We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The greatest Sausauge Roll” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lucia's Takeaway

Lucia's Takeaway
College Street | Corner of College Street and Broadgate Street, Grasmere LA22 9SY, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 33 restaurants in Grasmere
Price range: $2 - $5
Cuisines: Bakery, Vegetarian, Family Fare, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout
Description: We are a family run bakery /takeaway serving quality, locally roasted coffee, tea and organic hot chocolate as well as fruit smoothies and refreshing cold drinks. Everything we sell is homemade.Cumberland sausage rolls with local butchers meat, vegetarian pasties such as spinach and goat's cheese, sweet pepper and onion and cheese and onion. We do filled baguettes made fresh to order and also have many delicious tray bakes, muffins and croissants.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“The greatest Sausauge Roll”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I popped into Lucia's on my way through grasmere this weekend.

I had a Chai Latte which was the perfect winter warmer and the nicest sausage roll I have ever eaten, straight out of the oven!

I will be coming back here without a doubt and cant wait to try one of their new Brie and Pesto tarts.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewlu, Owner at Lucia's Takeaway, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Hello! Glad to hear you enjoyed your sausage roll and chai latte. Thank you for the review!
Lucia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    42
    11
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ulverston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Small, but perfectly formed...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Called in for a cappuchino and a slice of flapjack. The former was one of the best I've had for ages, and the flapjack was divine. The only reason I didn't go back for a second one is that the first was so substantial that I didn't have room for another! The venue itself is like a sort of playhouse cafe - tiny, quirky, but everything's there, and the staff somehow manage not to get in each other's way. The idea behind it is brilliant - quality takeaway drinks and snacks, right in the middle of Grasmere, at good prices. Will definitely go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewlu, Owner at Lucia's Takeaway, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Hello! Thank you very much for your lovely review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your cappuccino and flapjack!
Lucia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fresh tasty and very reasonably priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Excellent take- away food in the heart of Grasmere. Everything is home made and totally fresh.
Why make do with pre-packed sarnies when you can buy from Lucia's for the same price or less?
Pleasant smiling service - I intend to eat my way through the entire menu !

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moumoulous, Manager at Lucia's Takeaway, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review. Glad you chose Lucia's for your sandwiches .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice lunch ;)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Grabbed a couple of baguettes from Lucia's before our walk of Crinkle Craggs and Bowfell. They were delicious and added to a great lunch looking out across Red Tarn and the first of the Crinkles ;)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moumoulous, Manager at Lucia's Takeaway, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind remarks. We look forward to serving you again at Lucia's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Snack!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Me and my partner had just drove from Grange over Sands to Grasmere for the Cocoa Hearts Chocolate Session, we were quite hungry and could only find cafe's in the areas charging a very pretty penny for the pleasure of us sitting inside for a sandwich, we found a co-op but did not fancy a store-bought sandwich.

We found Lucias, in the main square of Grasmere, it's a very small house, but the owner whom i take it Lucia, was very nice, helpful and had one of the best hand-made baguettes I'd ever tasted.

I would surely try this again if I was in the area, a nice cheap snack. Two people makes the entire shop look crowded, there's nowhere to move, you enter and you're presented with a counter where you ask for your order and he prepares it, you pay and leave, and the next person enters.

Happy Eating!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moumoulous, Manager at Lucia's Takeaway, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
So glad you found us. You just about summed us up! Can't add anything except thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucia's Takeaway also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Been to Lucia's Takeaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucia's Takeaway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.