We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the view from the top” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Easedale Tarn

Easedale Tarn
Easedale, Grasmere, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 15 attractions in Grasmere
Type: Bodies of Water
Attraction Details
Scotland
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Well worth the view from the top”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a longer walk from Grasmere than most of the guide books seem to suggest - I would think you're not going to do it in less than about 4-5 hours round trip. The main pathway starts on a regular road, and then onto some well made slate paths take you along the eastern side of the valley and beck until you start climbing up towards the waterfall, and then it gets a bit more tricky - though nothing to bother about unless you don't want to pick your way slowly over boulders. Once at the top, the walk around the tarn itself is more or less flat, and you can then return to Grasmere on the opposite (west) side of the valley). This return route is more challenging: though overall it's probably less steep, it's not so clearly marked and there are many more random boulders to deal with (and I would think definitely easier to come down than it would be to go up). The view from the top, and the changing scenery on the way, are worth it - I would definitely do it again.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    51
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of the top days of my life!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Walked here from Grasmere.
We walk a little, but are out of shape.
I didn't know what a tarn was, and I won't spoil the moment for others that don't, but when I saw it, when I got to the top, I was speechless, and felt quite emotional (unusual for me)
If you only walk a little bit, it's a medium difficulty walk, but you need good walking boots!
I went with road walking shoes, and I was in bogs (in a wet Feb) up over my shoes - I had very wet feet!
We did a GPS counted 7 miles from Grasmere, to the tarn, around it, and back down. It's not steep, but it's a bit rocky.

Amazing though...loved my day.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
“Fantastic family walk in the snow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Great scenery in a short walk; waterfalls and snowcapped fells, blue skies and a tarn. A good circular walk.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, BC
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We walked from Grasmere up past Easedale Tarn, south along the ridge and back down the next valley into Grasmere. It had been raining and in places the path was covered in water, forcing us to detour through boggy areas, but all part of the adventure. The climb was strenuous in some areas, but the views were fantastic, and it was a great day's hiking.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice walks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We walked this on our second day for all it was raining the views are fantastic, we also saw a lot of wild life, it is not to much of a walk if you are new to this type of holiday

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Easedale Tarn also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
Coniston, Duddon Valley
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Easedale Tarn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Easedale Tarn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Easedale Tarn to your Saves list