We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Gingerbread in Britain” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grasmere Gingerbread Shop (Sarah Nelson's)

The Grasmere Gingerbread Shop (Sarah Nelson's)
Church Cottage, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
+44 (0) 15394 35428
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 16 Attractions in Grasmere
Type: Specialty Shops, Shopping
Attraction details
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Best Gingerbread in Britain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is the one place our family insist in going every time we go to Grasmere... the most wonderful gingerbread in Britain. Simple.

We bring it back down south with us, because when our friend hear we are off to the lakes they insist we bring it back - and the whole family love it when I add it to my Key Lime Pie base!

I am amazed how they manage to make it all in such a small house!

Fantastic!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    82
    20
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“long life Gingerbread”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Gingerbread - or Biscuit - I'll let you decide. Nearly everytime we visit the Lakes we make a beeline to Sarah Nelson's Gingerbread shop and get a couple of packs. These do keep for a long time [that is if you don't eat them]. A pack has been found at the back of the cupboard several months old but after a bit of a warming [usually dunked in a cup of tea] the flavours come streaming back - along with plans for another return visit.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripoli, Libya
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“A piece of history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

A tiny little shop near the church, you have to queue patiently to enter but once you're in it's worth it. The scent of delicious ginger fills your lungs and there's a good variety of products available to buy, reasonably priced, and which make good gifts.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg South Africa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A must to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This was a really pleasant experience. Shop which is the smallest I have ever seen, only fits 2 people at a time, only opens at 10am. Do not go till at least 10h45 as there is a queue of people and therefore difficult to 'browse'. Don't miss it if you are in the area.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“DON'T MISS THIS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The gingerbread is unlike anything I've had before. It tastes fabulous, and the experience of this ancient place added such a punch!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grasmere Gingerbread Shop (Sarah Nelson's) also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Been to The Grasmere Gingerbread Shop (Sarah Nelson's)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grasmere Gingerbread Shop (Sarah Nelson's), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.