We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forest Side Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grasmere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Forest Side Hotel
Save
You added Forest Side Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9RN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 20 Grasmere B&B and Inns
North East England
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Lovely stay...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Despite some negative reviews on Tripadvisor, we really loved our stay in this charming old hotel. (We can only assume some people get their kicks from sniping...)
The building was set back in trees and looked beautiful with the frosting of snow. It was full of character, warmed by open fires and so quiet. We had a large, four poster room and big clean bathroom. The hearty breakfast was delicious and due to KGB deal it was all really good value for money.
Thanks to Forestside for a great break away and don't believe the negative moaners on here!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    73
    20
    14
    33
See reviews for
17
104
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We really loved our stay in this beautiful old hotel. Lovely four poster room, delicious breakfast and great value for money. To top it off, the lovely Anne went out of her way to not just make you comfortable, but to make you feel like a friend who had come to stay for the weekend. Thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay in one of the lodges situated within the grounds of the Forrestside Hotel.....we had an amazing time. When we arrived the room was not ready but the staff were very efficient in ensuring that it would be ready asap. We patently waited in the stunning hotel lounge with open fire and excellent views. We only waited for twenty minutes and with continual apologies from the staff for the delay which to be honest was not inconvenient at all we felt secure with our last minute choice for accommodation in Grasmere. The room A5, was really cozy, clean and comfortable. Only a 2-3 minute walk to the. Ill age of Grasmere where cafe bars where plentiful. We ate some lovely lunches there and returned to the the comfort of the lovely lodge. Please be assured that you will enjoy your say at Forrestside which was made all the better by the amazing scenery and the morning visits from the woodland deer. 10 out of 10 form us!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Just spent two nights here and was very happy with Forest Side. The building is so beautiful, coal fire places burning and personable staff. Huge bay windows over look the sight where badgers normally come to visit (though unfortunately I didn't see any over my two nights) and the big lounge room was a lovely place to dry off from the wet Lakes District weather and meet fellow travellers (which I did).

The Breakfast was great - full English and was included in the price of the room which was exceptionable value. The location was great, right next to Grasmere and a short drive or longer walk to the cute Ambleside.

Rooms were comfortable and clean. Beautiful views of the forest and I saw deer in the morning just walking by.

The two negative I have to say is that the check out time should be a bit later than 9:30am. 11am would had been great! Likewise breakfast was only available from 8:30am to 9:30am and a bit of a longer serving time would had been nice.

If you want to stay somewhere which is comfortable, quiet and warm then Forest Side is ideal. I would recommend!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

The hotel is a very impressive building with a beautiful drive leading to it. the entrance hall was lit with a real log fire, and has an ornate wooden staircase. All the staff we met were friendly (Anne, Steve & Hugh were the staff we met and all were friendly and accomodating). We ate out at a bistro called the potted out (be sure to ask about forest side discount for the potted out), we saw the badgers that we had heard so much about and found that it really is a good talking point where you get to meet the other guests where we also met Anne properly and had a pleasant evening talking with her. The grounds contained two waterfalls which were enchanting. We stayed in room 1 which is directly above the entrance and is situated at the top of the stairs, it was clean, warm and well provisioned and was ideal for staying in. The choice for breakfast was more than adequate and we found that the service from Steve was exceptional and also enjoyable with him being chirpy and friendly. We walked the next day and would highly recommend walking to ambleside along the south of rydal water where there is a stunning cave (listed as a disused quarry on the os map), The breakfast certainly helped to set us up for the walk that day!! The second morning was a monday and we turned out to be the only guests, and our breakfast was set-up in a smaller more intimate room, than the main dinning room, by Hugh, which was a lovely touch. all in all it is an ideal location from which to explore the lakes and is exceptionally good value for what it is! We would stay again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights as KGB deal and can honestly say its the best one we have been on,the place is a stunning 18th centuary house and the views are amazing of the surrounding hills.Welcomed in by a roaring fire in reception and fantastic Christmas tree is a great way to return to the hotel each night.We were given an upgrade on arrival and our room had a four poster bed which was comfortable and set up well with fabrics and cushions - lovely . The two people who run it Steve and a lady are really polite and still find time to chat and advise you on the local area despite being constantly on the go keeping this place running so efficiently. We had no problems checking out (as its the same staff cooking the breakfast until 9.30 obviously they are not going to be on the check out desk too before that time) and we plan to return again in the summer. Despite some of the negative reviews on here (yes there is some decoration needed in parts as the guys there openly say when they talk of their plans for the hotel) personally I would recommend this hotel and we will go back again :)
Also tweedies bar in the village a short walk away does excellent food and there was live music on the Saturday night, The Swan right next to hotel is also a friendly run pub with real fires going which is also very cosy for a couple of drinks would say a torch is recommended for walking into village after dark though.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 17 four poster bed :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastham, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Just returned from 2 nights booked on the kgb deal, and what a bargain!! walked in friday afternoon (after 3pm as requested) to a burning log coal fire, Christmas tree and candles in reception.. what more of a warm welcome could we have asked for. Was greeted by anne on reception (who i must admit we were excited to meet due to her fearsome reputation on here) and found her to be welcoming. Why she felt the need to apologise when asking for a credit card for extra such as drinks at the bar is beyond me, this is standard practice at all hotels i have ever stayed at!! i can undertsnad the issue some residents would have of £8.00 corkage to drink in your own room but to us this was never an issue as the bar and the lounge areas were some warm and welcoming!! Our room was sufficient with 1 twin and 1 double, if not a little plain and certianly not the best room i have ever stayed in .. but the Hotel itself is stunning and if you using the room only for sleeping (and other things) then more than sufficient... but could be improved with a lick of paint and a few pictures of the surrounding areas!! the 5 minute walk into the village definitely requires a torch, btu should not put people off from venturing out into what is the lovely village of Grassmere.....The hotel provides a very decent breakfast and misses out on evening meals but anne offered a few choice places and i have to say "potted out " was a fantastic bistro and tweedies bar serve a very very decent pint... thank you anne and steve for a warm welcome and a warm hotel on a damp weekend in the lakes!!

Room Tip: we stayed in room 21.... plain and simple rooms but the rest of the hotel was superb!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Forest Side Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Side Hotel

Address: Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9RN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Side Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forest Side is a countryside retreat, a home away from home. With roaring fires and magnificent views, our estate spans 44 acres of woodland teaming with badgers, deer, red squirrels, sheep and our very own ancient stone circle! The Victorian hunting lodge of the infamous Earl of Lonsdale, Hugh Lowther, Forest Side is a 2 star B&B which offers value for money for walkers, families & romantic getaways. Forest Side is proud to announce we are currently changing our in-room ranges to Fairtrade and Eco-friendly products. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Forest Side Grasmere
Hotel Forest Side

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forest Side Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.