward to welcoming you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lothian
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Youth hostels are certainly coming up in the world. This one was cosy, well decorated and really good value for money. Gone are the days of no alcohol allowed - all evening we were able to buy beer and hot drinks from reception. The breakfast was better than at many hotels, and as a couple we had a private room. This being a youth hostel we slept in bunks and had no private shower or TV or tea making facilities in the room, but this isn't a hotel so 'vive la difference!' The staff were pleasant and approachable. My only criticism is that the bunk bed had rather a hard mattress, not as comfortable as the foam ones of yesteryear, but I still slept pretty soundly. Well done YHA!

Room Tip: At youth hostels when travelling as a couple or family, check in advance that a private room is avai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, Manager at YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for your kind words in writing us a review... 'vive la difference!' We really enjoyed your quote and traveller tip of booking a private room for couples.

We look forward to welcoming during your next stay in one of our Lakes YHA's. Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe

Address: Easedale Road, Grasmere LA22 9QG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the beautiful Lakeland village of Grasmere, this Victorian mansion features fabulous views of the surrounding fells and valleys. Guests can enjoy the restaurant and relaxing TV lounge. Dove Cottage, the home of William Wordsworth, is just 15 minutes’ walk away from YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe. The shores of Grasmere Lake are just 15 minutes away on foot and the surrounding fells contain numerous scenic walking trails. Grasmere village is just a 10-minute walk away. Home-cooked meals are available in YHA Grasmere’s restaurant, while guests can also cook within the self-catering kitchen and make use of the dining room. There is also a cafe on-site and a small shop for guests. The majority of rooms at YHA Grasmere’s contain bunk beds. Guests are able to relax in spacious, lovely grounds, whilst there is also a games room and Wi-Fi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.