We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could stay more often” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Swan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Swan Hotel to your Saves list
Macdonald Swan Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keswick Rd, Grasmere LA22 9RF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence 2014
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wish we could stay more often”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Nice hotel with friendly staff, ask for Room 9 if you can .
Love the Jennings beer, but think the food is overpriced.
Try the jumble Room in the village its very good.

Room Tip: Any of the suites, Room 9 is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    242
    90
    37
    14
See reviews for
62
459
9
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Our first stay at the Swan will not be the last. From arrival to departure the staff were welcoming,cheerful and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable and the food and service at breakfast and dinner was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

We stay at The Swan several times a year and our stay is always wonderful. This time friends came too. As we had recommended The Swan we wanted things to be perfect, they were and our friends said they will be back....often! There is nothing that is to much trouble for the wonderful team here, I was recovering after recent surgery and stayed in the room, staff popped in to make sure I had everything I needed when my husband and friends were out walking. Breakfasts as always were piping hot, the buffet full of fresh pastries, freshly prepared fruit, cereals, meats, cheeses etc.We were asked if we wanted more toast, tea and coffee.We had dinner in the hotel every evening, it was perfect. A huge thank you to Jason, Marie, Chris, JJ, Anthony, Anita, Michelle, Richard, Colin, Paco, Lorne, Neil, all the kitchen staff, and everyone who made our stay so perfect, see you all again soon x

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formby,Merseyside
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Nice Hotel..we had breakfast in bed which was quite nice and filling..beers around the bar always seemed to run out..but to be honest if you like a drink its got to be tweedies bar in the centre of the village..didn't eat in the hotel..went to the jumble room which was quite nice but portions not man sized..been watching to much master chef..second night walked up the road and had a meal in the travellers rest inn which was excellent(but bring a torch!!!)..overal nice experiance...oh yes we used the tesco clubcard vouchers..book early as there are only so many selected weekends..

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle under lyme
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

used superbreak to book this weekend, great price great location room was excellant and the food was second to none. we will be going back again and again. Truly wonderful!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012 via mobile

I took my girlfriend to this hotel for her birthday and also proposed to her I phoned the hotel for them to order me flowers and the receptionist Michelle mitchinson made it all to easy for me as I'm not the best at organising things. On arrival was very impressed with the hotel and surroundings was really nice, we got our room and was very impressed nice and cosy and very clean. I went to my car to get her card and bracelet and sort out the flowers with the reception manager Richard Wesley he took everything off me and sorted everything out as he picked up on how nervous I was he was absolutely brilliant. We had a meal in the restaurant and the general manager put us on a perfect table so romantic, the staff were all over us all nite to make sure everything was perfect and believe me it couldnt of been anymore perfect, everything went to plan and the food was gorgeous and all the staff were brilliant with us, breakfast was lovely too I honestly couldnt find one fault with this hotel and will definitely be back there to stay again, thankyou to the swan hotel and all the staff for a perfect weekend Adam and Kate

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife Scotland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Used Superbreak to book a weekend at a good price. Room beautiful, food excellent, staff friendly. Very relaxing. We will be back!

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Macdonald Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Swan Hotel

Address: Keswick Rd, Grasmere LA22 9RF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Macdonald Swan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1650 as a coaching inn, and mentioned in a Wordsworth poem "The Waggoner", Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere is one of the oldest hotels in the Lake District. Nestled in the Cumbrian countryside, with views across the Fells, our cosy and inviting hotel is ideal for walkers and cyclists. With open sunny vistas in summer and blazing log fires in winter, it's the ideal base for exploring the wonders of the Lake District National Park. Afterwards, relax with a delicious meal in our restaurant or enjoy the convivial atmosphere of the Walkers' Bar before retiring to a traditionally - furnished, comfortable room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Macdonald Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Swan
Macdonald Swan Grasmere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Swan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.