We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely birthday treat.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Swan Hotel to your Saves list
Macdonald Swan Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keswick Rd, Grasmere LA22 9RF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cumbria
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely birthday treat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Fabulous stay for one night for my birthday, without prompting or requesting we were upgraded to an executive room. Really comfortable beds, stunning bathroom and quality products. Afternoon tea was very filling and dinner was gorgeous. The hotel was very quiet so we had unrivalled attention from the staff all of whom knew of my birthday :-) Macdonald breakfasts are always substantial with a really good range and excellent quality products for the cooked option. Really well placed on the main road to Windermere so a pleasant drive through the lakes on a bright sunny December morning when traffic was unusually very light. All in all a lovely couple of days.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms are executive and fabulous quality but a little road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Good Afternoon

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay, we here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews whether they are positive or constructive and we share them with the whole team on a regular basis.

We are glad that you chose the Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere to celebrate your birthday and enjoyed the upgrade and all the extras that come with that and especially the Macdonald Hotels renowned and award winning breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Jason Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    242
    90
    37
    14
See reviews for
62
459
9
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Took the opportunity for a two-night pre-Christmas break at this classic-style Hotel, centrally situated in the Lake District. Close beside the main Ambleside to Keswick road, comprising several connected buildings, it nevertheless offers a warm welcome and has been well maintained/updated. There was a proper log fire in one of the lounges, with gas log-effect fires in other public lounges. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Enjoyed a home-made steak pie in the bar area - a good-sized offering with plenty of veg. Wide selection of beers and whisky available. My wife enjoyed the calf's liver. The usual extensive Macdonalds Breakfast in the Restaurant gave us plenty of choice in the mornings - all excellent quality, including gluten-free bread if needed.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have a great view, but may suffer traffic noise if you want your window open over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Good Afternoon

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay, we here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews whether they are constructive or positive and we share them with the whole team on a regular basis.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere and found the hotel to your satisfaction with its cosy fires, warm welcome and great location.

We have passed on your comments to the team; who in turn send their thanks and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Jason Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

My wife booked this hotel for our 17th Wedding Anniversary. The manager of this hotel must be doing something to motivate and lead his/her team. The receptionist noted it was anniversary and everyone from the person seating us to the waiter who served some complimentary fizz wished us happy anniversary. The housekeeper told us where we could find her if we needed anything.

It was refreshing in this impersonal world to find old fashioned courtesy and politeness. Added to this was the fabulous food. Really enjoyed. The steak in blue cheese and mushroom sauce was fab as was the breakfast. Will be heading back there sometime in the future.

Room Tip: Bed was massive. Tired decor and bathroom a little cool for people used to baking hot conditions but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere, we here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews whether they are constructive or positive and we share them with the whole team on a regular basis.

We are really glad that you choose us to celebrate your 17th wedding anniversary and I am pleased that the whole of the team went out of their ways to make you feel welcome, thank you for your kind words regarding the food and service.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future to Grasmere.

Kind Regards
Jason Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I have stayed at a number of Macdonald hotels but I am quite clear that this is number one!

We started off with a meal in the restaurant, then a few drinks in the bar, before we went out in Grasmere.

When we returned Tony took care of us at the bar. A fantastic guy who was so helpful. We will definitely be back. Absolutely brilliant! Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay, we here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews whether they are constructive or positive and we share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and think that we are No 1 this has meant a lot to the team and glad you enjoyed Grasmere and especially the food and delights of the hotel, it is perfect at this time of year with the roaring fires and cosy atmosphere.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Jason Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

This hotel is not typical of Macdonalds. It's an old fashioned quaint country inn hotel. The room was lovely, it was large although a bit noisy.

Breakfast on Saturday was chaos, no idea what went wrong but something clearly had. On the Sunday it was quick and efficient, however breakfast was good both days.

We ate one of the two nights and although a touch pricey it was really good and the menu choice was unusual.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and without a doubt they are this hotel's best asset.

A lovely stay, ideal for our walk up Easedale Tarn and Helm Crag

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, we here appreciate all our reviews whether they are constructive or positive and share them with the whole team on a regular basis.

Unfortunately there was a little incident that caused a little delay but I believe it was rectified quickly and thank you for your kind comments regarding the food.

A very big thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff this has been passed on to everyone.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest Regards
Jason Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Won a couple of nights here in a raffle prize, location if hotel is near the main road so was easy to find. Staff were brilliant, especially when dealing with a group of professional complainers. Even without the raffle prize this break offered excellent value for money

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, we here appreciate all our reviews whether they are positive or constructive and share them with the whole team on a regular basis.

We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your stay that you won supporting a good cause and I have passed on your comments to the team.

I do hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Kindest Regards
Jason Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Rooms with numbers in the 30s and 40s desperately need redecorating and do not meet the statement on the Macdonald poster "Committed to Excellence". The food was excellent, especially the breakfasts but the restaurant tables are too close together and force you to overhear your neighbours' conversation.
On the whole the staff are very helpful but some of the foreign staff speak English in a strange way that makes you feel that they are interrogating you: especially in Reception.
Otherwise an excellent hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay, we here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews whether they are positive or constructive and we also share them with the whole team on a regular basis.

I do not disagree with you that some of the rooms are in need of re-decoration but i will have to disagree that they are in desperate need.
We thank you for your kind comments regarding the food and apologies if you feel the tables are to close together.
With regards to some our foreign team members sounding like they are interrogating you, I do believe that all of my foreign team members speak very good English but sometimes it is misinterpreted in the way it is put across to guests.

I do hope that this will not put you off returning and we can welcome you back in the future.

Kindest Regards,
Jason Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Macdonald Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Swan Hotel

Address: Keswick Rd, Grasmere LA22 9RF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Macdonald Swan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1650 as a coaching inn, and mentioned in a Wordsworth poem "The Waggoner", Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere is one of the oldest hotels in the Lake District. Nestled in the Cumbrian countryside, with views across the Fells, our cosy and inviting hotel is ideal for walkers and cyclists. With open sunny vistas in summer and blazing log fires in winter, it's the ideal base for exploring the wonders of the Lake District National Park. Afterwards, relax with a delicious meal in our restaurant or enjoy the convivial atmosphere of the Walkers' Bar before retiring to a traditionally - furnished, comfortable room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Macdonald Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Swan
Macdonald Swan Grasmere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Swan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.