We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay at The Daffodil” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Daffodil Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Daffodil Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9PR, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Detox & Devil Spa Treat..
Ranked #6 of 12 hotels in Grasmere
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Another great stay at The Daffodil”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Everything about this hotel is lovely including the staff. The top of our list would be the food and the spa. Breakfast is plentiful and dinner is beautiful. A trip to the spa is just what is needed after a nice long walk.

Room Tip: We have chosen a Lake View room on our two visits but you may be put off by being able to see people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    403
    161
    71
    23
    10
See reviews for
64
454
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Grantsville, Maryland, USA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Just had breakfasts so comments on food are minimal; still good breakfasts. Room was excellent once I adjusted to UK oddities such as needing a card to turn on power to the room and the light switches being upsidedown. Excellent location.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

If you want a country house hotel in the Lakes, then this isn't the place for you. It's more like a business hotel, which is a bit odd for the area! However, it's clean and spacious with a nice spa area that's good to soothe aching muscles after a hard day's walking. There's a wide choice for breakfast, nicely cooked and presented, so there's something for all tastes. I dropped one star for this hotel because of our room (number 222). Although it was huge with a lovely bathroom and comfortable bed, it was extremely noisy. We purchased the room as non-view (we planned on seeing the view while out walking) but it overlooked the air conditioning vents, which made a heck of a racket! We'd got this room for about half price through Secret Escapes but I would have been really upset if I'd paid full price for it.

Room Tip: Don't pay full price for room 222.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Beautiful hotel, the rooms are huge and the hotel is brand new. Food is excellent, staff are friendly, free internet and I have absolutely no complaints about this hotel.

The only down side is the building facing on to the road needs sorted (Although nothing to do with the hotel) as it spoils the exterior look, but the lake view and garden area is stunning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I should have been alerted when I changed the time from 4.00 to 3.00 and the man on the phone seemed unconcerned,- we were the only ones having afternoon tea (in the lounge) that afternoon. Service was slow, despite the place appearing empty, the sandwiches were ok, one, maybe two types of tea on offer, and the sweets/cheese were very nice BUT the event for the four of us lacked the sense of specialness we'd previously enjoyed at the Sameling and the Miller Howe. Hotel staff friendly and the dining room/bar area was spectacular,- modern with great photos of some iconic Brits....and a great location. Pity about afternoon tea.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed on a KGB deal so were expecting a naff room but we were upgraded in error and got a lake view! This meant we had a brilliant value for money break. Room was lovely, great bed and shower, extremely clean and a beautiful view. The whole place was quiet and relaxing, especially the terrace. The staff were really nice, just a bit thin on the ground, which meant there were always dirty glasses hanging around on the terrace.

On the down side, the restaurant food was a total disappointment. Quite pricey, we were expecting good quality and it was not. It also looked thrown together, without much thought, so we walked into the village the following evening for dinner. The breakfast was very lacklustre too. We also had a spa treatment which was sort of fun (my partner would say torture) but the mud got in my eye and it was sore all night. Apparently I should have been told not to put it on my face (not my experience elsewhere).

Looking at the 'normal' rates for this hotel, we don't think it's worth what they ask, but if you can get some kind of deal (which they seem to offer regularly according to these reviews) then I would definitely return. And eat out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed at The Daffodil for a two night stay (19/20 July 2013). The hotel was modern and very well presented. The employees were all very professional and helpful. The room was very clean and had all you would need for a pleasant stay. The view from the room was the car park which would be ok as i didn't go on holiday for the room view however there was no nets (maybe not the image they are looking for) which meant we had to keep the curtains closed all the time we were in the room, no major problem though. The spa was really impressive very clean and the hydro pool was great.I would say the only let down was the food, don't get me wrong the food was nice and of a good standard but in my opinion not for the price tag, we had just mains and 1 desert with 3 drinks for £70. They have a terrace area looking out over the lake which is really nice of an evening and the lounge area on the first floor is very well presented and a great area to relax. (we were very surprised that in July it was empty and we had the lounge to ourselves) Overall i would recommend the Daffodil Hotel and despite the small gripes i would go again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Daffodil Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daffodil Hotel & Spa

Address: Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9PR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 hotels in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Daffodil Hotel & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of Grasmere Water, The Daffodil Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of the Lake District. Surrounded by stunning Lakeland scenery, The Daffodil is the Lake District's newest luxury hotel. The hotel reopened in July 2012 after a major redevelopment which has resulted in 78 new bedrooms including 14 luxury Suites, a Spa with thermal suite, extensive function rooms and a lake facing restaurant serving fantastic British food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Daffodil Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Daffodil Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.